We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Garden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Garden House
Ranked #1 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Wonderful stay at the Garden House in June 2014. It was cold (by SA Standards) and the beautifully warm room was only matched by the warmth of our welcome by Annette and Barry. A mine of useful local information they happily discussed everything we wanted to know about Franschoek and the local area over a glass(es) of their well-chosen wine.
This is a near perfect B&B if you like creature comforts, plenty of space and friendly hosts. We stayed longer than planned and will definitely be back, just a shame the weather was too cold to swim in the huge pool, but there is always the next time!

Room Tip: There is only one room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
516
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed for just one night, but Annette and Barry really made us feel at home. As soon as we got there, Annette made arrangements for our lunch and dinner and had suggestions for what to do and see. We especially enjoyed sharing a glass of wine with them at sunset.

The cottage itself is very comfortable, spacious, and well-appointed (heated towel warmers are a nice touch!). We would definitely recommend the Garden House and hope to be back some day.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OlySilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Amazing experience all around….can't say enough and will definitely be back! The cottage itself is perfect for 2 people and is nice and cozy. The town is wonderful and we sampled some fantastic wines. And of course, Annette and Barry are the absolute best. Wonderful, kind, humorous and truly care about making sure their guests enjoy their stay. We arrived during a rain storm, and while pulling around the corner to their house - we got a flat tire. I knocked on Annette's door and explained the pickle we were in, and Barry came running out with umbrellas and helped fix the flat and warmed us up with coffee and cookies.
Other reviewers mentioned this as well, but if you are an animal lover - you'll love staying here as they've got a great family of cats and dogs to cuddle with if you're missing your pets at home. They care a great deal about the well-being of animals and are actively involved with a dog/cat rescue clinic in Franschoek. And if you're interested in seeing how the other half lives, Annette will take you to an area of town where she visits and helps feed the starving dogs. It's eye opening, sad, but important to see.

Again, can't say enough about this great couple and their wonderful home. We'll definitely return!

Room Tip: Recommend the cottage house
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiefnerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

It was a pleasure to stay at the garden house for 2 days. We arrived in Cape Town after a week in duban and drove to franschoek. You must follow Annette directions as their property does not show up on gps. We were provided a welcome glass of wine...good advice about wineries and where to eat and joined them for a few glasses of wine to watch the sun set over their beautiful garden with their cats and dogs. The following morning we were taken on a guided bike ride as well...so looked after....Thank you

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w9628983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights at The Garden House and loved every minute of it. The Garden House is a magnificent house with a beautiful lush garden. The rooms are fully equipped and luxurious. As a big breakfast lover, I had a feast every morning. On top of this, Annette and Barry add a personal touch to the experience. They gave us great recommendations for lunch, dinner and wine estate visits. One morning Barry took me along on his very enjoyable MTB tour.

You’ll find every piece of the puzzle for a great stay in Franschoek (for me thé number one destination if you are visiting the Cape wine region) at The Garden House!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDMG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The guest house is tucked away down the back streets and is a haven of peace and tranquillity. The garden is beautiful (and has a good sized pool, not that we used it). Annette and David are fantastic hosts and real characters which will definitely add a personalised touch to your south African trip!

The breakfasts were enormous and delicious. I could have spent half the day sitting on the veranda picking at smoked trout and other goodies.

They have 3 cats (or was it 4)? And a dog – so if you like animals it’s the place for you! Marmaduke (a “big boned” white and ginger Tom) will suddenly come alive when breakfast is served on the off chance of some fish!

The room was immaculate, lovely and quiet, with well stocked fridge and a fantastic bathroom – enormous bath too.

Annette took us into the township with her where she goes to look after the menagerie of animals who need food. I don’t think that’s something she’d offer to everyone, and it’s certainly not a tour. Quite sobering to see how the other half live, and the impact it has on their animals so close to decadent vin yards. Certainly an hour I won’t forget in a hurry.

I could go on, but franshoek is a great place to stop for a couple of nights of wine touring and eating fantastic food - and this is a great place to retire to in the evening, and relax in the morning.

Thoroughly enjoyed our time there and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There is a room in the main house, but they don’t always let that out – however that’s perfect as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommyb1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schwarzach, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

It was our fifth time at The Garden House and every time we arrive there it is like coming home but much better. After a relaxing night in the spacious cottage under the old big tree you will start the day with a generous breakfast with nearly everything you can imagine. If you think four nights at Franschhoek and The Garden House are to much and you get bored from all the smoked salmon, the salami, the ham and cheese, all the berries, melones, mangos, ananas, croissants, frensh sticks, müsli ... don`t worry: Annette will take you out to a restaurant for breakfast in her oldtimer car to get some breakfast variation. If you get bored about all the gourmet dinner restaurants in which she will arrange a reservation for you, don`t worry: Annette will organise a nice dinnerparty with lovely guests in her kitchen. If the weather is too hot, don`t worry: Annette has a refreshing swimmingpool in her fabulous shady garden and there is always a lot of cold water and grapetiser and bear... in the frig. If the weather is too cold, don`worry: your bath has a wonderful warm underfloorheating which reacts in a very short time and there is enough hot water for a nice bath or shower and I am sure you never had such a fluffy bath robe than these at the cottage. To make it short: you don`t have to worry about anything. If your husband thinks, it is very important for him to see the start of Formel 1 on TV, Annette will arrange that the TV is on and on the right channel just in time to make your husband happy! If you feel a little bit homesick because you have left your pet at home, don`t worry: there is Benji and Lizzy the two dogs and Marmaduke and his cat-friends who are always very thankful for a little snuggle. So there is no reason in the world why not choose The Garden House for your visit at Franschhoek except a deadly serious allergy against animal hair :)

Room Tip: the cottage under the tree is very spacious and cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabiprantl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
480 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
566 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#7 of 63 in Franschhoek
521 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#4 of 63 in Franschhoek
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Property: The Garden House
Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing