We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome return to Cathbert which has a very special spot in our memories”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #4 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Awesome return to Cathbert which has a very special spot in our memories”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

Nothing to improve. We spent our first night og marriage at Cathbert and returned for our 6th anniversary. We found that there were some great enhancements to the rooms. The bathroom was fantastic and we also had a great sleep on the comfy bed.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyO8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    35
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
269
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

An excellent place to base oneself for a tour of the winelands in the region.
The rooms were spacious and well furbished; the staff excellent as was the food, with extensive breakfasts (far too much to eat).
We ate in one evening and the quality of food and service was as good as we have had in South Africa.
We were given some very useful tips by the owners about which vineyards to visit and they were willing to recommend and book local restaurants.
Its location is a little way from the main area of Franschhoek but nicely situtated away from the main road on a vineyard.
Yet another place I would definately want to return to.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somerfordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
147 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

My wife and I went on our honeymoon. We were there for three nights in November 2010. Unfortunately we arrived pretty late from Cape Town wasted an entire day which would have been well spent on the property itself.

Before I continue I would like to thank Aubrey and Lynn for a fantastic time with them at Cathbert. We felt the "good energy" surrounding the place and emanating from the people who run it. They were such wonderful hosts starting from the moment we arrived and met them in the morning ( we reached at 10 pm the night before yikes!).

They first served us a warm friendly breakfast with fruit, cereal, breads, cheeses, cold cuts, hot eggs to order amongst other things. I must take a moment here to comment on how wonderful and fresh the milk was here. We ended up taking litres of it to our room.

After breakfast Aubrey settled down with us to advise us about the wonderful sights in and around Franschhoek. Every suggestion was mind blowing with views as stunning as if heaven had descended on earth.

He then went on to recommend fine dining restaurants in town ( even though his cooking is supposed to be lip smacking, we never got to taste that and hence promising ourselves to be back soon). after good recommendations he made reservations for us as well and spoke to the chef about our dietary restrictions ( we being veg and allergic to some foods). Overall very good energy a very cozy and warm atmosphere with wonderful views all around of the countryside from the hills behind the property to the lake in front!
Picture Perfect I must say.

Now the cottage.
We were staying in the two room cottage which had its own living room and open kitchen. It literally was home away from home. We loved it and spent a lot of the evening curling up in front of the fireplace ( which yet again the management had going before we returned late at night from town after dinner). It was wonderful to come home to a warm crisp room after a cold 30 minute drive from town.

Overall our experience was fantastic and this was THE place of the many we visited which made it feel as if we truly were on honeymoon in heaven!

Thank you Carmen and Max and other members of the staff who help Aubrey and Lynn make it all happen.
Cheers!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gobeyondtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2010

We had a very relaxing stay. Cathbert is in the most stunning position ;very quiet with beautiful views. The gardens,the pool area and the rooms are perfect for relaxing. We really enjoyed the yummy breakfast and Cathbert's staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristinaholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

Wonderful location, just beautifully done. Great food. Fantastic staff - attentive and friendly, with the hosts being nothing short of charming.

The accommodation and surroundings are little short of magical. Right in the centre of the Cape winelands, close enough to many of the stunning places that the Cape has to offer, Cathbert Country Inn is one of the perfect locations.

Departed feeling totally chilled, pampered and having made new friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roncoroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

Great venue, central to many wine estates but a quiet romatic hideaway at the same time. Excellent food at the restaurant, great service and hosting. Beautifull setting. Rooms very spacious and fully equipped.
Will go back many more times

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillemImmelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

We had incredible service, food and wine in an amazing setting. The rooms were gorgeous and very comfortable and we had such a peaceful and relaxing time. The staff were so helpful and were more than happy to help advise us about vineyards to visit and places to go. We would go back in a flash and cannot fault this place! A special thank you to Ann and Robert who work there for making our stay perfect.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 333Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
11.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
10.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
11.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
11.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
11.3 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Property: Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Address: Corner R45 & Klapmuts Road | Through the Vrede en Lust Farm, Franschhoek 7670, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5 Star Angala Boutique Hotel is where homely luxury blends with the pristine beauty of nature. Located in the heart of the Cape Winelands between magnificent mountains, Angala is a retreat for body, mind and spirit. Our suites and cottages are spacious, fully equipped and private. We have paid special attention to decoration and finer details - clean lines and natural colours are paired with authentic touches throughout. Look out for carefully selected decoration items, sculptures and pieces in our rooms and on our premises, each with a unique origin and story. Angala encompasses an holistic ethos and the property offers its guests facilities including an eco pool, infrared sauna, steam room, and ozonated solar heated pool with spa. Treat yourself to a variety of professional spa and massaging treatments, in the comfort and privacy of your own room. Pearl Valley, Boschenmeer, De Zalze and Stellenbosh golf estates are internationally renowned golf courses, all within close proximity of Angala. Make it your base for exploring the winelands, or indulge in the harmony of our spacious suites and cottages. Whether you're drawn to the pure, natural surroundings, or you just need to get away from it all, you'll experience what you're looking for, right here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing