We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent venue and conclusion to our holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Garden House
Ranked #1 of 65 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry England
Level Contributor
163 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“An excellent venue and conclusion to our holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2009

Annette and Barry welcomed us and we felt at home straight away. The house is beautifully set in lovely gardens with the stunning backdrop of the mountains. Breakfasts were splendid, with food of the highest quality and locally produced. The salmon trout was a refreshing change from the cooked brakfast we had experienced at most of our accomodation and the fresh fruit and berries gave a really healthy feel. Definitely the best breakfasts we had experienced in South Africa and the bar was already set very high! A lovely touch was sitting out and having a sundowner and a chat with our gregaroius and helpful hosts before heading off for another outstanding meal in Franschhoek

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simoncoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
506
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

This was the last stop of our fantastic 3 week holiday in South Africa and, yes, it was the best!. We stayed for 5 nights and wished it could have been for longer. We were really sad to leave. Annette and Barry were so friendly and helpful and their beautiful cottage was really comfortable. The location was idyllic and peaceful and we'll always remember having breakfast on the terrace with stunning views of the nearby mountains. Annette was very kind and , on our first morning there, took me to the pharmacy in town to get some antibiotics for which I was profoundly grateful.

The doggies, Benjy and Noodle, were a joy, so friendly and cuddly as were the cats.
Annette does some sterling work for the the dogs and cats in the nearby township and I went with her one day with food and water and was very impressed by her dedication.

We hope to come back to Franschhoek one day and would definitely want to stay at the Garden House again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pussumses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2009

Well what a find! Been to Franschhoek many times but the first time here. Annette is simply the hostess with the mostest : full of wit and useful hints. The trip to the local township area to feed and water the dogs and cats with her was a very humbling experience. Her compassion and enthusiasm is wonderfuly inspiring. The Garden House is beautiful, spacious and very very comfortable. The views from the stoop at breakfast and sundowners are staggering; incidentally Annette makes a mean G and T!
Wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simonsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABERDEEN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2009

We stayed 3 nights and had a wonderful time at the Garden House in Franschhoek. The view of the mountains from the Garden House is amazing. Our wonderful hosts made us very welcome from the moment we arrived until our departure. We had so many great laughs and some fabulous conversations. The hosts provided good advice about places to visit, restaurants. wine estates and other local attractions. We will go back there on our return to Franschhoek as we would not want to be anywhere else !

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ_ABERDEEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2009

What else can we add to all the previous glowing comments.
OUTSTANDING accommodation.
EXCELLENT hosts.
A very relaxing place to while away your days.
Annette & Barry are a fountain of local knowledge.
You will receive a great welcome from their dogs and cats.
Would we return - most certainly.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franandpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2009

Annette and Barry are superb hosts and we would definitely stay with them again in their lovely house and garden. The attention to detail and decor are fantastic and we really enjoyed talking to them on the stoep over a glass or two of local wine. The animals add a lovely personal touch and it was so good to be taken to watch the feeding of the ducks! The pre-booked Jazz Evening was also much appreciated and very enjoyable.
Howard & Val Staniforth

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2009

We had a wonderful stay at Anette´s and Barry´s guesthouse! Personal, genuine and welcoming and the house with garden is beautiful. The feeding tour is a memory for life. The Jensen family

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldexplorerSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 65 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
11.3 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 65 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Property: The Garden House
Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing