We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy hotel and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cosy hotel and great location”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in September at the Protea in Franschhoek. Very nice hotel with spacious, clean and comfortable rooms. Excellent service from the staff. Will definately stay here again on a visit to Franschhoek.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear Douglas A

Thanks for posting a review of your recent stay with us.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.

We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Douglas Morrison
General manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    169
    56
    6
    5
See reviews for
48
233
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Very cosy stay, excellent service, clean comfortable rooms. I would definitely return on my next visit to Franschoek and I would definitely recommend it as suitable holiday accommodation to friends and familywhi are thinking of holidaying in a franschoek.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kearnschelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear Kearnschelsea

Thank you for posting your review on Trip advisor.
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Franschhoek.

We hope to welcome you back again one day.

Regards,
Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Looks much better in paper than in real life. But the disappointment is soon forgotten when you enter their clean rooms. Ideally situated to deplore the surrounding areas.

No proper disabled facilities which is peculiar to this group!

Wifi- you get a 100MB per room so use sparingly

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingben66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed in the Protea for a couple of nights last week in one of the standard rooms. Our room was spacious, decorated nicely, the staff were welcoming and helpful and the location was perfect. We would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Couple88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Dear Couple88

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.
I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as part of a school hockey and netball tour to South Africa. This is a really lovely hotel, spotlessly clean, warm, cosy, with very comfy beds and great food. We were all made to feel so very welcome here and would have loved to have stayed on for an extra night or two! Brilliant all round!

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ellygirl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Dear ellygirl34

Thank you so much for your review of your stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that your tour was a success.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back one day in the future.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at this lovely hotel for a well deserved break from the city. The stay was FANTASTIC, the staff went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one.

Hotel offers a selection of services plus secure parking for your vehicle. Located in the middle of town, near great restaurants and deep in the Cape's famous wine region.

Thank you Douglas (GM) and team for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkipperZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear SkipperZA

Thanks so much for posting a review of your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor.
It is great to hear that you had a good time in Franschhoek, and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Franschhoek soon.

Regards,
Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2012

me and my girlfriend stayed from the 7th of july - 9th and it was CLASS. from the ladys at reception who organised our horse-riding and wine tours (which was unreal) to the bar men in the cock-tail bar and basically all the staff in the hotel............they were Excellent to say the least. If i go back to south africa, i will be going back to the Protea Hotel for sure. Franschhoek is a pretty cool spot as well.

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Emmet G

Thank you for your review. It sounds like you had a fabulous time.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.0 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
657 reviews
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Address: 33 Huguenot Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek, which overlooks the majestic mountains and vineyards of the historic village of Franschhoek, some 80 km east of Cape Town, prides itself on its charming ambiance, gracious style and attentive service. Indeed, if you are seeking a hotel which exudes tranquility and beauty, look no further than the Protea Hotel Franschhoek. With so much to do in this quaint town, Protea Hotel Franschhoek provides the perfect base for your holiday. With a renowned restaurant, conference facilities, luxury accommodation, a sparkling swimming pool and, being in the heart of wine country, a well-stocked vinotique; coming home is always a pleasure. Take advantage of our convenient location and explore Franschhoek's wide array of culinary establishments, art galleries, cheese factories and some 25 world famous wine estates. Franschhoek is one of South Africa's leading culinary and wine-tasting destinations. Various outdoor activities, such as horse-riding, golf, backpacking and trout-fishing, can also be arranged. The luxurious accommodation offered by the 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek is a welcoming retreat at the end of a long day spent exploring this splendid town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing