We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Mtubatuba, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

The hotel is ideally situated in the main street and with very easy walking distance of the restaurants and shops, which is very convenient after a long day of wine tasting !!
We stayed for 2 nights and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and the service was excellent.
The room was very comfortable, spacious and clean with a nice bathroom.
I would have no hesitation staying there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back, away from the main entrance are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    165
    54
    6
    4
See reviews for
45
227
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We didn't realise when we drove from Hermanus to franscchhoek that we would be driving through mountains to get there...the views are truly spectacular and franscchhoek is nestled in the valley...we were greeted by loads of baboons all over the road as we came into town...although we were very early....11am.....our junior suite was ready and we dropped our luggage and made our way along the street to the wine tram tour...we had already googled this but the receptionist pointed out where to go and how it operated...we had a thoroughly pleasant afternoon wine tasting and looking at the countryside....we visited diou Donne and the rickety bridge...the earlier you do the trip the more wineries you can fit in...,most of them have restaurants or do cheese platters...some wine tasting is free some to pay for...bar in the hotel is very reasonable and the lovely young man serving us kept us entertained with his life in franscchhoek....room was a junior suite with seating area and kitchen...nice size bedroom and bathroom...didn't like being in the corner though...the rooms are centred around a very pretty pool area with the mountains in the background but we couldn't really see anything out of our windows as we were stuck in the corner?

Room Tip: We had junior suite but most rooms are generous sizes
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillandDorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Admittedly we spent very little time at the hotel, as we were on a bit of a wine drinking razzle, but I found the service to be good, with quick responses when requesting things like laundry collections etc. The hotel itself though is very dated, considering that it has a 4 star rating, and could do with a bit of modernising in the rooms (which were very spacious and comfortable).

Room Tip: Do try and ask for a room away from parking lot, as cars coming in and out can be a disturbance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed over for 2 nights part of a conference group. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room very spacious and comfortable but decor outdated to international standards. Bathroom very spacious with a separate bath and shower. Hotel walking distance to shops. Aircon in room very noisy.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the swimming pool area. Rooms facing the main road very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TableMountain_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great 1 night getaway from cape town either with the wife or with the whole family. The rooms were very spacious and the view of the pool made for excellent relaxation. Since the hotel is in the town, there are a number of shops within walking distance to explore. We enjoyed the breakfast, watching the hustle and bustle of tourists go by.

Room Tip: Not really a kids destination but after a long day at school / creche, its great for relaxation
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ihsaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed over here as part of an extended tour of Overberg and was enormously impressed with friendly responsive service of both Receptionist front desk as well as Restuarant staff. The Hotel is ideally situated with beautiful views and especially Breakfast was scrumptious providing great selection and value.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Etisalat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We arrived Friday afternoon and were greeted by very friendly staff. Quickly and effortlessly we were assisted and giving our Hotel key and off to the room we went. Stunning room! Clean and very neat.

The staff at the bar were super friendly and nice. Had a lovely cocktail and felt so at home and comfortable in the lounge.

The staff are amazing! So super friendly and so willing to make everything perfect! The waiter that night and the barman were awesome!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laetitia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.0 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.8 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Address: 33 Huguenot Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek, which overlooks the majestic mountains and vineyards of the historic village of Franschhoek, some 80 km east of Cape Town, prides itself on its charming ambiance, gracious style and attentive service. Indeed, if you are seeking a hotel which exudes tranquility and beauty, look no further than the Protea Hotel Franschhoek. With so much to do in this quaint town, Protea Hotel Franschhoek provides the perfect base for your holiday. With a renowned restaurant, conference facilities, luxury accommodation, a sparkling swimming pool and, being in the heart of wine country, a well-stocked vinotique; coming home is always a pleasure. Take advantage of our convenient location and explore Franschhoek's wide array of culinary establishments, art galleries, cheese factories and some 25 world famous wine estates. Franschhoek is one of South Africa's leading culinary and wine-tasting destinations. Various outdoor activities, such as horse-riding, golf, backpacking and trout-fishing, can also be arranged. The luxurious accommodation offered by the 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek is a welcoming retreat at the end of a long day spent exploring this splendid town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing