We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay with Incredible Hosts - Stay at The Garden House”
Review of The Garden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Garden House
Ranked #1 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay with Incredible Hosts - Stay at The Garden House”
Reviewed 19 November 2009

My wife and I have recently returned from South Africa and stayed at 'The Garden House' in Franschoek. The Garden House was a wonderful experience in every possible way, from the accomodation at the cottage, to the house of owner's Annette and Barry (both the cottage and house are stunning), to the breakfast served with the most amazing views of Franschoek....It really is an incredible place to stay.

In trying to sum up what makes this place special is not the accomodation and the location (which are fabulous in themselves, it is the people who own 'The Garden House' and go out of there way to make your stay there perfect. The atmosphere is so relaxed and they make you feel so welcome within their home it really is fantastic.

Nothing is too much trouble for the hosts either, they are fantastic at recommending places to eat, arranging reservations for dinner, wineries to visit, just going out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful stay in Franschoek.

NB: "le bon vivant franschhoek" is a must for dining.

I have tried to think long and hard at trying to sum up our stay at the Garden House and for my wife and I, it was the pleasure of meeting two incredible people who made us feel so welcome in their wonderful cottage. They not only give so much to their guests, and from what we experienced, they also give back to those less privileged in the surrounding areas of Franschoek and it really was a pleasure to stay with them.

In one sentence, I would say that we had a perfect stay at the Garden House and would recommend staying there to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevtee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
516
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

I great place to stay in fantastic franschoek.Annette and Barry are perfect hosts
and made us welcome in there beautiful home .We had a lovely breakfast on the front terrace over looking a beautiful garden.The garden house is located 10min walk from village in a safe area.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Annette and her partner were wonderful if not quirky hosts. I was taken off to feed the ducks, pat her rescued and very personable cats and dogs but yet they left us to relax by their beautiful pool when we wanted to chill out. This is a stunning colonial styled property, set in a beautiful country garden, tucked away from the main road. It is quite tricky to find so I would e mail Annette for specific directions before setting off! We had the best breakfast I have ever had in the veranda of their house: homemade marmalade, fresh bread, smoked salmon fresh fruit and cereals, yoghurt, yummmmm. Our room was lovely and looked out onto another lovely garden. WOuld recommend this charming place to anybody!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

Can highly recommend The Garden House after a fabulous 2 night stay. Annette and Barry (+ menagerie of cats/dogs!!) are great hosts and made us feel totally spoiled. The room itself was gorgeous and the views from the garden when eating breakfast were spectacular. Annette gave us great advice on which wineries to visit, where to eat and even provided us with transport (two mountain bikes!) - we had the most perfect two days which we could never have planned on our own. Each evening we enjoyed a glass of wine in their home which was a lovely touch. For us it was the perfect home from which to enjoy Franschoek.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuala_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2009

Annette and Barry are the perfect hosts at this wonderful location.

Only a single garden cottage with everything you could need or want. Fantastic position overlooking the town and the valley. Knowledgable, friendly hosts....they looked after us really well...to the extent of having booked a restaurant for our first night on our arrival...and that was great too.
The cottage is just beside the main house, and apart from the lovely character of the building, its finished to a high standard. Very large room, with equally large, modern bathroom....large shower, large bath, double basins.

The gardens are beautiful - full of white roses. The pool is large, and since there is only one room - there won't be a fight for the poolside beds! The views from the pool are superb!

I couldn't recommend this more!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcewan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2009

Annette and Barry are excellent hosts. The "guesthouse" is a separate building, ensuring privacy, and contains both a spacious bedroom (including a seating area) and bathroom (the under floor heating in the bathroom is a particular highlight). Annette was flexible with our breakfast times and location (in the guesthouse or on the stoop), and both Annette and Barry were generous with their time and knowledge regarding the area. We really enjoyed sharing pre-dinner drinks with them, and were impressed by their restaurant (and diamond store!) recommendations. A final mention must go to their fabulous cats and dogs, which will either stay away or gladly soak up attention, depending on your preferences.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandM1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catforth, Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2009

We have recently returned from a holiday in South Africa. Whilst there we stayed for a few days in The Garden House run by Annette & Barry. The reviews and pictures do not do justice to this fabulous find as it has 4 star hotel standards in an intimate setting. The large bedroon was tastefully furnished leading to a well fitted modern bathroon which had underfloor heating. As it was the beginning of Spring breakfast was a simple selection of yoghurts,fruit,muffins and cereals. This could either be taken in the bedroon or if the weather was warm enough outside on the verandah. Whilst it was only a short walk to the centre of Franschhoek The Garden House still maintained its secluded location with stunning views. Annette and Barry are perfect hosts and extremely knowledgeable of the area which they shared over pre dinner drinks in the evening. This was either in their stunning lounge or on the verandah overlooking their beautiful garden. We can unreservedly recommend The Garden House to any couple and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DottyMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
480 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
567 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#7 of 63 in Franschhoek
521 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#4 of 63 in Franschhoek
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Property: The Garden House
Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing