We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continuing excellence”
Review of The Garden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Garden House
Ranked #1 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Henley-on-thames
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Continuing excellence”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This was our third stay and the Garden House was as good as ever. If you consider they only have 2 rooms it is extraordinary the number of excellent tripadvisor reports they get.
For us it's the kindness of Annette and Barry, the lovely peaceful garden and the excellent breakfasts that make it special.
The only words of warning are that you have to like cats and dogs as they really run the place.

Room Tip: There's the cottage and a room in the main house. The cottage gives more space and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
519
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The Garden house is beautiful. It's a home from home for us as we are from the UK like Annette and Barry who are the owners and hosts of this wonderful warm and homely B&B. You immediately feel a sense of comfort as you pull into the drive and peer at the lovely white and pale yellow house through the beautifully kept garden which is full of plants and flowers some growing high around the gates and front lawn. We stayed in the room inside the house which was very sweet with soft bed, lovely furnishings such as pictures and paintings/photographs and little touches that made you feel like a guest in a family home which was a delight (Free cookies too). Annette gave us a map straight away with recommendations of all the wineries to visit as we were only there for one night we quickly went off and worked our way through the list !! All were great recommendations. Annette also booked us in for dinner at a local favourite restaurant and the breakfast in the morning was delightful and very healthy with lots of smoked trout, meats and cheeses which were fantastic, lots of lovely fruit including melons, pineapple, berries and freshly baked croissants, cinnamon sticks and bread. We enjoyed the gorgeous views over the garden overlooking the mountains ahead on the veranda. Lizzy and Benjy are their pet dogs who are very friendly and their are some lovely cats that enjoy the sun in the garden as much as we did. I would highly recommend Garden House to anyone who wants a very homely and personal stay in Franshhoek. We are a couple (aged 29 and 32) and I think it appeals to all. This was my favourite place in South Africa for the personal experienced and we are a very well travelled couple. I felt instantly at home and missed Annette when I left after only one night stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My wife and I spent a lovely five days enjoying the plush comforts of The Garden House and the hospitality provided by Annette and Barry. Beyond the usual recommendations travelers provide regarding accommodations there is something else we wish to convey regarding our stay with these fine people, integrity. When we left The Garden House and proceeded to our next guest house in Cape Town there was a note waiting for us from Annette. Apparently my money clip containing $250 US had slipped from my tote and lodged behind a seat cushion at The Garden House. I had yet to notice it missing. Annette had a courier deliver it to us at our Cape Town accommodations. How special it is to know such integrity still exists.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My husband and I have just spent three glorious days at The Garden House and did not want to leave. I booked it based on others reviews and feel compelled to add my own as for us it not not only managed to live up those reviews it surpassed them. Annette and Barry are unique hosts, kind,warm, fun individuals who ensure you feel relaxed and comfortable, Their knowledge of the area helps them tailor the right places for you to visit and they take care of the bookings for you. We stayed 2 nights in the cottage and 1 in the house room, both of which were extremely clean, comfortable and beautifully furnished. Breakfast was a real treat, great produce especially the smoked trout.
Overall one feels as though you are staying with friends and are not a customer which is a rare quality indeed.
I could go on and on about how great our stay was but I think the best compliment I can give is we are planning to go back again and again, thats if Annette will have us!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glittersis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markgroeningen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

this was our 3rd stay at the Garden House and I can again and again recommend this lovely place. Annette and Barry are such lovely hosts, british humor at its best. She has an excellent network in Franschhoek and will give you valuable hints.We stayed 2 nights in the Garden Cottage is very spacious, excellent bed, huge bathroom, complimentary minibar (and laundry), a place you never want to leave...
Having a sundowner (wine, gin tonic or whatever u want) with your hosts, having a nice chat with them before you go to the restaurant for dinner...
Breakfast is only deserving compliments too...
We stayed in many guesthouse in SA, this one is, from far, the best one...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ompile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We spent two nights with Annette and Barry in their delightful cottage last week and could not have had a better time. After travelling around South Africa for a week this was the ideal location in which to relax. Annette is the perfect hostess, she literally could not do any more for you. We were welcomed by a glass of wine and a G and T, just what we needed after a long drive, and Annette was full of recommendations about how best to spend our time in the area. The sundowners were a very generous touch, as were the complimentary drinks and cookies in the cottage (sorry we ate all your cookies Annette!) The breakfasts were amazing, especially the smoked trout, local cheese, and gorgeous warm croissants, and special mention has to go to the host of welcoming pets who add such charm to the place. Marmaduke was our favourite although Benjie and Lizzie came a close second. If you want to stay somewhere beautiful, peaceful, and where you are made to feel like a truly valued guest and can have interesting, genuine conversations with the people who welcome you into their home, don't bother looking anywhere else. Book here! Our only regret is that we couldn't spend longer here but we hope to return one day in the not too distant future!

Room Tip: The cottage is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteSarahGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Garden House in early November and Annette and Barry could not have been more welcoming.

The room was lovely; the location was perfect (lovely mountain views, close enough to town to walk but far enough away from the high street so there is no noise pollution); delicious breakfasts; a fully stocked and complimentary mini bar; and last minute reservations made on our behalf.

Just perfect, we will definitely be going back and have already recommended it to family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
490 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#5 of 63 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
573 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 63 in Franschhoek
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Property: The Garden House
Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing