We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never again!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Dear All, during our vacation in April we spent 2 days at this hotel. Upon arrival we waited a while before receiving the keys to our room, once we finally had them we went to check it out. We found that they have given us the keys to a twin room after specifically asking for a double room on our reservation which was made and paid for in full, as instructed by the hotel a month in advance. We went back to reception so that they could move us; the person behind the desk was so incompetent. They said that they will move us to another room after 10 min just to find out that that room is already occupied by other guests. So they made us stand there for another 10 min, they called housekeeping to convert the room and told us to wait they will call us when it’s done, we weren’t told were to wait so we went to sit outside. We watched the manager go home @ 17:00. After another 30 min I couldn’t stand the waiting and went back to ask if they were ready for us now? Oh yes was the answer and we had to remember that although we are staying for 2 nights we only have one breakfast included. Got to the room, the carpet was dirty but the rest was clean. Don’t freak out when you run a bath and the water is yellow, it’s supposed to be that way. None the less when we checked out we were charged for the 1st and 2nd breakfast which we didn’t even have. By the way the breakfast is limited and not so nice. It took quite some time to sort that out, we were almost in our car when they came running and told us that they still need to charge us for the tourism levy. I will never return to that hotel, their admin is not up to date, it is a total frustration from start to finish.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnyB2BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear AnnyB2BS

Thank you for posting feedback of your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.

It seems that your visit was fraught with a number of unfortunate incidents, and for this I am truly sorry. We take great pride in offering real Winelands hospitality, and it is most disappointing when we get it wrong.

Please be assured that I will be addressing the issues that you mentioned with my Management TEAM, in an effort to ensure that an incident such as this does not happen again.

Thank you for your continued support of Protea Hotels.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    165
    54
    6
    4
See reviews for
45
227
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

This hotel was at one end of the main street in this very beautiful town. The rooms faced an inner courtyard, so were very quiet. Our room was upstairs, but this meant only one flight of stairs. In the evening we sat around the pool, surrounded by a very green lawn, and had nibblies and drinks. Very nice. The rooms had fridges, big bathtubs, and separate showers. Beds were very comfortable, and the rooms were spacious and had a safe. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ground floor, although the car park is at the level of the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valueandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Valueandfun

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your time in Franschhoek and at our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to Franschhoek again in the not too distant future.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We have been to this hotel before and both times were very impressed! The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. My husband and I travelled with our son who was 1 year old at the time. We asked for a cot to be put in the room for our son and when we arrived there was a lovely new cot all set up in the room. The staff do definitely go the extra mile as every night we had our bed turned down and a biscuit put there (even my son got one put in his cot with the duvet turned down;) The food was delicious and the hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Franschoek with everything within walking distance. Will definitely return to this hotel for a third time!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraB406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear LaraB406

Thank you for posting a review of your stay on Trip Advisor.
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself in Franschhoek.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

Hotel is perfectly situated at the end of the central Main Street - easy walk to restaurants and shops but away from traffic noise. Rooms are clean and well kept, central pool is as a very nice place to spend time.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Bluebs

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.
I am really glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in Franschhoek.

We hope to see you again one day.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Protea Hotel Franschoek managed to give us 5 star service during our stay. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the staff very friendly and helpful.

We would stay there again or recommend the hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DewaldLubbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Dear DewaldLubbe

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us.
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Franschhoek.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

We spent our 10yr wedding anniversary here and had a lovely time. The junior suite that was allocated was perfect for us as our very active kids were with for this 'romantic weekend' away. The front office and restaurant staff was very friendly, helpful and patient. They certainly know their vacinity and could recommend appropriate restaurants and facilities we required. The hotel is also situated in walking distance of all the places we wanted to visit.
Keep up the good work Ilse,Viventia and Sarah and thanks for a great weekend.

Room Tip: we had room 14, which was a bit dark, but appropriate for kids on lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Dear Chantal J

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor and congrats on your 10 year achievement!

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Franschhoek, and we hope to see you back again for your 11 year celebrations.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Fantastic value as usual from protea wonderful setting and the one bed suite which is huge and although a little outdated in decor was very comfortable . Gorgeous pool and he minute we lay outside at the pool the poolside waiter was there to take a drinks order now that's 5 star touch if u ask me.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bernie182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Dear bernie 182

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Franschhoek.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.0 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.8 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Address: 33 Huguenot Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek, which overlooks the majestic mountains and vineyards of the historic village of Franschhoek, some 80 km east of Cape Town, prides itself on its charming ambiance, gracious style and attentive service. Indeed, if you are seeking a hotel which exudes tranquility and beauty, look no further than the Protea Hotel Franschhoek. With so much to do in this quaint town, Protea Hotel Franschhoek provides the perfect base for your holiday. With a renowned restaurant, conference facilities, luxury accommodation, a sparkling swimming pool and, being in the heart of wine country, a well-stocked vinotique; coming home is always a pleasure. Take advantage of our convenient location and explore Franschhoek's wide array of culinary establishments, art galleries, cheese factories and some 25 world famous wine estates. Franschhoek is one of South Africa's leading culinary and wine-tasting destinations. Various outdoor activities, such as horse-riding, golf, backpacking and trout-fishing, can also be arranged. The luxurious accommodation offered by the 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek is a welcoming retreat at the end of a long day spent exploring this splendid town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Marriott and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing