We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“impressive”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

first hotel as part of a garden route tour and was most impressed. rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were first class. Pool area was lovely and peaceful. Meals were very good and overall a great start to a wonderful holiday

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    167
    56
    6
    5
See reviews for
47
231
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Great location for walking down the Main Street with all the restaurants and shops. The hotel itself though is average. We were in a suite but the lack of natural light in the room was brutal. The room itself was spacious but very basic with respect to the amenities. Was rather pricey for the quality of hotel but I guess everything in Franschoek is.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MSloane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAPE TOWN, SOUTH AFRICA
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed at the Protea Hotel in Franschhoek for two (2) nights as we were attending a Wedding on Friday 1st November. Decided to make a Weekend of it and stayed till Sunday the 3rd. Weather unfortunately for the Wedding not great but didn't dampen the Bride and Groom's spirit and then Saturday and Sunday turned out to be glorious. Had a wonderful weekend and very reluctant to leave this delightful hotel. Location marvelous with loads of restaurants well within walking distance and lots of interesting shops. Staff went out of their way to be very helpful and loved the nice touch of still turning the beds down in the evening with a treat on your pillow. Breakfast out on the Verandah was great and the Garden area surrounding the Pool just glorious lying in the sun. Rooms very comfortable and clean with all the normal amenities, bar fridge, flat-screen TV etc. Would highly recommend and can't wait for our next trip back to Franschhoek and the Protea!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed here with my wife for 2 nights and had a very good time. Rooms are clean and spacious. Location is perfect when your staying in Franschhoek as you want to be trying different places to eat every time and this hotel is located ideally to walk to any restaurant the main street has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeetFuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear JeetFuria

Thanks for posting a review of your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.

I'm glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Douglas Morrison
General manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is a delightful hotel with rooms in a courtyard surround the pool, which was unfortunately too cold to go in when we were there. We spent 2 nights here on our tour of the Garden Route and we were very sorry to leave. Breakfast was super, fresh eggs cooked to order and lots of other choices as well. It was clean, quiet and the staff were very helpful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the far side of the pool, opposite main building have best views and sun in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellamanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear bellamanning

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.

I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again one day in the future.

Kind regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I arrived at the Protea Hotel after a long day in the office, a rsuh flight to Cape Town and GPS that seemed to have amind of its own. Thie highlight of mybday certainky was the warm reception at the Protea Hotel, a room that was inviting and a true peaceful ambiance. The food was great, wine was superb and the hotelstaff staff friendly and professional. I would certainly recommend the fellow travellers. Amazing town to stay over in.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheoBensch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear TheoBensch

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay in Franschhoek.
I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself.

We hope to welcome you back to Protea Hotel Franschhoek again soon.

Kind regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Recently stayed at the Protea. Location is on the high streets so you can walk to the many restaurants and bars without the need to drive inlcuding the station pub which has live music. Really impressed with our stay, the hotel staff are exceptional, it actually exceeded our expectations. This hotel is all about the little touches from flowers threaded through the plug holes in the bathroom, we had a lovely hand written postcard and amenity from the GM. Jackson on recpeption was exceptionally helpful. We didnt use the hotel restaurants but they looked very busy so I am sure they were good. I would reccomend this hotel for a short stay or for a longer break as there is a lovely pool and garden in the middle courtyard. We stayed in room 24 which was spacious and pleasantly decorated. Hotel is a fwe minutes drive from many of the wine farms so a great base and a great price. Highly reccomend.

Room Tip: Room 24 is lovely on the upper level of the hotel. All rooms seem to have a great view down to the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charl-w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Charl-w

Thank you so much for posting such a nice review of your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed yourself in our beautiful little town.

We hope to see you back again one day.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.0 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Address: 33 Huguenot Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek, which overlooks the majestic mountains and vineyards of the historic village of Franschhoek, some 80 km east of Cape Town, prides itself on its charming ambiance, gracious style and attentive service. Indeed, if you are seeking a hotel which exudes tranquility and beauty, look no further than the Protea Hotel Franschhoek. With so much to do in this quaint town, Protea Hotel Franschhoek provides the perfect base for your holiday. With a renowned restaurant, conference facilities, luxury accommodation, a sparkling swimming pool and, being in the heart of wine country, a well-stocked vinotique; coming home is always a pleasure. Take advantage of our convenient location and explore Franschhoek's wide array of culinary establishments, art galleries, cheese factories and some 25 world famous wine estates. Franschhoek is one of South Africa's leading culinary and wine-tasting destinations. Various outdoor activities, such as horse-riding, golf, backpacking and trout-fishing, can also be arranged. The luxurious accommodation offered by the 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek is a welcoming retreat at the end of a long day spent exploring this splendid town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Marriott, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing