We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect place for relaxed people”
Review of The Corner House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Corner House
Ranked #14 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect place for relaxed people”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay in the corner house. Good tips and nice conversations with the hosts about restaurants, the culture and South Africa. The room has all the basics you need, is clean and has good wifi. You can park your car inside the gate and just enjoy Franschhoek.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Marijke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    102
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
61
189
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Guest house is really lovely, staff were friendly and even though it was in July and Franchoek was freezing we had the warmest coziest nights sleep.
Ideal for Bastille as we walked everywhere. A tv is the room would have made it perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were warmly welcomed by the Hosts. Lovely clean, spacious room with extra blankets, hot water bottles and hairdryer. Delicious breakfast. Cosy lounge for us to all sit in and chat around fire. Pets welcome too!



  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Excellent wifi included
Loved the house pets
Gorgeous tub, great shower water pressure
Quaint BnB
Easy walk to main st
Books to read / swap / borrow

Breakfast menu was unclear that we'd be charged
Very thin walls between rooms

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank visitmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darling, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We recently stayed at The Corner House in Franschhoek. Lovely room with fireplace and a huge bathroom. Our hosts were extremely helpful in advising us on restaurants worth visiting and attractions worth seeing. Thank you Danielle and Dick, you were awesome.

Room Tip: Room 5 was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank owen37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I'm really impressed over this amazing place! I slept there two nights, but I wish I could be there longer. The place was just like you see it in the pictures, and the staff are so nice to you. They made us the best breakfast I've ever tasted! The rooms are quiet, clean and big, with good beds. The guest house also got a good location, only 5 minutes away from all the restaurants in the main street. I really recommend this place if you are going to Franschoek.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stine679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Great place. Nice, welcoming staff. Solid breakfast. Easy walk from Franschhoek. Definitely eat at the Tasting Room while you are there, get a reservation in advance. Affordable and safe. Close wine tasting.




  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank JTM34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.0 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.3 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#7 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
0.3 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#9 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House

Property: The Corner House
Address: 5 Unie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, 6 rooms, quiet guest house with a sparkling pool and veranda. Some rooms have private entrance. Kids are welcome. 5 minutes walk of the main street with its many award winning restaurants. Eat, sleep and drink in the food capital of South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Corner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing