We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel!”
Reviewed 30 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as part of a school hockey and netball tour to South Africa. This is a really lovely hotel, spotlessly clean, warm, cosy, with very comfy beds and great food. We were all made to feel so very welcome here and would have loved to have stayed on for an extra night or two! Brilliant all round!

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ellygirl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Dear ellygirl34

Thank you so much for your review of your stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that your tour was a success.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back one day in the future.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    167
    56
    6
    5
See reviews for
47
231
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at this lovely hotel for a well deserved break from the city. The stay was FANTASTIC, the staff went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one.

Hotel offers a selection of services plus secure parking for your vehicle. Located in the middle of town, near great restaurants and deep in the Cape's famous wine region.

Thank you Douglas (GM) and team for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkipperZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear SkipperZA

Thanks so much for posting a review of your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor.
It is great to hear that you had a good time in Franschhoek, and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Franschhoek soon.

Regards,
Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2012

me and my girlfriend stayed from the 7th of july - 9th and it was CLASS. from the ladys at reception who organised our horse-riding and wine tours (which was unreal) to the bar men in the cock-tail bar and basically all the staff in the hotel............they were Excellent to say the least. If i go back to south africa, i will be going back to the Protea Hotel for sure. Franschhoek is a pretty cool spot as well.

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Emmet G

Thank you for your review. It sounds like you had a fabulous time.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This hotel offers good value for money being walking distance to all the main attractions and restaurants in town, however if you prefer small guest houses then this hotel is not for you. If you want to be guarenteed of quality though and not be over charged this hotel is a safe option, just make sure you don't get a room that is in the front facing the road as these rooms can be quite noisy. Protea Hotels are known for their high standards of service for a mid market hotel group in SA.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Private28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Private28

Thanks for posting a review of your stay on TripAdvisor.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,
Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed at the Protea hotel for 3 nights.The hotel is well positioned in the central area of the town on the main road.all shops and resturants are within walking distance and one can find almost any of the general amenities close by.The hotel staff are very friendly and helpfull throughout.We stayed in a junior suite and the two rooms were large and spacious with an on suite bathroom.We never had any meals at the hotel as there are so many resturants in town that we decided to try them out..We enjoyed our stay,Thanks

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Brian475

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Franschhoek. Thanks for the great review.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We had an excellent stay at the Protea Hotel in Franschhoek. The rooms are neat, spacious and clean. It was the best value for money make no mistake, it is a beautiful hotel and all the shops are in walking distance. The lady from housekeeping is a special person and made us feel welcome from the start. The other staff were very friendly. I can strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Amanda M

Thanks so much for posting a review of your recent stay with us.
I am thrilled to hear that you had such a nice time in Franschhoek.

We hope to see you back soon.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Very good, comfortable clean rooms with one of the best locations in Franschhoek, right in on the village Main street.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esta007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear esta007

We are so glad to hear that you ad a good time while staying Franschhoek.

Thanks so much for the nice review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Franschhoek soon.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.0 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Address: 33 Huguenot Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek, which overlooks the majestic mountains and vineyards of the historic village of Franschhoek, some 80 km east of Cape Town, prides itself on its charming ambiance, gracious style and attentive service. Indeed, if you are seeking a hotel which exudes tranquility and beauty, look no further than the Protea Hotel Franschhoek. With so much to do in this quaint town, Protea Hotel Franschhoek provides the perfect base for your holiday. With a renowned restaurant, conference facilities, luxury accommodation, a sparkling swimming pool and, being in the heart of wine country, a well-stocked vinotique; coming home is always a pleasure. Take advantage of our convenient location and explore Franschhoek's wide array of culinary establishments, art galleries, cheese factories and some 25 world famous wine estates. Franschhoek is one of South Africa's leading culinary and wine-tasting destinations. Various outdoor activities, such as horse-riding, golf, backpacking and trout-fishing, can also be arranged. The luxurious accommodation offered by the 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek is a welcoming retreat at the end of a long day spent exploring this splendid town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing