We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet location, amazing breakfasts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #4 of 65 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Quiet location, amazing breakfasts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

This is behind vrie en lust where we had a wedding and was the perfect location for that, and for getting away from everything (15 - 20min drive to town)
Room was good, although bathroom while doing everything it should, was underwhelming versus everything else here.
Cleanliness was good, and lots of nice little touches in the rooms. The highlight by a long way was the breakfast, delicious, fresh and interesting (no stand Full English here).
If you want to explore the wine region in style a night or two here would fit most people, although maybe not enough of interest to keep you for more than 2.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UK_BANDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    35
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
264
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuenen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

Beautiful location with very kind people who will help you in any way that is possible

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxima026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

Magnificent quiet location, very private rooms, very fine owners,
I advise to choose for dining on the location, both because of the quality/location and to avoid being on the road after payday.
Super friendly staff (all levels), nice pool and lovely breakfasts with lots of fresh fruit.
We enjoyed tremendously the advised Wine/Olive/Chocolate/Cheese tour, booked via the owners.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, also the lowest priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DutchGreetings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanton In Peak
Level Contributor
122 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

An outstanding hotel with very well appointed rooms and facilities.The breakfasts are to die for! The owners are very knowledgeable about things to do in the area. A great location in the winelands area, but also sufficiently hidden creating a very relaxing environment.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charliewatson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

This was our first visit and it will not be our last! The views are wonderful and the general ambiance makes this one of those really special places that live in the memory long after you return home.The food is really delicious and the breakfast must rate as one of the best anywhere - helped of course by the opportunity to sit out on the balcony and just drink in the view across the vineyard.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

The views are outstanding. We had an executive suite with a living area which had a large comfortable sofa and was really well equipped for our stay. The standards of service, accomodation and the highly professional organisation is really World class but in a smaller and friendly environment. Aubrey treats you like a friend and together with the other staff they notice every small thing to make absolutely sure your stay is comfortable and stress free. We ate here twice and we were fed things that I normally avoid on any menu (ostrich and gazpacchio would both get a wide berth from me). There is no choice (though I'm pretty sure if you wanted something different that given notice they'd sort you out) but the cooking is good and flavours and combination well thought through so that I really enjoyed my meals.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welshtraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

We spent two nights at Cathbert Inn and enjoyed everything about it. Sitting on our stoep, with a sundowner, watching the multitude of birds squabbling over 'bathing' order was brilliant. The hosts, staff and the food were all excellent. A perfect place to visit for a relaxing break. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sauvarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
11.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
10.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
11.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
11.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
11.3 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 65 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Property: Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Address: Corner R45 & Klapmuts Road | Through the Vrede en Lust Farm, Franschhoek 7670, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5 Star Angala Boutique Hotel is where homely luxury blends with the pristine beauty of nature. Located in the heart of the Cape Winelands between magnificent mountains, Angala is a retreat for body, mind and spirit. Our suites and cottages are spacious, fully equipped and private. We have paid special attention to decoration and finer details - clean lines and natural colours are paired with authentic touches throughout. Look out for carefully selected decoration items, sculptures and pieces in our rooms and on our premises, each with a unique origin and story. Angala encompasses an holistic ethos and the property offers its guests facilities including an eco pool, infrared sauna, steam room, and ozonated solar heated pool with spa. Treat yourself to a variety of professional spa and massaging treatments, in the comfort and privacy of your own room. Pearl Valley, Boschenmeer, De Zalze and Stellenbosh golf estates are internationally renowned golf courses, all within close proximity of Angala. Make it your base for exploring the winelands, or indulge in the harmony of our spacious suites and cottages. Whether you're drawn to the pure, natural surroundings, or you just need to get away from it all, you'll experience what you're looking for, right here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing