We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very central little gem in Franshchoek”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very central little gem in Franshchoek”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My wife booked this hotel through a friend. It's right in the heart of the Franschoek Valley. And although it's on the main road, it's not at all noisy as rooms are at the back of the hotel. All rooms look onto the pool area, which is great. Staff are polite. Rooms are clean and well kept. From here we walked to dinner every night and drove to do wine satisfying during the day. Very nice. I'll stay here again.http://c1.tacdn.com/img2/x.gif

Room Tip: As the staff and be specific about what you want. There are various sizes, but they all look out ont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garth_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Garth_J

Thanks for posting a review of your recent stay with us.

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in Franschhoek and at our hotel.
We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    167
    56
    6
    5
See reviews for
47
231
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Protea Franschhoek really went the extra mile for me during my recent stay! I left the lights on on my hire car and couldn't get it started the following morning. I went in search of some help from reception and was gobsmacked with the result. The manager personally came out to try get the car started with jumper cables. I needed to run and left them to it, asking that they leave the keys in my room after. Upon my return I was amazed to find that they'd called up the hire car company and between them had organized for me to get a new car. The keys were waiting for me upon arrival!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TessSulaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Dear TessSulaman

Thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
I'm so glad we were able to help you out, and I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Franschhoek.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Franschhoek again in the not too distant future.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Reasonably priced hotel in central Franschhoek with plenty of parking available. Rooms are on 2 levels around a nice pool with sun loungers and a lovely view of the mountains. Bedrooms are a decent size with two 3' beds and a large bathroom with shower and bath. Breakfasts were excellent with a good choice of fruit, juices, cereals, breads and cooked items. Staff were pleasant and courteous - room service left everything clean and tidy. Shame that wifi was chargeable but the manager told us that they would soon be offering a free, fast service. The hotel was fairly quiet when we stayed and was a bit lacking in atmosphere - as someone else said, a bit like a motel but there are plenty of good cafes and resaurants in the town. Try to visit the "La Cotte" wine and cheese shop just next to the hotel - it's a real Alladins Cave of interesting wines and other drinks with a fabulous cellar.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear MacChelmsford

Thank you posting your review of your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek on TripAdvisor.

I'm glad to see you enjoyed your time in Franschhoek.

Kind regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

Beautiful rooms but hotel lacks spirit. Feels like a nice motel. But can't critise clean comfy rooms with good breakfast! Views stunning!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear Lucy J

Thanks for posting your review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. We hope you enjoyed your time in Franschhoek and South Africa.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed at the protea hotel for a few days at end of December whilst in town for a friends wedding. We had booked a suite which was great value for money and had loads of space. The swimming pool was lovely to chill in after a wee trip round some wine farms which we booked through the hotel, was nice to have waiter service too whilst chilling. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great loads of choice. Hotel is great location for having a stroll through the town where there are some nice little shops and restaurants. Would definatly stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a suite if possible and breakfast is worth money too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear JoLamb

Thanks so much for posting your review of your last stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.
I am so glad to hear that you had a good time in Franschhoek.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back one day in the not too distant future.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Staffs
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Colonial style hotel which has been beautifully renovated (or just extremely well maintained!).
Mountain backdrop, huge balcony which was common to two adjoining rooms but this is not a problem in practice. Beautiful soft furnishings and plenty of space. Small plunge pool set in pleasant garden with a few sun loungers. Usual excellent staff service, cleanliness standards also top notch. Free parking. Well located on the edge of this charming small town.

Room Tip: Choose a rear facing room for the views and extra quiet, as front of hotel faces main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliveboy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear oliveboy123

Thank you for posting your review of your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek on TripAdvisor. I am so glad that you had a good stay with us.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again one day soon.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Great location in Franschoek, the staff are very friendly and accomodating and are willing to go the extra mile to make the stay a memorable experience. Will be back for sure!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Daan59

Thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.

We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTLE FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.0 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Address: 33 Huguenot Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek, which overlooks the majestic mountains and vineyards of the historic village of Franschhoek, some 80 km east of Cape Town, prides itself on its charming ambiance, gracious style and attentive service. Indeed, if you are seeking a hotel which exudes tranquility and beauty, look no further than the Protea Hotel Franschhoek. With so much to do in this quaint town, Protea Hotel Franschhoek provides the perfect base for your holiday. With a renowned restaurant, conference facilities, luxury accommodation, a sparkling swimming pool and, being in the heart of wine country, a well-stocked vinotique; coming home is always a pleasure. Take advantage of our convenient location and explore Franschhoek's wide array of culinary establishments, art galleries, cheese factories and some 25 world famous wine estates. Franschhoek is one of South Africa's leading culinary and wine-tasting destinations. Various outdoor activities, such as horse-riding, golf, backpacking and trout-fishing, can also be arranged. The luxurious accommodation offered by the 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek is a welcoming retreat at the end of a long day spent exploring this splendid town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing