We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and comfortable home in the woods”
Review of Otter's Bend Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Otter's Bend Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Quaint and comfortable home in the woods”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Incredible value for the money. There are few other reasonably-priced accommodations in the area, and the location of and service at Otter's Bend is great. Hosts went above and beyond, letting us use their home phone, bringing us to Stellenbosch to catch an airport transfer, and taking us to/from dinner in town. We cannot say enough good things about them. Wonderful people and a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AndrewN848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    58
    11
    3
    10
See reviews for
22
73
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I would recommend staying here during the summer time. The tree house type backpacker rooms are pretty cold during the winter months. There is a great communal area for making fires, swimming and socializing - although we did not use this as the area wasn't closed off from the cold. Although this is situated on the farm, we still heard the music nearby at night (not as peaceful as we had expected). The free coffee is a great idea though for visitors who are not staying longer than night and making use of the self catering facilities. We made friends with a friendly little doggy that warmed our hearts and even came to say goodbye when we left. Its located close to town and also Mont La Rochelle wine estate.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed in the family room and got to enjoy the area at a really affordable rate. The accommodation was clean and the setting really pretty. It was very good budget accommodation.

The kids could also walk down to the river and enjoy the setting while other just sit on the lawns and enjoy a good bottle of wine.

Room Tip: If you want a budget place to stay and rather spend your money on the good food and wine the region...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulChanguion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is one of the most relaxing places if have ever lived at. It feels like you are in a little oak house in the middle of the woods surrounded by trees and water and all you want to do is Braai, read, swim and have fun with family. This is the ideal place for a big family get-to-gether or friend reunion.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rozanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Didn't stay very long...But staff were very friendly and helpful. Definitely convenient when taking the Wine Tram! Close to town, and offers some great views of the Franschhoek valley. Recommend to all those looking for simple...yet good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Neill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black River, Mauritius
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We spend only one night there! it was very very nice. the room was very comfortable, and the place is so beautiful! It was perfect for us! If we come back to SA we will come back there for sure! Thanks

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just what we were after, a nice relaxed place to stay with friendly staff and easy walking distance to town - important for wine tasting! Rooms are quite small but perfectly adequate and cheap as chips! Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
0.8 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.7 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Travellers' Lodge & Group Accommodation
0.6 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#5 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
8.0 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#15 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otter's Bend Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otter's Bend Lodge

Property: Otter's Bend Lodge
Address: Dassenberg Rd, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing