We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pefect stay with Annette and Barry”
Review of The Garden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Garden House
Ranked #4 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2009

We booked into the Garden House on the recommendation of the Tripadvisor ratings and were not disappointed in the slightest. We stayed at the Garden House for a week and it made our holiday. If you can, stay in the Garden House which is off to the side (Barry and Annette also rent out a room inside their house). Our room was beautifully appointed with a very large bedroom, huge bathroom (with two person bath, walk-in shower and heated floor) and porch. The House is a five minute walk into town and as Franschhoek is such a quiet town you can leave the car and walk, which is a blessing in such a car-centric country.

Annette and Barry were the perfect hosts giving us time and space when needed (we spent a couple of the days just relaxing by the pool) or beavering away on our behalf when we wanted to go out. We had fab restaurants booked on our behalf and lots of excellent vineyard recommendations (Lynx and MyWyn are musts if you visit). If you are an animal lover you can also accompany Annette as she feeds the local township dogs.

Overall we would recommend the Garden House to everyone. It is a lovely place to stay with beautiful views and, more importantly, wonderful hosts who really work hard to make you feel welcome and ensure you have a good time.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glasgowdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2009

Situated in a quiet location, within easy walking distance of the village restaurants, and enjoying some of the best views of Franschhoek Mountains. Stunning gardens surround the pool. Well appointed cozy, self contained accommodation, owned and run by a charming caring couple. A superb home cooked breakfast each morning. We would happily recommend, and have recommended, The Garden House to friends and relatives.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rogermb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Up until know I was pretty pleased with myself for having never given a place 5/5 before being able to always to pick holes somewhere or make a smart Alec point justifying my 4 or worse.

The Garden House however was as pretty much close to flawless. The room was perfect, the attention to detail, the breakfast and the injection of some good old fashioned eccentricity.

Help came in the form of restaurant bookings, winery recommendations, good CD's we had to listen too, Swedish novelists to read, that sort of thing. Nothing was too much trouble and Annette even also undertook some swearing on our behalf when we discovered it was raining again.

It's the perfect place to stay - if you want to retire into your room for total seclusion I am sure you might be allowed - but you would be missing out - on several levels.

Stay there if you must - choose the dates at which we hope to return though and we will be most annoyed.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knulpuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2009

My wife and I have recently returned from South Africa and stayed at 'The Garden House' in Franschoek. The Garden House was a wonderful experience in every possible way, from the accomodation at the cottage, to the house of owner's Annette and Barry (both the cottage and house are stunning), to the breakfast served with the most amazing views of Franschoek....It really is an incredible place to stay.

In trying to sum up what makes this place special is not the accomodation and the location (which are fabulous in themselves, it is the people who own 'The Garden House' and go out of there way to make your stay there perfect. The atmosphere is so relaxed and they make you feel so welcome within their home it really is fantastic.

Nothing is too much trouble for the hosts either, they are fantastic at recommending places to eat, arranging reservations for dinner, wineries to visit, just going out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful stay in Franschoek.

NB: "le bon vivant franschhoek" is a must for dining.

I have tried to think long and hard at trying to sum up our stay at the Garden House and for my wife and I, it was the pleasure of meeting two incredible people who made us feel so welcome in their wonderful cottage. They not only give so much to their guests, and from what we experienced, they also give back to those less privileged in the surrounding areas of Franschoek and it really was a pleasure to stay with them.

In one sentence, I would say that we had a perfect stay at the Garden House and would recommend staying there to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevtee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2009

I great place to stay in fantastic franschoek.Annette and Barry are perfect hosts
and made us welcome in there beautiful home .We had a lovely breakfast on the front terrace over looking a beautiful garden.The garden house is located 10min walk from village in a safe area.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Annette and her partner were wonderful if not quirky hosts. I was taken off to feed the ducks, pat her rescued and very personable cats and dogs but yet they left us to relax by their beautiful pool when we wanted to chill out. This is a stunning colonial styled property, set in a beautiful country garden, tucked away from the main road. It is quite tricky to find so I would e mail Annette for specific directions before setting off! We had the best breakfast I have ever had in the veranda of their house: homemade marmalade, fresh bread, smoked salmon fresh fruit and cereals, yoghurt, yummmmm. Our room was lovely and looked out onto another lovely garden. WOuld recommend this charming place to anybody!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

Can highly recommend The Garden House after a fabulous 2 night stay. Annette and Barry (+ menagerie of cats/dogs!!) are great hosts and made us feel totally spoiled. The room itself was gorgeous and the views from the garden when eating breakfast were spectacular. Annette gave us great advice on which wineries to visit, where to eat and even provided us with transport (two mountain bikes!) - we had the most perfect two days which we could never have planned on our own. Each evening we enjoyed a glass of wine in their home which was a lovely touch. For us it was the perfect home from which to enjoy Franschoek.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuala_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 64 in Franschhoek
616 reviews
0.2 mi away
21 Roux Street
21 Roux Street
#1 of 64 in Franschhoek
143 reviews
11.3 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#5 of 64 in Franschhoek
631 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#8 of 64 in Franschhoek
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £103 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Garden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing