We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I could have stayed longer!”
Review of The Corner House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Corner House
Ranked #15 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wish I could have stayed longer!”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We arrived at The Corner House with each thinking the other had made a reservation and were so lucky that there was a room (much larger and nicer than the one I thought we had booked!), a glass of rose waiting for us. The hosts were definitely confused by our arrival but had a good laugh with us as we sorted it out. They were really helpful with dinner reservations in the area. So many great options! They also do a nice breakfast that you don't have to get up too early for like most B&Bs.

The location for The Corner House is safe and an easy walk to the main road in Franschhoek where you can explore the shops or hop on the wine tram and make your way around the vineyards. I wish we had stayed an extra night here rather than in Stellenbosch -- it would have been an easy enough drive between the two.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    102
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
61
189
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

A very nice cosy guest house close to the central area of Franschoek. We had room 1 which was a good size, clean and tidy. The breakfasts were good and the feeling of the place was very nice. Two of the cutest little dogs wander about causing much amusement. The garden and pool area are good too. It could be improved by air con and a fridge in the room, but these are minor issues.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDED084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheathampstead,
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The Corner House is in an excellent position for exploring Franschoek, just o short pleasant walk to the main street.
The hosts could not have been more friendly and helpful with their advice.
The room we occupied, off the terrace was clean and spacious.
Breakfasts were very good.
Car parking inside the premises but should the area be full the road outside is very quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jomar70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

No doubt, we liked our stay here. The house is beautiful, even if it could need refreshings here and there. Just a few steps from Franschhoeks main street & restaurants etc. The landlady is a real personallity and fills the place with character, and you'll probably have nice chats.There are two lovely dogs around, and cats are regulary visitors. Some will love it, some will hate it. Breakfast allright.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boris068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The house is very beautiful as the surroundings, but what stroke us the most was the warm welcome of Danielle. She is THE perfect host. We loved ervery day that we were at the Corner House and walk often to the town (a very short walk) for a lunch or lovely dinner. We were there for a week to visit the beautiful vineyards which are at a very short drive (5 to 15 minutes)
The breakfast was delicious with the home made marmelades, scrambled eggs.......
If you ever have the chance to visit Franschhoek than you have to stay at The Corner House! It will make your stay unforgettable!
Danielle, thank you very much for making our stay at your B&B the most rememberable in South Africa.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Popien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We are regular travellers to Franschhoek and decided to stay somewhere different. The location of The Corner House is absolutely perfect. We spent 6 nights here. The room was probably the neatest and cleanest I have ever experienced at a small guest house. The adjoining library made it feel like a lovely suite.

Danielle, the owner, is such a wonderful character. Take time out to share a glass of wine with her and you will learn so much about Africa that you never knew before. Her "assistant" Linda is also great fun.

Top place, top people.

Thanks

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.0 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.3 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#7 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
0.3 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#9 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House

Property: The Corner House
Address: 5 Unie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, 6 rooms, quiet guest house with a sparkling pool and veranda. Some rooms have private entrance. Kids are welcome. 5 minutes walk of the main street with its many award winning restaurants. Eat, sleep and drink in the food capital of South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Corner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing