We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Retreat”
Review of The Garden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Garden House
Ranked #6 of 65 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The Garden Room is splendidly appointed and complete with a magnificent bathroom. Annette and Barry were most generous and hospitable hosts. Breakfast on the stoop with splendid views of the valley made for a great start to the day. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2013

Barry and Annette's warm welcome was only matched by the cosiness of their home (we stayed in the room inside the house, which actually was more like a small separate apartment, with all modern confort). We really felt like part of the family and were repeatedly invited to enjoy the rest of the house and the swimming pool as if they were ours. The breakfast was most varied (not just eggs, bu a real choice befitting a starred hotel) and not soon forgotten (my partner still regularly speaks of the smoked trout with envy). Annette was also very helpful with advice on which wineries to visit. In short, a must-go-to place if they can accomodate you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingPalomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

How a guest house should be, attention to detail was superb. it was a case off, i wonder if.... oh yes there is.
The owners are a real pleasure, treating you like family and ensuring you have all you need.
very nicely located and easy to reach.
All in all a wonderful week. and i will be returning.... if i'm allowed x

Room Tip: All rooms are very good, outside room is the best with aircon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

4th trip to see Annette & Barry and the menagerie of pets. As I have said before, a beautiful setting on the Courtyard Room under the shade of the camphor tree is idyllic (bigger than some of the specimans in the famous avenue @ Kirstenbosch). The positioning in town has a real advantage over those outside allowing guests to stroll in for evening dinner or to take in the sights. If you can draw yourself away for the fantastic breakfasts on the stoep. However, the real difference is the welcome and attentive nature of the hosts. We have been fortunate to have been to South Africa over a dozen times now and the places that draw us back are those with the personal touch. This is delivered in abundance here.
All in all, a real pleasure being back.

Room Tip: There's only one - another advantage if you fancy some space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TunaTownFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed in the cottage for three nights. It is spacious and has everything you could possibly need. Annette and Barry are extremely hospitable and nothing is too much trouble. The garden and views are beautiful. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErmintrudeKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst attending a wedding nearby. We could not have chosen a more idyllic place. Barry and Annette are not only special people but with both their attention to detail and desire to exceed their guests expectations made this an enjoyable and unforgettable stay. Thank you so much both of you, you deserve being Number 1 in Franschoek.
Hope we will return one day soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Garden House in early February.

The Garden House is the most beautiful Victorian style house set in at very lovely garden with views of the Franschoek wine slopes and surrounding mountain. We stayed two nights in the guest room in the main building and one night in the cottage. Both are beautifully decorated with a warm personal touch - cleaning is spotless and everything tasteful, elegant and functional.

But The Garden House is not about the house. It is about unsurpassed hospitality, it is about actually feeling at home away from home, it is about Annette and Barry's crazy, warm and charming personalities, it is about hosts that will go a lot of extra miles to ensure your stay in Franschoek becomes a very memorable one, it is about textbook perfect gin and tonics at the veranda watching the sun set behind the hills of Franschoek, it is about amazing 5 star hotel worthy breakfasts on the terrace with a smoked trout and horseradish to die for, it is about the whole family - you, Annette, Barry, Benji the dog, Marmaduke the cat and all the rest of cats, and above all it is about leaving feeling that you have made new friends and counting the days until you have a chance to come back.

If you travel to the Western Cape don't miss Franschoek and look no further - you won't find a better spot than The Garden House - we rate it Excellent but that does not even begin to describe the experience...

Only reasons you should ever consider staying somewhere else: if you really do not like animals or if you're the kind of person that prefers a business hotel like, standard experience where everyone goes about minding their own business.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LindaThomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
21 Roux Street
21 Roux Street
#1 of 65 in Franschhoek
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 65 in Franschhoek
631 reviews
11.3 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#4 of 65 in Franschhoek
642 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#9 of 65 in Franschhoek
665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#10 of 65 in Franschhoek
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £107 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing