We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location”
Review of The Garden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Garden House
Ranked #1 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning location”
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We arrived in franschhuick and were welcomed by Annette and showed our room. The decor was stunning with a period touch and there were all the niceties one expects from a 5* accommodation. Annette offered to reserve a table for us at a restaurant which was a fab choice. Breakfast was lovely eating out on
the verandah overlooking the garden and pool. The breakfast was full of fresh scummy food. All in all a lovely memory to a wonderful holiday. See you again Annette.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
516
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Since we, as most guests, intend to come back again and stay longer in the beautiful cottage underneath a huge tree in Barry and Annette's garden, forget time during the enormous high-quality breakfast on the terrace surrounded by white roses, and talk to the friendly and interesting hosts, the Garden House should better be removed from tripadvisor, because otherwise it will be booked out over years.
Don't think that two nights are enough. It is a perfect place to explore the diverse area, the wineries and the relaxing village of Franschhoek.
A visit could also be recommended as a therapy for people who normally are afraid of dogs or cats, an unimaginable syndrome in this peaceful house.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitoronly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2011

My girlfriend had previously stayed at the Garden House and so i thought i had some idea of what to expect before i arrived, but i had no idea it would be as good as it was! Barry and Annette are lovely and make you feel like you're their friends visiting for the weekend rather than paying guests (although you do have to pay). The room, the garden, the pool, the breakfast, the impromptu music quizzes, champagne served up on a sunny afternoon (there was no wine that was cold enough) all add up to what is a unique experience and one that i'm extremely glad i had! Just wish we could have stayed for longer!!

A huge thanks to Barry and Annette for making my first visit to Franschhoek a memorable one! we'll be back...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattkay81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryd
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We spend a night in this beautiful house just last week. I originally wanted to stay in the cottage but another couple already had it booked so we stayed in the room in the main house.
We only had one night here and from start to finish it was beautiful. The house, the garden, the location is everything you could wish for. The breakfast on the veranda was a lovely relaxed way to end our stay before our long drive to Wildernis. It was Annette however that made this a memorable experience for us, assisting with restaurant choices, vineyard tours etc, definately a very unique lady with a cracking sense of humour!
Believe all the reviews and stay here.
Thanks again Annette and Barry.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marydMaryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

a beautiful house in the middle of franschoek surrounded by a wonderful rose garden. the owners, an english couple, are adorable. nice, friendly, funny and really really helpful. breakfast was superb. we stayed only one night which was not enough as the place is perfect for relaxing holidays.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

This time is the eightth time and year in a row that we spend time with Annette and Barry at their beautiful Garden House! Coming back here every year has become a ritual that we do not want to miss and be without! The hosts have become friends, who are dear and precious to us, and the cozy cottage we stay in at the Garden House feels like our Southafrican home away from home! Annette and Barry take care of their guetst in a very personal and individual way. They care about their wellbeing and do a lot to enrich and delight their stay in Franschhoek and the winelands. The dog(s) and cats at the Garden House are just as friendly as their owners. Having Annettes special breakfast on the porch with a wonderful view of the mountains in the morning, looking at the beautiful garden with thousands of flowers, relaxing by the pool with a good book, walking a few pleasant minutes down the road to Franschhoek with all it has got to offer . . . The Garden House is a unique and special place and experience you will not forget! We will be back next year!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalleHill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

In my experience South African guest houses are the best in the world - often with the standards of a 5-Star boutique hotel but with an intimate, personal vibe.
The Garden House is the best I've stayed in.
There seems little point in re-iterating all that has been said by other reviewers - suffice to say that if it was a fair world everybody would get the chance to stay at The Garden House at least once. Annette (our hostess) said that when she travels she likes to stay in places of the same standard as she has at home. On that basis I'm surprised she goes anywhere. I should have asked her for a list of such places & then spent the rest of my life visiting them.
I've been trying to think of people who wouldn't love it here: people who like the atmosphere of de-personalised corporate hotels "have a nice day" - people who don't like animals (there is a friendly dog & many indifferent cats) - people with an aversion to fabulous gardens (?) Apart from that, my only complaint is the absence of a 6th Star when you need it.

Room Tip: The house in the garden is fantastic (a bit dearer than the room in the house which our fellow guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobMac101_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
480 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
566 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 63 in Franschhoek
521 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#4 of 63 in Franschhoek
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Property: The Garden House
Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing