We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Franschhoek, definitely.”
Review of The Garden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Garden House
Ranked #5 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed the 2 last nights of our round trip in SA at the Garden house and it was the perfect conclusion for our beautiful holidays. Despite the fresh temperature,and cloudy weather Annette and Barry made everything for us to have a perfect stay.
The guest cottage is very spacious, excellent bed, huge bathroom, complimentary minibar, what do you need more ? Maybe taking your time to relax and go feeding the geese with Annette or playing with the dog Benji or one of their cats...we loved it, sincerely.
The breakfast was excellent, sitting outside on the terrace, watching the mountains around, great ! Can't wait to come back again...

Room Tip: there is only one (the cottagge), so take it ! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ompile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2011

The Garden House, as its name implies, is a gorgeous home set in beautiful gardens and with magnificent views of the mountains around the lovely, safe and classy village of Franschhoek.

Our bedroom was delightful, and breakfast on the terrace was simply perfect. We were well entertained by our hosts, who couldn't do enough to help us enjoy our stay. Benjie the dog was a delightful breakfast companion, and one of the cats insisted on sharing our smoked trout....

Thanks to Annette and Barry for giving us a stay to remember - and thanks also for recommending the wonderful Le Bon Vivant restaurant - one of the most memorable meals we've ever had.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treaclecat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Padraig & Jeanette: We were greeted by Annette and her two lovely dogs the day we arrived. The room we were given was so cozy and spending just a night at the Garden House is definitely too short! Thank you Annette for the heated bathroom! We were given lots of information on where to visit around Franschhoek, best wine tasting places and where to go for good food. Annette & Barry even helped us make a dinner reservation at Le Bon Vivant so that we could sit next to the fireplace. Good recommendation, Annette, thanks! We really enjoyed dinner that night. It was sad to leave the Garden House but I'm sure we'll be back. Thank you for a wonderful stay and great hospitality, "Mommy and Daddy"! Love to the dogs...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanKhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Comments from liza and Enric.
You have to go and stay at the garden house, it's Just gorgeous! Annette and Barry can't do enough to make you feel welcome and pass on tons of information on all the local restaurants and the best wine tasting places. Anything you need from fabric freshner to wax to give your car a shine you'll find at the garden house! Benjy and the cats really do make it feel like home, not to mention the yummy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the mountains. I would highly recommend the garden house to anyone, you'll love it!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocadrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed at The Garden House for 3 nights in early September 2011 and Annette and Barry could not have made us more welcome from the moment we arrived to when we reluctantly left. We really enjoyed the day we borrowed their bikes and cycled around the wineries in Franschhoek recommended by our hosts. They were also really helpful in suggesting restaurants for both lunch and dinner and we were never disappointed with any of their recommendations. The accommodation was very comfortable and clean and the bathroom was superb - the best we came across in our 3 week holiday. We must also mention Benji (the dog) who was equally delightful. Our review wouldn't be complete without thanking both Annette and Barry for an amazing time in Franscchoek and wishing them the continued success they deserve.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

My husband and I took a two day trip to the Winelands from Capetown to relax after doing a camping safari. The Garden House was the perfect place to do this in their luxurious cottage with heated bathroom tiles and deep soaking bath. Annette and Barry were very accommodating and went to great lengths to take care of our every need. Sundowners by the fire and on the stoep were most enjoyable and the conversation stimulating. Excellent location within walking distance of the town with its top restaurants and lovely shops. We hope that Annette is getting over the loss of her puppy.

Room Tip: The Garden House has accommodation for just two in their cottage so be sure to book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yurgo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My wife and I had three fabulous nights in Franschhoek, staying in the cottage, which is a few paces away from Annette's and Barry's home.
Our welcome was one of real warmth and Annette took time to explain all we needed to
know about the cottage.
The cottage is immaculate ( Annette only presents perfection), large comfy bed, huge bathroom with heated flooring and all the extras you could wish for!

Breakfasts in September, when we visited, were taken in the cottage. The muesli is amazing!

Annette and Barry asked us to join them in their home, each evening for a tipple. Good
conversation was easy and relaxed. Their home is within easy, safe walking distance for all the popular restaurants.
All the restaurant recommendations were spot on.
To give you an insight into Annette's commitment to the enjoyment of their guests stay, we had arranged to dine in Franschhoek with some American friends, we had met earlier in our trip.
I had booked a table at a certain restaurant before leaving the U.K.,and had arranged to meet our American friends there. However, Annette suggested another restaurant would be more suitable, but the only contact number we had for our friends, was one in America.
Without hesitation, Annette dialled this number, but it turned out to be a work number.

Annette then offered to drive us to the restaurant that I had previously booked ,and we managed to get there before our friends arrived. ( The restaurant was full anyway with a cyclists meeting ).
We had a lovely meal elsewhere, thank you Annette.

Annette and Barry have been in Franschhoek for 10 years and both do much for the community. Barry helps to teach children chess, his success is such that these dis- advantaged children do well in competition against better educated ones.
Annette is passionate about animal welfare and often drives to the local township, feeding cats and dogs that are in need of food.
We were privileged to be with Annettte on such a journey.

This is one of the best B & B's in South Africa.........go there, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExpressGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
527 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 64 in Franschhoek
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#1 of 64 in Franschhoek
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £99 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Garden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing