We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not changing, staying the best guesthouse in the area”
Review of The Garden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Garden House
Ranked #3 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

this was our 3rd stay at the Garden House and I can again and again recommend this lovely place. Annette and Barry are such lovely hosts, british humor at its best. She has an excellent network in Franschhoek and will give you valuable hints.We stayed 2 nights in the Garden Cottage is very spacious, excellent bed, huge bathroom, complimentary minibar (and laundry), a place you never want to leave...
Having a sundowner (wine, gin tonic or whatever u want) with your hosts, having a nice chat with them before you go to the restaurant for dinner...
Breakfast is only deserving compliments too...
We stayed in many guesthouse in SA, this one is, from far, the best one...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ompile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

We spent two nights with Annette and Barry in their delightful cottage last week and could not have had a better time. After travelling around South Africa for a week this was the ideal location in which to relax. Annette is the perfect hostess, she literally could not do any more for you. We were welcomed by a glass of wine and a G and T, just what we needed after a long drive, and Annette was full of recommendations about how best to spend our time in the area. The sundowners were a very generous touch, as were the complimentary drinks and cookies in the cottage (sorry we ate all your cookies Annette!) The breakfasts were amazing, especially the smoked trout, local cheese, and gorgeous warm croissants, and special mention has to go to the host of welcoming pets who add such charm to the place. Marmaduke was our favourite although Benjie and Lizzie came a close second. If you want to stay somewhere beautiful, peaceful, and where you are made to feel like a truly valued guest and can have interesting, genuine conversations with the people who welcome you into their home, don't bother looking anywhere else. Book here! Our only regret is that we couldn't spend longer here but we hope to return one day in the not too distant future!

Room Tip: The cottage is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlotteSarahGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Garden House in early November and Annette and Barry could not have been more welcoming.

The room was lovely; the location was perfect (lovely mountain views, close enough to town to walk but far enough away from the high street so there is no noise pollution); delicious breakfasts; a fully stocked and complimentary mini bar; and last minute reservations made on our behalf.

Just perfect, we will definitely be going back and have already recommended it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We spent four wonderful nights with Annette and Barry in their Garden Cottage. The cottage is spacious, comfortable (lovely bed) and has a huge bathroom with great shower and a large bath to wallow in at the end of each adventure-filled day. There is a bar fridge which is well stocked with complimentary beverages that magically replenish themselves daily. The views over the gardens, with ancient mountains as a backdrop are a welcome way to start or end a day. Breakfast was served daily on the verandah of the main house and was sumptuous and fresh, with Annette in attendance to offer advice on the best places to visit- be it dining out, wineries or scenic drives. The 'Sundowners' on the verandah were an unexpected but delightful touch. We would love to return to enjoy their hospitality again - if only it could be tomorrow!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We booked here based on the reviews on TripAdvisor and we were quite pleased to find the entire experience as advertised.

Annette is very well-connected in town, and knows everything about everybody and everyplace. Her recommendations for restaurants, shops, and winery tastings were spot on, and helped us navigate the area.

The hospitality, from pre-dinner "sundowners" to the breakfast was top-notch. It is clear that Annette loves hosting visitors.

It is a short and safe walk to the downtown area, maybe 5 minutes. There is off-street parking included.

The cottage was very pleasant and comfortable..."charming" is probably the right adjective. The furnishings were upscale. We never actually turned on the TV, so cannot comment on that. If you are watching TV in Franschhoek you are doing something wrong anyway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poisson54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Lovely private home and cottage in a beautiful neighborhood just a few minutes walk from all the attractions of the village of Franschhoek. Our hosts, Annette and Barry were wonderful and helped make our visit special and intimate. They assisted us in everything from setting up restaurant reservations, recommending boutique wineries to visit, and seeing that our laundry was done. They serve an incredible breakfast on their beautiful veranda overlooking their rose garden and the Franschhoek mountains. The cottage is luxurious and well equipped. It far exceeded our expectations. The hospitality, accommodations and warmth created the perfect experience for us.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed with Annette and Barry for three nights in October and all of our very high expectations were exceeded! We stayed at the Garden House four years ago and had the very comfortable room in their beautiful home and this time we stayed in the cottage which is really spacious, very tastefully decorated and, of course very comfortable. The Garden House is a very special place and the warm welcome and great care that Annette and Barry give to their guests is heartwarming and quite unlike anything we have experienced anywhere else. Dogs Benji and Lizzie, together with their feline companions are an important part of the household and added to the joy of our stay, again. Annette's breakfasts are legendary for good reason. It was such a pleasure to sit on the stoep with our hosts, with a glass of wine in hand, watching the sun go down over the mountains; the views from the house and garden are stunning. I can't recommend the Garden House highly enough; book yourself in and you will not be disappointed. We arrived as guests and left as friends. Looking forward to our third visit!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#10 of 64 in Franschhoek
534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 64 in Franschhoek
601 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#13 of 64 in Franschhoek
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#7 of 64 in Franschhoek
619 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Petit Paris Guest House
Le Petit Paris Guest House
#5 of 64 in Franschhoek
190 reviews
11.3 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £95 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Garden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing