We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Garden House never disappoints”
Review of The Garden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Garden House
Ranked #3 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2010

This was our 3rd stay at The Garden House and the quality and comfort of the accommodation remains very high. Matched by the generosity and warmth of the welcome by the owners Annette and Barry. Annette's breakfast on the stoop over-looking their beautiful garden is, on its own, a good enough reason to stay.
The cottage is fully eqipped with the comfiest bed and linen, a good air-con/heating unit, and the big bathroom is wonderful with under floor heating, double sinks and heated towel rail.
The town centre is just a few minutes walk down the hill making some of the best restaurants and shooping in town within easy reach.
We can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeadsCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Garden House for two nights in May. We were on honeymoon for three weeks, and had stayed at magnificent hotels and resorts all over South Africa and in the Seychelles. The Garden House was beyond the most charming place we have ever stayed, on our honeymoon or otherwise.

With regard to the accommodations, the room is huge and cozy, and the enormous bathroom has underfloor heating which is perfect for those cool winter nights. The room, the house and the surroundings are beautiful (and of course, clean). The room was stocked with delicious cookies, muesli, juices and also Annette's choice DVDs - we watched Cinema Paradiso on her recommendation...great film.

Beyond the accommodations, Annette and Barry truly made us feel at home. Annette recommended great restaurants, beautiful wineries and fun local events. She took care of all the reservations and bookings for us. Barry lent us his bicycles for a nice vineyard ride. They (and their menagerie of rescued animals) welcomed us into their home for drinks, food and conversation. It was wonderful.

At the same time, though, the Garden House was a perfect place for the two of us to just get away, relax and be alone, far from the hustle and bustle of city life.

Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandeep0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

The Garden House was simply lovely! Annette was a great host with excellent recommendations for wineries and restaurants. The bedroom was very cozy and the washroom was just as large as the bedroom. The heated floors and towel rack in the washroom were such a nice touch. You walk out and you're in a beautiful garden with the mountains as the backdrop. Very romantic. And it's only a 10 minute walk to the main strip and you can always rent a scooter for the day to trot around town. Thanks to Annette and Barry for a wonderful stay!

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank newparents2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We stayed at The Garden House for two nights at the end of our holiday and we were so glad we did! Annette and Barry the owners are so friendly and helpful and gave us great advice and tips of where to eat and go winetasting etc.

The room is large, well decorated and comfortable and the bathroom is very luxurious. There is a huge bathtub, two giant sinks and a lovely relaxing walk in shower. The underfloor heating is also greatly appreciated!

Franschhoek is such a beautiful location with the most wonderful restaurants and vineyards and to stay in The Garden House just makes it perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemmaCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Annette and Barry were excellent hosts and ensure that you have every comfort. The carriage house where we stayed had a lovely, country decor and a large bathroom with heated floors. Yogurt and muesli in the room for breakfast and anything you wanted from the minibar, along with great, complimentary wifi. The main house is very pretty as well with nice grounds and a swimming pool. We absolutely loved it. When I booked, Annette told me people say one night isn't enough...she's right!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renu-and-sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We stayed in four places in South Africa, all were fantastic but this was our favourite. From about a month before we arrived, Annette was recommending places to eat and things to do. She booked us all our lunches and dinners, and we got the best seats in each place we went to. The two lunches we had while we stayed here were so good we will probably talk about them for decades. In general the food is of an extremely high standard around the area and on one day we actually ate 13 courses!

As soon as you arrive Annette comes out to greet you and you know immediately this isn't your average hotel/ bed and breakfast. This is personal service and utmost home comforts. The cottage is so cosy and warm, with everything you could possible need for a perfect stay. The bathroom is excellent, with heated floor and massive bathtub.

We are both animal lovers so the entourage of pets was a massive plus for us, but I think if you didn't like animals you would still have plenty of space not to come across them (you'd be mad not to love them though). Unfortunately we didn't get the chance to feed the local cats and dogs this time, but it's something we will try to do when we go back.

Each night you have a drink with Annette and Barry in their home which is a fantastic way to get to know them and a bit about life in Franschhoek. We were both desperate to think of ways we could go and live there, it's so beautiful.

This place cannot be beaten by anywhere else in Franschhoek for personal service, quality of accommodation and the hosts. We cannot wait to go back and this time we'll stay longer.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicejaneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

One of the most charming places I have stayed anywhere in the world. A huge room and bathroom, combined with a lovely owner, stunning views, great breakfast and a warm welcome, this is a perfect B&B. This is my second visit in a year and Annette, the owner, is always attentive and interested in my plans (and never short of helpful advice). The room is incredibly comfortable and little things like a DVD selection, a nicely stocked fridge with breakfast (in these winter months) and drinks, good toiletries and bath robes all raise this above the competition. I'll be back for the comfortable bed, heated bathroom floor and the sense of home soon enough.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbaileyta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#10 of 64 in Franschhoek
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 64 in Franschhoek
601 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#12 of 64 in Franschhoek
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#7 of 64 in Franschhoek
622 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Petit Paris Guest House
Le Petit Paris Guest House
#5 of 64 in Franschhoek
190 reviews
11.3 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £96 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Garden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing