We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden Paradise”
Review of The Garden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Garden House
Ranked #3 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Having just stayed in a great place in Camps Bay and having previously stayed in Franschoek, topping our previous experiences seemed unlikely. But the Garden House achieved it. Annette and Barry (plus menagerie) become friends without ever invading your privacy or the peace you will discover.
We are discerning and not afraid to criticise where necessary, but equally we will always praise when warranted. This took no effort. You'll love it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Serialholidaygoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2010

What can one say that hasn't been said over and over again previously. Annette and Barry are the hosts you wish you had on every holiday. Their helpfullness and kindness shows no limits. Her energy should be bundled up and passed on to everyone.
We stayed for two nights during our month's visit to South Africa and wished we had stayed longer. The Garden House is superb, the views are stunning and you have to sample the breakfasts to appreciate them.
If you are interested in the welfare of cats and dogs then a visit with Annette to the Township is also a must !
Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictorNorthYorks_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

The Guest Cottage of the Graden House is perfect.
Beautiful bedroom , linen, with a luxury Bathroom and lots of extras
Yet only 3 steps from Annette & Barry the most wonderful Hosts
Sitting on the Stoop with compulsory sundowners is a Franschhoek must
The Garden House is beautifull quiet yet only a 5min leisurely stroll to the Village and all its wonderful Restuarants
This is our THIRD time here and we will be back so dont book when we are coming!
Please enjoy at any other Time!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulandLorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

We stayed at The Garden House for two nights and had a wonderful time.
Annette and Barry were even kind enough to let us get married in their picturesque,
rose-lined garden. The room was beautiful, with small touches that made it just that little bit special.
The breakfast was amazing, too much even, but the push-bikes were on hand to help us work off our feast. We had the best time and couldn't be more grateful to our hosts for making our wedding day so beautiful.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scout7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

My husband and I had the privilege to stay in the Garden House from January 6th – 12th. We live in Maputo, Mozambique and wanted a getaway in order to relax and enjoy the area, i.e. food, wine and beautiful scenery of Franschhoek. We booked The Garden House as a place to stay, but it was so much more. Annette steered us in the right direction organising our days and suggesting wonderful places for us to eat and drink, making /cancelling reservations. She is seriously on the ball. Barry was a trooper, taking my husband on long cycle rides into the mountains every morning before breakfast, bliss a lie-in for me! The pets are part of the package and are endearing. We feel very lucky to have had a Garden House holiday.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank 1Square
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

During our honeymoon, my wife and I decided to stay at the Garden House in Franschhoek as a part of our drive out west from Knysa to Capetown. As if Franschhoek could not get any more beautiful than it already is, the Garden House sincerely adds to the picturesque landscape with it's views and setting.
The room we had stayed in is separate from the house, giving not only us, but our gracious hosts, the privacy we needed. They were clean, the decor was thoughtful, and the bath, shower, dual sink and heated towel rack were very appreciated! There's a powerful ceiling fan in the room and for us Americans that can't live without air conditioning, it's in the room. There's also a pool if you need to cool off or if you would just like to sit back and read a book.
Breakfast consisted of musli, yogurt, berrys, fruits, juices, toast/croissants, cheese, and SALMON(have with the horse radish sauce) - all amazing. I looked forward to breakfast the 2 nights we were there.
As for Barry and Annette, they are energertic, charming, and wonderful people. Their wine and dinner suggestions were right on the money as we enjoyed every place we visited. Their humor and hospitality transcended any expectation we had of "hosts", as by the end of the trip, it felt as if we were great friends. Thank you for the memories and we will be sure to return! All the best!
Gemma & Patrick

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pebo1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

My husband and I absolutely fell in love with The Garden House... the house, the garden surrounding it, and the beautiful mountain views are breathtaking. Barry and Annette are also incredibly friendly and helpful hosts, happy to answer any question you might have and get to know you... We have been to many B&Bs around the world, particularly in wine regions in Napa Valley, Provence, and around Australia, and this is definitely our favorite by far! We will definitely be back as soon as we can.
Also, we stayed in the house room as the main cottage was booked-- and I highly recommend this room as well. While it's smaller, you can still enjoy the beautiful house and its grounds, and have the same wonderful breakfast in the morning.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank pj796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#10 of 64 in Franschhoek
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 64 in Franschhoek
602 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#12 of 64 in Franschhoek
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#7 of 64 in Franschhoek
622 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Petit Paris Guest House
Le Petit Paris Guest House
#5 of 64 in Franschhoek
191 reviews
11.3 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £96 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Garden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing