We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, worth a visit”

The French Connection
Ranked #8 of 79 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Matthew Gordon’s popular bistro in the heart of the Franschhoek village offers a relaxed culinary experience with top-quality French classics like slow-roasted crispy duck with raspberry vinegar jus; superb steaks (try the fillet mignon with three-mushroom sauce), plus the freshest fish and local produce. Friendly, informative staff ensure that French Connection remains one of the most popular stops in the ‘Gourmet Capital of the Cape’. American Express Platinum Fine Dining Award 2006–2012; Diners Club International Wine List Award 2011–2013; Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2012 & 2013.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Great food, worth a visit”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We arrived in on a cool night in July. We wanted good hearty food and that's exactly what we got. The food was great, the wine tasty and the open roaring gave the restaurant a lovely warm atmosphere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bar_Dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    629
    591
    149
    46
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere, great tasting food!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a lovely meal on Friday evening - being lucky to get a table since we didn't book a reservation. The restaurant was packed and visitors even sat on the stoep in the cold winter - clear indication that this restaurant is famous for their food. Enjoyed a lovely bottle of Haute Cabriere Pionot Noir with rib-eye steak with veg, mushroom sause and frites (in true French fashion). Food was tasty, delicious and freshly prepared. This is one restaurant were you can easily order any dish on the menu and be pleasantly surprised and impressed with the quality and attention to detail. Portions were quiet big and reasonably prices - very well worth a second (and third or fourth) visit..... This the place where you will get good food and leave with a full stomach without breaking the bank on your first night in (the sometimes very overpriced) Franschhoek which boasts culinary kings and queens. I take my hat off for this restaurant - a full restaurant is always a good indication that they are doing something right - I would say this restaurant got a lot right.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelchick030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great food, service, ambience”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We ate here twice because we enjoyed it so much. A lovely bistro in town, with a wide menu to suit every taste and great wine at affordable prices.
Everything we ordered was delicious and fresh, from mussels to duck, goats cheese tart, beef stroganoff and fine pinot noir served by the glass, in a carafe or bottle. Unbelievable value for money, anyone paying in foreign currency would be pleasantly surprised at the bill.
The owner/ manager likes to chat so for anyone dining alone fear not, you will have company.
We certainly will be back next time we are in town. Just wonderful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good ambiance and lovely food.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Friends of mine took me to this restaurant because it is their favorite, so I had high expectations. We made a reservation and were placed on the terrace like we requested because of the nice weather. I had the goatcheese quiche with salad and french fries on the side and the pear tarte tatin as dessert. It was devine and I can highly recommend their Eikehof chardonnay. The inside of the restaurant is designed very tasteful. I'll definitely come back soon!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sterreroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Perfect value for money and more....”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We ate really well in this restaurant. Atmosphere was great, service with a smile, food GREAT and really not expensive. We will be back a lot of times. Great !

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The French Connection also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to The French Connection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing