We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect, practical, clean, friendly,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Our stay at the PHF way exceeded our expectation. I have to say that I found the suite very comfortable with a top grade sleep ( sheets, mattress super-comfy!) full bathroom with great amenities, mini bar, coffee facilities and with room service and two TV’s - it kept our boys busy! The breakfast was also outstanding! But what we really appreciated most was the service and willingness to help – the staff were great when our boy was hurt in his rugby game and they gave us extra time in our room, and were so helpful. They locked up our bikes, helped with luggage and couldn’t do enough to assist us.
Extremely good value for money, and right in town for easy access to any restaurants. I would recommend it to anyone, business or leisure travellers

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni_S_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Jenni_S_12_12

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourselves.

We hope to see back again one day soon!

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
Protea Hotel Franschhoek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

We love staying at this hotel simply because it offers all we need and is clean and friendly and the rooms are great. The best part is that it is right in the town and everything is a short walk away...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Peter v

Thanks for posting a review of your recent stay at Protea hotel Franschhoek.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My husband and I had a couple of nights here when doing the wine route. The room was spacious and clean but all rather tired. The service in the hotel was friendly rather vague. The breakfast was good but the night before we had sandwiches in the bar and my husband's was inedible. Location was excellent as you could walk to everything really easily.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaD1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear LindaD1961

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.

I am really pleased to see that you enjoyed your time in Franschhoek, and thank you for the constructive feedback with regards to areas that need to be improved upon.
It is very much appreciated.

Kind regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Often stay at the hotel and are never disappointed. When you are in the culinary capital of South Africa, you don't want to eat at the hotel. Staff were friendly, as always and the room was clean. The position is just excellent and within walking distance from all the attractions. What I also enjoy, is that it does not have the hotel feel...

Room Tip: Room 25, always a good option
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicotheGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Dear RicotheGreat

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
It is great to hear from another happy customer.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Franschhoek in the future.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The service was very good and the room clean and functional. Quite a few fittings seemed fragile. There was no fridge. Lazily we chose to dine in and regretted it, as it was not cheap for pretty mediocre and disappointing food. Breakfast was significantly better. Good location for the town. If you're touring, it's a cheap ish hotel but there are better....

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dogberry1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear Dogberry 1258

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.

I am please to see that you enjoyed your time in our little town, and that you found the hotel's location, value of money and breakfast offering beneficial.

We look forward to welcoming you back again one day.

Kind regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

After visiting the hotel on the 6th of July, in order to reserve 2 rooms for our stay over Bastille weekend, upon our arrival on Saturday the 13th July, to our surprise our rooms were given away. The manager on duty had tried contacting me durng the week, by sending an email to an incorrect email adress 3 times. I was told that I was called as well, however I had no missed calls or voice messages from the hotel. I am appalled at the sheer incompetence of such a "well-established" hotel. After being preached to and told that ultimately I should have called in to secure by booking, we managed to find alternative accomodation at the Plum Wood Inn.
Thanks Plum Wood Inn for your excellent hospitality, I'll definitely go back there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Despite the hotels good location, the hotel and its staff continue to disappoint. The service wasn't good. The food wasn't good. The price breaker special which was offered on the board outside the hotel wasn't offered to us as we'd made prior reservations, it annoyed us terribly. Won't return!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GusBehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.0 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
668 reviews
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek

Address: 33 Huguenot Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range: £92 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek, which overlooks the majestic mountains and vineyards of the historic village of Franschhoek, some 80 km east of Cape Town, prides itself on its charming ambiance, gracious style and attentive service. Indeed, if you are seeking a hotel which exudes tranquility and beauty, look no further than the Protea Hotel Franschhoek. With so much to do in this quaint town, Protea Hotel Franschhoek provides the perfect base for your holiday. With a renowned restaurant, conference facilities, luxury accommodation, a sparkling swimming pool and, being in the heart of wine country, a well-stocked vinotique; coming home is always a pleasure. Take advantage of our convenient location and explore Franschhoek's wide array of culinary establishments, art galleries, cheese factories and some 25 world famous wine estates. Franschhoek is one of South Africa's leading culinary and wine-tasting destinations. Various outdoor activities, such as horse-riding, golf, backpacking and trout-fishing, can also be arranged. The luxurious accommodation offered by the 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek is a welcoming retreat at the end of a long day spent exploring this splendid town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing