We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of The Garden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Garden House
Ranked #8 of 65 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed at the Garden House for three nights in August and very highly recommend a stay in the self-contained garden cottage It is very spacious, is beautifully decorated and has everything you could possibly need including a fridge, kettle, TV, DVDs etc etc. Annete and Barry are outstanding hosts - warm, welcoming, informative, knowledgeable and fun, so all in all, a winning combination in a beautiful quiet setting close to all that Franschhoek and the area has to offer..

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

We had such a lovely time here. Annette and Barry are great hosts and can give you the inside track on the best restaurants and eateries to tickle your taste buds and the best vineyards to wet your whistle.

the room is more like a little apartment, great bed, lots of space, immaculate, big bathroom with nice big bath for relaxing and separate shower - and 2 sinks - all handy if you are as messy as me!

much, much better than a hotel - one of the loveliest parts of our 3 weeks trip.

we would love to return

Dee & Jon
xxxx

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deekathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Annette and Barry made our whole stay wonderfull and unforgettable. We had a great time and enjoyed being surrounded by so much hospitality, also from "our lovely small friends". We also enjoyed sitting ath the pool side and relaxing in the sun an a very adorable english garden. Annette recommended a lot of excellent restaurants and wineries, it was a great time and whenever we will visit Franschoek oin the future The Garden House will be on our List.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanaz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We recently stayed two nights at this lovely guest house as part of our honeymoon. We were made to feel very welcome and sat on the porch for an evening drink, chatting to Barry and Annette while the sun set over the hills. The pets were all friendly and often shared a chair with us! Annette recommended excellent local restaurants and even made bookings for us. We had a lovely (huge) room, and the guest house is only a 10 minute walk from the main street in Franschhoek. It was a lovely base for exploring the area, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We were taken care of, pampered and shown around by the owners Annette and Barry. Loved every second and I was even given the recipe for Annette's homemade granola :) Their hospitality and wonderful rooms were one of the highlights of our trip!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Popcorn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

A lovely house in a stunning spot within the beautiful surrounds of Franschhoek. With only a couple of rooms, and the warm welcome you receive from Annette and Barry, this feels more like a homestay than a guest house. By the end of your stay you feel like one of the family, chatting with Annette and Barry and playing with the various adorable animals resident at the Garden House. I had a very large cosy room and large bathroom in a standalone building adjacent to the main house, so you have some privacy. They have a lovely pool and terrace, although it was out of season - would be terrific in the summer. Altogether an unexpected surprise that made for a very personal stay in Franschhoek!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We wrapped up a month in East and South Africa at The Garden House. It was a perfect end to our vacation. The end of our trip was loosely planned, but Barry and Annette gave us excellent wine tasting and dinner suggestions. We even were invited in for a "proper drink" before dinner our last night. It was nice to get to know them a little and learn more about the village. Each day we were welcomed home by their dog Benji, which was great since we were really missing our dog by this time.

The guest house is large and quite nice. The bathroom was amazing! Loved the soaking tub. Breakfast was well stocked for us each day and it was an easy jaunt to town for dinner. We mostly explored Franschhoek wineries. There are so many that we didn't need to leave the area.

Bottom Line: Franschhoek is lovely and Annette and Barry make the Garden House a great home base for exploring the area. You really can't go wrong.

Room Tip: There really is only one room, so you are well taken care of during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intltravler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
21 Roux Street
21 Roux Street
#1 of 65 in Franschhoek
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 65 in Franschhoek
631 reviews
11.3 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#5 of 65 in Franschhoek
641 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#9 of 65 in Franschhoek
663 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#10 of 65 in Franschhoek
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £104 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing