We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would be good for large groups ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Franschhoek Travellers' Lodge & Group Accommodation
London
Level Contributor
1,019 reviews
288 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 581 helpful votes
“Would be good for large groups ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

This place is a large converted public building or convent.  The rooms are basic but were fine for one night.  We were the only tourists staying there I think when we were there so it felt a bit weird.  There were no sockets in the room to charge things which we didn't realise until it was too late. Presumably they would have charging points in the common areas.  The lady at reception was friendly and they had a small car park. Location wise it is two blocks from the main street where the restaurants are.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    48
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
16
30
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed here with a group of 20 friends on a Saturday night for the Bastille Day Wine Festival (we are in our mid 20s).
Positives: * Management had no issues with us coming and going at all hours, making a bit of noise in the passages etc. We were actually well behaved and not too rowdy, so I appreciate how they were chilled about a bit of noise when they realised it would just be for short spaces of time.
* Big communal bathrooms
* Clean
* LOCATION - walking distance to the wine festival and the main street with all the restaurants and bars
* free parking on site

Negatives: * the rooms are really old and dated. They could buy new matching bedding at least.
* We all had wet running clothes from the trail run race and towels, but no where to really hang this stuff up.
* the rooms are designed to be booked out by people who know each other. It would not work to share with strangers, as no lockers.
* Franschoek town is safe, but the hostel did just seem to be open all night. you could come and go without a key or person checking who was entering. Only our actual room door was locked. This may just have been for the wine festival weekend and we had no issues, but it was something I noticed.

I did not need a kitchen/ common room so unfortunately cannot comment on those aspects of the hostel.
Note that there are reasonable cafes close by on the main st for breakfast and Colcacchios for pizza if you cannot afford the fancy restaurants. Also some bars in the town.

Room Tip: Away from the communal bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TessaClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed here during the Franschhoek Literary Festival in May 2013 and it was excellent - conveniently close to all the festival venues, walking distance from restaurants and shops. Our en-suite room was large and comfortable, and we had free wi-fi and the use of a fully equipped kitchen. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SA-BackPacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey,England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

Centrally located. in a quiet area.
Parking on site.
Warm welcome and staff very helpful.
Restaurants and shops nearby.
Rooms basic but clean and adequate for an overnight stay.
No ensuites available for our stay but shared facilities were roomy and clean.
Need to provide own towels.
Internet available (free).
Tea and coffee facilities available in dining room.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zyxwvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
180 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

The place itself is quite average. It's clean, not very inspiring, but comfortable. However the owner picked us up from Capetwon, dropped us at the Airport and arranged the best restaurants and trips for us. We had interesting conversations with them which made our stay more interesting then our average hotel stay. Wiuld defintly go there again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

This guesthouse is situated within walking distance from all the lovely restaurants. The lodge itself is basic but good value for money, we had an en suite room with the possibility of using a clean well equipped kitchen.
The only detail which I disliked is that we discovered a kind of a frog in the room during the night. We experienced it as a pleasant accomodation. During high season the other accomodations are quite expensive in Fransschoek.
On the other hand, the restaurants are affordable and fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotterUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

Hostess "V" was really accommodating and made us very welcome. We had a 6 bed dorm to ourselves which was great as we were travelling with 2 young girls. Kitchen facilities were plentiful and well stacked, and lots of bathrooms, although the one closest to us was rather smelly ... Bit tatty in places, but for the price really reasonable for Franschhoek believe me - at R180 per person per night when elsewhere is never less than R2200 per night!

Room Tip: There are loads of options, try to get a room which will accommodate your group on your own. also en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
Auberge Alouette
Auberge Alouette
#48 of 63 in Franschhoek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Bella Casa
#52 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
The Yard
#28 of 40 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#5 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
8.6 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#14 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eight on Tuin
Eight on Tuin
#50 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Travellers' Lodge & Group Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Travellers' Lodge & Group Accommodation

Property: Franschhoek Travellers' Lodge & Group Accommodation
Address: 15 Akademie Street | corner Reservoir and Akademie Streets, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Franschhoek Travellers' Lodge & Group Accommodation 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franschhoek Travellers' Lodge is conveniently situated in the most central and picturesque town on the South African wine route. You will find us close to the town centre, which is rich in history, culture, food and excellent wine. While staying with us, take time to stroll the tranquil tree-lined streets, visit the Huguenot monument, indulgent in excellent cuisine at one of the many world-class eateries in the town, not forgetting to sample the award-winning wines of the area. Franschhoek has something for everyone and at Franschhoek Travellers' Lodge, we have comfortable, quality accommodation at excellent prices. We look forward to hosting you in our beautiful town, where you are most welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Franschhoek Travellers' Lodge & Group Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing