We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
Review of The Garden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Garden House
Ranked #4 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We stayed at The Garden House for two nights at the end of our holiday and we were so glad we did! Annette and Barry the owners are so friendly and helpful and gave us great advice and tips of where to eat and go winetasting etc.

The room is large, well decorated and comfortable and the bathroom is very luxurious. There is a huge bathtub, two giant sinks and a lovely relaxing walk in shower. The underfloor heating is also greatly appreciated!

Franschhoek is such a beautiful location with the most wonderful restaurants and vineyards and to stay in The Garden House just makes it perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemmaCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2010

Annette and Barry were excellent hosts and ensure that you have every comfort. The carriage house where we stayed had a lovely, country decor and a large bathroom with heated floors. Yogurt and muesli in the room for breakfast and anything you wanted from the minibar, along with great, complimentary wifi. The main house is very pretty as well with nice grounds and a swimming pool. We absolutely loved it. When I booked, Annette told me people say one night isn't enough...she's right!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renu-and-sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We stayed in four places in South Africa, all were fantastic but this was our favourite. From about a month before we arrived, Annette was recommending places to eat and things to do. She booked us all our lunches and dinners, and we got the best seats in each place we went to. The two lunches we had while we stayed here were so good we will probably talk about them for decades. In general the food is of an extremely high standard around the area and on one day we actually ate 13 courses!

As soon as you arrive Annette comes out to greet you and you know immediately this isn't your average hotel/ bed and breakfast. This is personal service and utmost home comforts. The cottage is so cosy and warm, with everything you could possible need for a perfect stay. The bathroom is excellent, with heated floor and massive bathtub.

We are both animal lovers so the entourage of pets was a massive plus for us, but I think if you didn't like animals you would still have plenty of space not to come across them (you'd be mad not to love them though). Unfortunately we didn't get the chance to feed the local cats and dogs this time, but it's something we will try to do when we go back.

Each night you have a drink with Annette and Barry in their home which is a fantastic way to get to know them and a bit about life in Franschhoek. We were both desperate to think of ways we could go and live there, it's so beautiful.

This place cannot be beaten by anywhere else in Franschhoek for personal service, quality of accommodation and the hosts. We cannot wait to go back and this time we'll stay longer.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicejaneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

One of the most charming places I have stayed anywhere in the world. A huge room and bathroom, combined with a lovely owner, stunning views, great breakfast and a warm welcome, this is a perfect B&B. This is my second visit in a year and Annette, the owner, is always attentive and interested in my plans (and never short of helpful advice). The room is incredibly comfortable and little things like a DVD selection, a nicely stocked fridge with breakfast (in these winter months) and drinks, good toiletries and bath robes all raise this above the competition. I'll be back for the comfortable bed, heated bathroom floor and the sense of home soon enough.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbaileyta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

The best place we stayed in South Africa by far! Annette and Barry, the couple that owns the cottage and lives in the adjacent house, were extremely helpful and attentive. We started corresponding by email with Annette about a month before we arrived in South Africa, and she did everything from making restaurant suggestions and dinner reservations, to advice about activities in Franschoek, to driving directions. When we arrived in Franschoek we felt immediately at home – the cottage is beautifully decorated and surrounded by peaceful and fragrant rose gardens and views of the surrounding mountains. We were invited each evening to have a drink with Annette and Barry and were able to learn about Franschoek, its people, and how we should best spend the rest of our time in South Africa. Would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone!! Our experience was far superior than any other place we stayed in South Africa, and unique in that there is only one room for guests. This allowed for great attention to detail and a personal touch. It’s in a great location – walking distance from most of the local restaurants and shopping area. By the way, awesome bathtub and heated bathroom floors!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tevaman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

After a rather frenetic time in Cape Town it was a real joy to arrive at the haven that is Annette and Barry's. Despite suffering from a hideous cold, Annette made sure she was there to greet us (in dressing gown and crocs) and what a delight she was - we have rarely been made to feel more welcome.

The room was huge yet cosy (it was pouring with rain for pretty much the entire time we were there) and the underfloor heating in the bathroom was just lovely...particularly during those night-time trips to the loo!

Rarely could a stay be so special and you be made to feel more welcome. Annette and Barry are charming - their menagerie of animals a delight and their home simply beautiful. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

We loved it here so much at Christmas & New Year we returned at Easter. The Garden House is fantastic. Annette & Barry are wonderful owners & great company to be around. The value for money, sleep quality & location are all first rate. The service & cleanliness are excellent. We think its well worth 5 stars & highly recommend it to anyone planning a trip there.

Its understandably very popular accommodation so our travellers' tip is book early to avoid missing out on this South African Gem.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andybManchester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 64 in Franschhoek
616 reviews
0.2 mi away
21 Roux Street
21 Roux Street
#1 of 64 in Franschhoek
143 reviews
11.3 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#5 of 64 in Franschhoek
631 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#8 of 64 in Franschhoek
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £103 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Garden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing