We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous couple of days!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Garden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Garden House
Ranked #1 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“A fabulous couple of days!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

We had a lovely stay at the Garden House and couldn't recommend it enough having picked it up ourselves of Tripadvisor. Annette and Barry are lovely, interesting people who can't do enough to help with hints and tips on where to go and help you organise meals etc (Anette suggested we go to the local cinema one evening it was raining for example which was a unique experience and a great value one!). The Garden House itself is a simply stunning house and the Cottage off the side is perfect with a bit of privacy. Very comfortable inside and cosy with a loveloy bed and beautiful bathroom. A really lovely stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoobyLou77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
510
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

Annette and Barry are outstanding hosts who couldn't do more for you. We had an great two days at the Garden House and, with Annette's fantastic knowledge of the area, had a lovely time cycling through vineyards and tucking into fantastic cuisine at the Bon Vivant nearby. The Garden House was pure luxury replete with underfloor heating in the bathroom, comfy bed and a well stocked fridge. The garden was beautiful and the resident cats a dog very friendly. We wished we'd had more time there as two days really wasn't enough!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jersey_em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

The Garden House in Franschhoek was the first stop on our South Africa adventure, thinking that we would fly into Cape Town, stay there for 2 nights and then move on. We ended up staying for three nights, and if the room was available would probably have even stayed more. Annette and Barry were the perfect hosts, funny, knowledgeable, engaging. Barry is a true wealth of knowledge about the history of the region, and Annette was our go-to girl for where to go & what to do. They were the best. And the suite is really lovely. Heated floors, gorgeous bathroom, the most comfortable bed.... heaven. Franschhoek is a great town. We could easily walk into town from the house. Annette even took us on her rounds to help feed the dogs and cats in the local township. And we used their bikes to explore the wineries. It was the perfect intro to our South Africa.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halgal2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights and wish we had stayed longer. The room is large, very comfortable and well appointed and the bathroom is huge, and the setting is also superb - the view across the valley from the patio is beautiful. The house is also just a short walk from the centre of Franschhoek and numerous excellent restaurants and shops. What really makes this place though is the hospitality of Annette and Barry, who were the most charming hosts. Annette could not help enough with suggestions for restaurants, wineries, horse riding and any other questions we had about Franschhoek and the area. We hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s8mt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
158 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

The Garden House is a perfect setting for some relaxing days in this nice city.
Annette & Barry are your host, willing to help you with planning your day. Spacious room & bathroom, well provided. Swimming pool in a beautifull garne an with a view on the mountains. In summer breakfast on the "stoep". Lots of excellent restaurants on walking distance! And also lots of shops. And do not forget all these wineries!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucErnaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

This was our 3rd stay at The Garden House and the quality and comfort of the accommodation remains very high. Matched by the generosity and warmth of the welcome by the owners Annette and Barry. Annette's breakfast on the stoop over-looking their beautiful garden is, on its own, a good enough reason to stay.
The cottage is fully eqipped with the comfiest bed and linen, a good air-con/heating unit, and the big bathroom is wonderful with under floor heating, double sinks and heated towel rail.
The town centre is just a few minutes walk down the hill making some of the best restaurants and shooping in town within easy reach.
We can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeadsCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Garden House for two nights in May. We were on honeymoon for three weeks, and had stayed at magnificent hotels and resorts all over South Africa and in the Seychelles. The Garden House was beyond the most charming place we have ever stayed, on our honeymoon or otherwise.

With regard to the accommodations, the room is huge and cozy, and the enormous bathroom has underfloor heating which is perfect for those cool winter nights. The room, the house and the surroundings are beautiful (and of course, clean). The room was stocked with delicious cookies, muesli, juices and also Annette's choice DVDs - we watched Cinema Paradiso on her recommendation...great film.

Beyond the accommodations, Annette and Barry truly made us feel at home. Annette recommended great restaurants, beautiful wineries and fun local events. She took care of all the reservations and bookings for us. Barry lent us his bicycles for a nice vineyard ride. They (and their menagerie of rescued animals) welcomed us into their home for drinks, food and conversation. It was wonderful.

At the same time, though, the Garden House was a perfect place for the two of us to just get away, relax and be alone, far from the hustle and bustle of city life.

Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandeep0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.2 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Property: The Garden House
Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing