We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed here with my wife for 2 nights and had a very good time. Rooms are clean and spacious. Location is perfect when your staying in Franschhoek as you want to be trying different places to eat every time and this hotel is located ideally to walk to any restaurant the main street has to offer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeetFuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear JeetFuria

Thanks for posting a review of your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.

I'm glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Douglas Morrison
General manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is a delightful hotel with rooms in a courtyard surround the pool, which was unfortunately too cold to go in when we were there. We spent 2 nights here on our tour of the Garden Route and we were very sorry to leave. Breakfast was super, fresh eggs cooked to order and lots of other choices as well. It was clean, quiet and the staff were very helpful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the far side of the pool, opposite main building have best views and sun in the evening.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellamanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear bellamanning

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.

I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again one day in the future.

Kind regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I arrived at the Protea Hotel after a long day in the office, a rsuh flight to Cape Town and GPS that seemed to have amind of its own. Thie highlight of mybday certainky was the warm reception at the Protea Hotel, a room that was inviting and a true peaceful ambiance. The food was great, wine was superb and the hotelstaff staff friendly and professional. I would certainly recommend the fellow travellers. Amazing town to stay over in.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheoBensch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear TheoBensch

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay in Franschhoek.
I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself.

We hope to welcome you back to Protea Hotel Franschhoek again soon.

Kind regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Recently stayed at the Protea. Location is on the high streets so you can walk to the many restaurants and bars without the need to drive inlcuding the station pub which has live music. Really impressed with our stay, the hotel staff are exceptional, it actually exceeded our expectations. This hotel is all about the little touches from flowers threaded through the plug holes in the bathroom, we had a lovely hand written postcard and amenity from the GM. Jackson on recpeption was exceptionally helpful. We didnt use the hotel restaurants but they looked very busy so I am sure they were good. I would reccomend this hotel for a short stay or for a longer break as there is a lovely pool and garden in the middle courtyard. We stayed in room 24 which was spacious and pleasantly decorated. Hotel is a fwe minutes drive from many of the wine farms so a great base and a great price. Highly reccomend.

Room Tip: Room 24 is lovely on the upper level of the hotel. All rooms seem to have a great view down to the c...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charl-w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Charl-w

Thank you so much for posting such a nice review of your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed yourself in our beautiful little town.

We hope to see you back again one day.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in June , the area is lovely and the hotel is in a good location at the start of the Main Street. The set up is around a central court yard with a nice pool area. The room was spacious with a comfortable bed. The breakfast in the morning was good with polite and friendly service, the hotel was very quite when stayed, which was nice. The hotel has a tourist information service which was really helpful for booking wine tours and trips. We did the horse riding and wine tour which was excellent, a good ride through the vineyards and forest. The Wifi in the hotel was ok. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisjohncox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear chrisjohncox

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed yourself in Franschhoek and we hope to one day welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Had a great night here, but the guests staying next to us were smoking on the balcony and it smelled as if they were smoking in our room. Great location in city center. Rooms were comfortable with a large bathroom.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CESVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear CESVA

Thank you for writing a review of you recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us, and my most sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced with regards to the smoke from next door.
It is certainly not very pleasant.

Kind regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Ideal for a weekend getaway or just passing through this beautiful area. We enjoyed visiting the following wine farms in the area: Backsberg, Moreson, La Motte and Colmant. Over weekends the town of Franschhoek gets very busy with an influx of visitors from the bigger towns and cities nearby.

The hotel is small enough so you never feel as if it is crowded. It has a swimming pool in the courtyard for the sunny summer weather. Ask the staff at the hotel to recommend a restaurant and book beforehand because there are excellent eateries in this town which fills up very quickly. Dutch East and Reubens are our favourites. Because this hotel is situated in the middle of the town, the restaurants are all within walking distance.

A drive up the pass north of the town gives you exceptional views of the town and the surroundings. The breakfast at this hotel was the best we've had in a long time - especially the freshly baked pastries.

Room Tip: Rooms on the northern side have great views of the mountains and those on the southern side are more...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BebeSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear BebeSA

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself in our beautiful little town.

We hope to see you back again one day soon.

Kind regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
Protea Hotel Franschhoek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.0 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
498 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek

Address: 33 Huguenot Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range: £91 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek, which overlooks the majestic mountains and vineyards of the historic village of Franschhoek, some 80 km east of Cape Town, prides itself on its charming ambiance, gracious style and attentive service. Indeed, if you are seeking a hotel which exudes tranquility and beauty, look no further than the Protea Hotel Franschhoek. With so much to do in this quaint town, Protea Hotel Franschhoek provides the perfect base for your holiday. With a renowned restaurant, conference facilities, luxury accommodation, a sparkling swimming pool and, being in the heart of wine country, a well-stocked vinotique; coming home is always a pleasure. Take advantage of our convenient location and explore Franschhoek's wide array of culinary establishments, art galleries, cheese factories and some 25 world famous wine estates. Franschhoek is one of South Africa's leading culinary and wine-tasting destinations. Various outdoor activities, such as horse-riding, golf, backpacking and trout-fishing, can also be arranged. The luxurious accommodation offered by the 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek is a welcoming retreat at the end of a long day spent exploring this splendid town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing