We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our third visit and we wouldn't stay anywhere else...ever!”
Review of The Garden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Garden House
Ranked #4 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Yes, it's as good as it appears from all the glowing reviews below. The cottage is spacious (the bathroom huge), the location brilliant (5 mins safe walk from the village centre), the garden beautiful, the pool sparkling etc.

But what really makes it are the wonderful British owners, Annette and Barry. Annette wants you to have seriously good time and will fearlessly take on restaurateurs to make sure you get the best table. I forgot my contact lenses and she fixed me up with the optometrist immediately; one of our party was ill and she produced the drugs to fix him up too. Talk about 'can do' attitude. Drinks on the terrace and fun company with a gorgeous view of the Franschhoek valley - what's not to like? Book now as this veritable gem is not undiscovered! You will not regret it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovingmyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed at this cute little B&B in late November. A beautiful place close to everything and still very relaxing and calm. Annette & Barry are truely the best hosts and there wasn’t a question that they could not have answered. Annette even went so far as helping me to book our next B&B. You are always greeted with a smile. The breakfast is amazing, the best during our visit to SA. Thank you Annette & Barry! We highly recommend this wonderfull B&B to everybody travelling in/through Franschoek. We will definitely come back when next time in South Africa.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jouni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed here in May 2012 for 2 nights at the end of our trip around the Western Cape and had the most lovely weekend. The cottage was beautifully decorated, with a luxurious bathroom equipped with an enormous bath and shower. Annette and Barry were wonderful hosts, and we really enjoyed spending time with them in their wonderful garden, chatting over a cup of tea while the sun set over the hills. Annette also provided delicious breakfast treats and was very generous and helpful at every opportunity - even squeezing us into a apparently fully booked local restaurant!

We really felt part of the family, and it felt like a home away from home (which for us was just what we needed). Even Benji the dog provided us with much entertainment!! Thank you both so much for your hospitality. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The cottage is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed here in November 2012 for 2 nights during the Champagne festival.
We had booked the cottage which proved to be even more beautiful than on the already nice pictures. The Garden House was definately the most beautiful and luxurious B&B out of the 5 B&B where we stayed during our 2 week vacations.
Annette and Barry care a lot for their guests and like to join them for a talk during breakfast and cocktail hour. We enjoyed these talks with them, but if you are rather left on your own, you should look for a bigger B&B or a hotel.

Our evaluation in detail:

B&B and location:
(+) beautiful B&B in 19th century style
(+) in a quiet street
(+) parking on property
(+) Franschhoek main street with shops and restaurants is a safe 10 min walk
(+) midsize pool with sunbeds, good place to relax

Room:
(+) we had the cottage, a very large room beautifully furnished
(+) huge & modern bathroom with shower and bathtub
(+) comfortable bed, not too soft
(+) fridge with complimentary drinks (soft drinks, beer)
(+) complimentary tea and coffee maker
(+) TV with DVD and DVD collection

Breakfast:
(+) fresh fruits
(+) continental breakfast with locally smoked trout, cheese, marmelade
(+) breakfast served on terrasse with great view

Service:
(+) Plenty recommendations about what todo
(+) Help with booking restaurants, even send list with recommendations in advance
(+) complimentary bicycles
(+) free WiFi
(+) complimentary drinks

Room Tip: Book the cottage - its a little more expensive, but really big with a huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerChr1st0ph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We visited Franschhoek in mid December and stayed for two nights. If we could, we'd be back there right now.

We stayed in the cottage which we found to be warm, luxurious and very comfortable. Right from high quality linens to heated floors & towel racks to a large comfortable bath tub the attention to detail was phenomenal. Small touches like not charging for what you consume from the mini bar make you feel quite at home.

Annette and Barry are outstanding hosts and phenomenal people. They go to great lengths to ensure you feel at home. We went out for dinner together and spent a lovely evening listening to some classical British humour and getting to know each other. They really ensure that you are well looked after and experience Franschhoek in the same way they do- for e.g. Annette would make restaurant reservations for us ensuring that we had the best tables in the house.

While the rooms are comfortable, its the breakfast that really takes centre stage with fresh fruit juice, yummy homemade muesli, smoked trout, ham, cheese and the choicest fresh fruit. Annette's breakfast is unparalleled. Combined with the South African Jazz playing in the background, the crisp morning air and wonderful views of the valley it really is a wonderful experience.

The Pets are an integral part of the Garden House. Benji (the dog) is very gentle and well mannered and the cats are fun to play with.

Overall, The Garden House was one of our best experiences on this trip and we will be back soon. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NehaVMaedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

A beautifully restored Victorian bungalow close to the center of Franschhoek village with very friendly and helpful hosts, Annette and Barry Philips. The main accommodation is a detached guest cottage, which was unfortunately not available the day we arrived. We stayed in a perfectly comfortable if smallish double room with en suite bath in the main house. The breakfast included excellent cereals, breads, meats, cheeses, fresh fruit and yoghurt. A fine choice in what is perhaps South Africa's most picturesque wine town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012 via mobile

The Garden House is a beautiful place to stay. We stayed in the guest house which was gorgeous, especially the bathroom.

The location as a whole has wonderful views across the valley to the mountains from a delightful garden, lovely at breakfast! The pool was very much appreciated in the hot weather we experienced.

Annette and Barry were very dedicated to making sure that we both enjoyed our stay and made the most of our time there. They're good fun and wonderful hosts! A mention for the animals too, they're a lovely bunch!

Thanks for making our time so special!

Luke and Claire

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luketowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
526 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 64 in Franschhoek
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#1 of 64 in Franschhoek
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £99 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Garden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing