We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay in Franschhoek”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay in Franschhoek”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I stayed here for two nights in November for a business trip. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful! They assisted with everything we needed. The hotel is in the perfect location and everything in the Main Road is walking distance from the hotel.
The Rooms are clean and spacious and very comfortable.

Room Tip: I prefer to stay on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear Stephanie V

Thanks for posting a review of your recent stay with us.
Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you back again one day.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    169
    56
    6
    5
See reviews for
48
233
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This hotel is very well situated on the edge of the Village of Franschhoek. The outside swimming pool and lounge chairs makes for perfect relaxation on sunny summer days. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and bathrooms very neat. The breakfasts were really good and although it is Franschhoek can easily be seen as a stylish retreat for romantic couples and 'older' people, we felt comfortable with our children there. They've gone the extra mile to accommodate the kids in the room, even though we couldn't get a family room. It was more expensive than the other Protea Hotels (and it was over peak season), but it was worth it... No undercover parking. All in all a very nice hotel. Well done to the staff and management.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the swimming pool, as there is one wing that overlooks the road and this road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryno C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear rynocilliers

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek on Trip Advisor.
It is great to see that you enjoyed your time in Franschhoek.

We hope to see you back again one day soon.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK is a great place to stay for a few days, the rooms are spaciousness and extremely well maintained, the garden and pool a pleasure to relax and enjoy. Take the breakfast option it's vast and great quality food. The location is excellent for walking around town. Very kid friendly.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tom_FultonNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Dear Isaac_in_London

Thanks for posting a review of your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor.

I am happy to hear that you had such a good time in Franschhoek.

Kind regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2012

The Hotel location is perfect, staff is amazing and I loved the Hotel inside. The old historical part of the Hotel is beautiful. When you stay at a property that belongs to a hotel group you are always nervous that you are going to feel as if you are in just another Hotel that could be anywhere in the world, but not this one, stunning view of the mountain in the back and the cute little old historical bar in the front on the first floor makes it special. The Hotel is in town so you can walk to the Chocolate shop, and there are a few award winning restaurants within walking distance. Our breakfast was amazing. We never felt unsafe in the Hotel or in the little town so not sure why one of the reviewers made a comment about safety, it is not in an area where it is necessary to have a lot of security.

Room Tip: I liked the old historical rooms, they don't feel old, they are big with lots of light coming in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adubose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Dear adubose

Thank you so much for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.
It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope one day to be able to welcome you back again.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We stayed here for one night with friends, we were spending several weeks in a house in the area. We wanted a short break away from the coast. Having visited Franschhoek quite a few times we knew it was where we wanted to go. It is a very touristy town but in a beautiful setting with good shops, restaurants etc, and many vineyards to visit for wine tasting.
The hotel itself is in an old two storey building but the rooms are large and comfortable, set round a courtyard with a swimming pool. The bathrooms are large with walk-in shower and separate bath. They have two double beds, fridge, kettle, TV, air con etc.
There is a bar and restaurant, and a large car park.
My only adverse comment would be that the rooms all open onto the central area so slightly lacking in privacy, but the windows have net curtains.
We ate in the dining room but were the only four people there (more at breakfast) the food was fine.

Room Tip: Not sure if there are rooms on the ground floor but first floor preferable! Those opposite reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Dear Rosemary03

Thank you for posting your recent review on Trip Advisor.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back again one day in the future.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We were in franschhoek for 2 nights the hotel location is very good as all shops restaurants are walking distance, the hotel is very well made and has a nice calmness to it, its a place where you can just relax and njoy the gourmet food around the street. The Staff were very kind and very prompt with their service njoyed our selves. The swimming pool needed some cleaning the rooms were spacious and comfortable we had got a junior sweet but checked the standard room as well and the standard rooms were also spacious and comfortable. It is a very nice hotel to relax both in the property and franschhoek as a place we had a very good time in both and were happy we did not stay in a vineyard.

Room Tip: rooms in general are all very good we stayed in junior sweet which was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prashantbajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Dear Prashantbajaj

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I am so pleased to hear that you had a good time in Franschhoek.

All the best for the new year.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

The hotel room itself was fine but the hotel has more of a motel feel about it. I was concerned that security didn't seem as tight as in other hotels we stayed in in South Africa. The tag on the room key not only identified the hotel but also the room number, which seemed mad! The breakfast was quite uninspiring but like so much of this hotel was just ok.
Small irritations made the stay frustrating; probably the worst wifi experience I've ever had in a hotel; although its free, you have to get a new code everyday and if we left our connection idle for more than 5 minutes, we were logged out. I found it annoying as a holiday maker but if I had been on business it would have been unbearable. The safe in the room was ridiculously small and meant that we had to carry around valuables such as Ipads, kindles etc. In fairness the staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: We had a problem with the air con so we were moved to another room (room 30). As its the end room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.0 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
657 reviews
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Address: 33 Huguenot Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek, which overlooks the majestic mountains and vineyards of the historic village of Franschhoek, some 80 km east of Cape Town, prides itself on its charming ambiance, gracious style and attentive service. Indeed, if you are seeking a hotel which exudes tranquility and beauty, look no further than the Protea Hotel Franschhoek. With so much to do in this quaint town, Protea Hotel Franschhoek provides the perfect base for your holiday. With a renowned restaurant, conference facilities, luxury accommodation, a sparkling swimming pool and, being in the heart of wine country, a well-stocked vinotique; coming home is always a pleasure. Take advantage of our convenient location and explore Franschhoek's wide array of culinary establishments, art galleries, cheese factories and some 25 world famous wine estates. Franschhoek is one of South Africa's leading culinary and wine-tasting destinations. Various outdoor activities, such as horse-riding, golf, backpacking and trout-fishing, can also be arranged. The luxurious accommodation offered by the 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek is a welcoming retreat at the end of a long day spent exploring this splendid town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing