We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A total experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #4 of 65 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cape town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A total experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

We were a group of 12, all family. We seeked something out of the ordinary, away from it all and yet conveniently close to wineries and eateries. Well, we were most impressed. Something for everyone here. The energetic climbed the majestic Simonsberg mountain, the cyclists flattened the mountain tracks and the rest of us floated from winery to winery in the neighbourhood. The fine dining experience was worth a Michelin star and the hosts and staff could not have offered better service. Well done guys. We will be back and tell the world about your special destination

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    35
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
264
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

We enjoyed a 2 night stay at this lovely country inn. It seemed a bit off the beaten track and we were a little apprehensive,but it proved a splendidly restful place. We chose to dine in rather tha make a long trip to town at night for dinner and the meals were excellent. The owners were helpful with advice on wineries.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Janet070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

Cathbert is a little outside of Franschhoek but its certainly lovely buried amoung vinyards. The dinner was very very nice and its a relaxing place to base your visit.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank topbanana1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Islands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

We were in the bungalow with it's own plunge pool, and to wake up in the morning, look at the sweeping panorama across to the mountains around Paarl, a dip in the pool, and off to a sumptuous breakfast on the verandah, to meet and chat with the other guests, well you just can't beat it. The staff were really helpful, and kept everything spotless and clean. Ambiance is an overworked word, but in this case, it just sums up our holiday experience. My wife and I would have absolutely no hesitation whatsoever in recommending Cathbert. We could'nt have asked for better hosts.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikiloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

Myself, my husband and my dad stayed at Cathbert in January 2010. It was actually my second visit, having stayed there on a previous trip in 2004, but nothing had changed. Still the same glorious view of the Simonsberg mountains, still the same lovely food and in the evenings (the set menue is VERY good value) and the same great hospitality eventhough there were new owners.
The location is excellent with walking distance to one of SA's finest vineyards, Vrede en Lust. Only ¨down side¨ being the dirt road leading up to the hotel, but we were told they are fixing it. We can highly recommend Cathbert to anyone, it's truly an oasis.
/Charlotta in Sweden

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelinstyle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

We were pleasantly surprised at the location up the hill a bit, with great views down into the valley and mountains all around. The drive up is about 2 miles, a slow go, but well worth it through farm and vineyards. Once you get there it's just awesome. The rooms were well appointed, the food was outstanding, the lawn and gardens superb. We had the Duck one night - best ever. Breakfast was nicely done with fabulous fruits and breads and muffins. Hot items were your basic eggs and meat, also good and cooked to order. Aubrey gave us some good ideas on where to do our tasting and had some good dinner recommendations. We did not use the mini bar, but I did notice the prices were very reasonable. There was a 30 Rand cork charge if you brought your own wine to dinner, which we did. All in all great experience and no complaints at all

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tschodor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prudhoe, Northumberland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

There were four of us on our trip (2 couples) and we basically chose to stay here as it was the closest guest house to Backsberg where we going to a friends wedding, it was without a doubt the best part of the two week holiday for me.

Fantastic views, to die for food, first class friendly service where nothing is too much trouble and gorgeous rooms. Aubrey and Lynn were great hosts and Aubrey gave us lots of helpful advice on which Vineyards to visit for our own personal tastes!

I would not recommend my family and friends to stay anywhere other than Cathbert if visiting Cape Town and Winelands area and I would go back in a heart beat.

I can still taste the cold crisp Backsberg chenin blanc whilst lying in the sunshine around the pool looking at the breathtaking views on the first afternoon we arrived there, total and utter relaxation and bliss....

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robson28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
11.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
11.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
10.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
11.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
11.3 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 65 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Property: Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Address: Corner R45 & Klapmuts Road | Through the Vrede en Lust Farm, Franschhoek 7670, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5 Star Angala Boutique Hotel is where homely luxury blends with the pristine beauty of nature. Located in the heart of the Cape Winelands between magnificent mountains, Angala is a retreat for body, mind and spirit. Our suites and cottages are spacious, fully equipped and private. We have paid special attention to decoration and finer details - clean lines and natural colours are paired with authentic touches throughout. Look out for carefully selected decoration items, sculptures and pieces in our rooms and on our premises, each with a unique origin and story. Angala encompasses an holistic ethos and the property offers its guests facilities including an eco pool, infrared sauna, steam room, and ozonated solar heated pool with spa. Treat yourself to a variety of professional spa and massaging treatments, in the comfort and privacy of your own room. Pearl Valley, Boschenmeer, De Zalze and Stellenbosh golf estates are internationally renowned golf courses, all within close proximity of Angala. Make it your base for exploring the winelands, or indulge in the harmony of our spacious suites and cottages. Whether you're drawn to the pure, natural surroundings, or you just need to get away from it all, you'll experience what you're looking for, right here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing