We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot - incredibly warm and personal welcome”
Review of The Garden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Garden House
Ranked #3 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

A lovely house in a stunning spot within the beautiful surrounds of Franschhoek. With only a couple of rooms, and the warm welcome you receive from Annette and Barry, this feels more like a homestay than a guest house. By the end of your stay you feel like one of the family, chatting with Annette and Barry and playing with the various adorable animals resident at the Garden House. I had a very large cosy room and large bathroom in a standalone building adjacent to the main house, so you have some privacy. They have a lovely pool and terrace, although it was out of season - would be terrific in the summer. Altogether an unexpected surprise that made for a very personal stay in Franschhoek!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

We wrapped up a month in East and South Africa at The Garden House. It was a perfect end to our vacation. The end of our trip was loosely planned, but Barry and Annette gave us excellent wine tasting and dinner suggestions. We even were invited in for a "proper drink" before dinner our last night. It was nice to get to know them a little and learn more about the village. Each day we were welcomed home by their dog Benji, which was great since we were really missing our dog by this time.

The guest house is large and quite nice. The bathroom was amazing! Loved the soaking tub. Breakfast was well stocked for us each day and it was an easy jaunt to town for dinner. We mostly explored Franschhoek wineries. There are so many that we didn't need to leave the area.

Bottom Line: Franschhoek is lovely and Annette and Barry make the Garden House a great home base for exploring the area. You really can't go wrong.

Room Tip: There really is only one room, so you are well taken care of during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intltravler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

As it was cold weather, we checked first with Annette that the accommodation was warm and, indeed it was, as warm as her welcome. We were really snug and comfortable in the luxurious cottage and enjoyed helping ourselves to her delicious winter breakfast. Annette and Barry took care to discover our interests to ensure we got the best out of our visit. Our stay with them was definitely a highlight to our visit to this wonderful, friendly country.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stayed for two nights and was treated like an honored guest. The cottage and the hospitality could not have been nicer. Annette and Barry and were perfect hosts along with their dog Benji and four beautiful cats. The cottage is spacious and immaculate with a huge bathroom with heated floor and tub perfect for relaxing and listening to the rain. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I had the most incredible experience staying at Barry and Annette's cottage at the Garden House in Franschhoek over Bastille weekend. They are both amazing people and were the perfect hosts (along with Benji the dog and all the cats). The cottage is beautiful and probably has the best bathroom ever. I can't recommend the cottage enough and it is definitely the only place I will consider staying in Franschhoek.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We had an awesome stay with Annette and Barry and their delightful dog, Benji, and two cats! They made our stay so enjoyable with their hospitality that we have become friends! The house and garden are simply beautiful and the accommodation of a vey high standard. Annette has thought of everything. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Garden House!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank lynda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed at the Garden house for 3 nights in July 2013, and found it was the perfect base from which to explore the area. The accommodation is of a high standard (free drinks much appreciated), and was lovely to have the very well-behaved cats and dog about. Annette and Barry were gracious hosts, they made us feel as though we were visiting friends, not staying at a BnB. Future guests should listen to their advice on what to do/places to eat in the area - it really made our stay very enjoyable as we did not have one bad meal whilst we were there.

Room Tip: The cottage is lovely and very private for a romantic weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#10 of 64 in Franschhoek
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 64 in Franschhoek
602 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#12 of 64 in Franschhoek
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#7 of 64 in Franschhoek
622 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Petit Paris Guest House
Le Petit Paris Guest House
#5 of 64 in Franschhoek
191 reviews
11.3 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £96 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Garden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing