We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”
Review of Otter's Bend Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Otter's Bend Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Located in a beautiful shady setting alongside a stream, close to town, this was very affordable accommodation for a large family group. The common kitchen was basic but adequate with braai facilities nearby. The rooms and bathrooms were small, but again adequate. The bedlinen was tired but the mattresses were so bad they should have been replaced many years ago.

Staff were friendly and helpful and quick to respond to requests. We requested breakfast be provided on one morning, but the fare did not meet our expectations and we preferred to self cater.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewMCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2012

A really great place in beautiful surroundings. we were offered the room with own terrace, small kitchette. not the rooms in the row (also they are okay). such a friendly and helpfull people, and an nice welcome, also from the little doggie! I can recommend this place, if you like tranquility and a cheap good stay overnight. don''t forget to rent bikes in Franschhoek (in the centre) and make a nice bike tour along the wine estates. Take the mainway, turn left to robertson road and drive slowly, with stops with wine tast back to franschhoek.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 956Jacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We stayed one night at this beautiful location just outside Franschhoek. We had a small cabin room to the left of the orchard as you walk in, which afforded a lot of privacy. It was very hot when we were there and the lack of a/c or a fan made it difficult to be in the room in the day. The room was very basic too - e.g. there was no mirror in the bathroom. Beyond that, however, the beds were pretty comfortable. When we checked in, we were welcomed by a friendly staff member (who even lent me her iron when I asked), though we didn't see much of any other staff while we were there. At one point, I tried to find out if there was internet (I could see a router in the main building), but I couldn't find anyone to ask. Overall, I was happy to stay here given the location and price, but it won't be one of the more memorable places from my SA trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spitze1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We only planned to stay a couple of nights but we were so bowled over by the place that we ended up staying four ! Right from the start it was obvious it was well priced, well situated and well run. Brenda met us with a beaming welcome and Titch the dog wagged her tail and escorted us to the cabin for our first night. It could have done with a couple of additions (bedside tables and mirror) but it was clean and comfortable and good vfm. The next three nights we spent in their bigger cabin which had really good disabled facilities. On the second night we were just walking back to the room when Mark came over and invited us to share dinner with them. Never ones to turn down an offer like that we joined them and half a dozen others at an outside table laden with African speciality dishes in iron pots and a few bottles in various stages of consumption. Fantastic evening under the stars with brilliant conversation and excellent food. Very relaxed ambience and really good accommodation made this an ideal place to stay. Mark and Mary couldn't have been better hosts and we'll definitely be back next year. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for the cabin with burnt tree outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Otters bend was the cheapest accommodation in the Franschoek area for a bedroom and own bathroom (R400). Location is excellent, closer to town and all amenities. The rooms are perched on a hill surrounded by trees, tranquil and peaceful. The room itself was totally basic. The sheets and towels were clean however incredibly old with dark stains. The bathroom tiny and functional. The room was incredibly hot at night and the tin roof was very noisy when the wind blew, so much that sleeping was difficult. Compared to other areas of South Africa I would say the place was overpriced for what you actually get. But since it is an expensive area the room is equivalent to an average hostel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iloveshoesalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed at Otters Bend for 3 nights in the double cabin. The cabin was great - spacious enough and you felt right in the middle of nature. The sound of the river close by was great to fall asleep to. The lodge is a 10 min walk into the centre of Franshhoek, and luckily it was quite safe to do this at night, which we did every evening we stayed there. The lodge has a great communal area with a fire, kitchen facilities and plunge pool. Unfortunately it wasn't high season while we were there so the pool was empty and there werent really many other guests to socialise with in the lounge area. The owners were very friendly and helpful, and their dog Titch is so cute! We wanted to take her home with us...

Room Tip: The double cabin (with bunk beds as well) is separate from the other cabins so you get a bit more pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andreampearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I haven't stayed for the night but I definitely have to thank Mark for his travel tips - that got to be the base of my travel plans for the next 2 (lovely) weeks along the coast eastwards.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank pax_mtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
0.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.7 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
0.8 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.3 mi away
Bo La Motte Farm Cottages
Bo La Motte Farm Cottages
#7 of 42 in Franschhoek
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otter's Bend Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otter's Bend Lodge

Address: Dassenberg Rd, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: £27 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing