We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fabulous stay at the Manor House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rickety Bridge Country House
Ranked #31 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2013

This was our second visit to Rickerty Bridge. The Manor House is situated next to the restaurant and wine tasting venue. There are only three rooms, which are spacious. The top two, we were in one of them, are upstairs under the thatch roof. Downstairs is the breakfast room and a lovely large lounge. There is a very calm and relaxing atmosphere about the place. The Wi-Fi is free too.

Breakfast is good and can be taken outside as well as inside. There is a lovely pool (small point, but it looks a tad scruffy as the lining is old and looks grubby) however there are loungers and tables and it is secluded.

Although there are coaches bringing day trippers for tastings and lunch, we did not find this at all a problem. There are plenty of other vineyards to visit very close to Rickerty Bridge, and many restaurants. We did eat here one night - you have to give notice that you wish to dine - and it was very good. The wine is excellent too.

The housekeeper/breakfast cook, Leonie, was really good. Friendly, helpful and very cheerful - she made our stay even better.

Room Tip: Upstairs - even if the luggage transfer is a struggle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicketyB, Manager at Rickety Bridge Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your kind comments onto Leonie.

You have a very valid point regarding the swimming pool and we will be attending to the stained edging as soon as possible.

Regards

Shani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

Four of us had a wonderful stay in the Rickety Bridge Winery in Franschhoek. The hotel is genuinely old, and is furnished accordingly, but has all the mod-cons, including a pool. Shani, the hotel manager, was very helpful with booking us into local restaurants and arranging transport to / from them. We had a tour of the winery and a wine tasting, the wine there is truly fabulous and we had a good few bottles during our stay ! We also enjoyed the lunches at the Winery restaurant, especially the chicken and prawn curry, On the last night we stayed in the separate Basse Provence building, which again was a lovely place to stay, with a great bath in the bathroom and a small pool area looking out to the fantastic mountain scenery.

Room Tip: I liked the downstairs room at the Rickety Bridge, although there is only a (very large) shower rath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicketyB, Manager at Rickety Bridge Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback on your visit.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Rickety Bridge and Basse Provence and hope we will see you again in the future.
Regards
Shani and Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Thank you to Klarisa and Shani and all the many other team members - Millicent, Jeremiah, Martha, etc - who helped to make our wedding as perfect as it was. Rickety Bridge was the perfect venue, everything looked absolutely fabulous with the ceremony on the lawn in front of the manor house, the jacaranda tree in full bloom, and the reception room decked out so perfectly by 4 every event. The staff were so accommodating, everyone made us feel as though nothing was too much trouble, and everything was arranged for us so that we just had to get dressed and get married:) I wish we could go back and relive it all, and have the time to soak in everything. We'll be back for one of our anniversaries, definitely. Thank you to the entire team for making our wedding so special!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

This quaintly named Vineyard is modern but well covered by the tourist buses. We used the Wine Tram to get there and enjoyed the ride from the tram station drop off in the back of a converted truck, the wine tasting well presented even if the wines we had were not the best we had sampled in the area. We ordered a cheese platter to go with the wine which took almost 45 minutes to arrive but was made up for by it being complimentary. Enjoyed the outdoor seating under umbrellas overlooking the vineyards and the mountains.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hotshotCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicketyB, Manager at Rickety Bridge Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Many thanks for your review of Rickety Bridge and the new Franschhoek Wine Tram. We are very glad that you enjoyed the experience and hope we will see you back again before too long. I would like to apologise for the time it took for your cheese platter to arrive and I will investigate and ensure this does not happen again.

Kind regards
Jackie
Rickety Bridge Winery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

If you want a special lunch, get the tram out of Franschhoek and eat at Rickety Bridge. Have a wine tasting first then eat. We had the pork belly and Ceasar salad followed by Karoo lamb chops and Rib eye steak. We also had their Merlot wine which complemented the meal very well. Make sure you are served by Jeremiah He is a laugh and deserves a big tip, which he got

Room Tip: The tram is Bly 60 rand which includes five wine tastings. Excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

If you feel you and your better half deserve to be spoilt , then you need to treat yourself to a stay at the Mansion at Rickety Bridge Vineyard in Franschhoek, where Martha will cook you a divine breakfast and you will be spoiled with the choice of wines to drink later in the day

There are only three great bedrooms in the manor house which I recommend you try to book - then you book into the overflow guest house lodges which are nice but not as nice as the bedrooms in the manor house

Lovely lounges satellite television, wifi, it is home from home but only bed and breakfast is offered, so you visit one of the many surrounding vineyards or even Rickety Bridges own restaurant for lunch/dinner.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get into the manor house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeOgilvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicketyB, Manager at Rickety Bridge Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to give us feedback on your visit with us. We do appreciate it.

When our guests are relaxed and happy, it makes our job so much easier. I know Martha will be thrilled to hear that you enjoyed her breakfasts!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rickety Bridge in the not too distant future – your wedding anniversary next year perhaps?

Once again thank you for your comments.

Regards

Shani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed at Rickety bridge for two nights. We were the only guests so we had the house to ourselves.
Martha welcomed us and assisted us with all our queries. The setting of the estate is beautiful and the restaurant is definitely a good choice.

It made us feel at home and a great place to relax. Martha also helped my partner with all the arrangements, as he was planning to ask me the big question. It was above my expectations and I loved all the surprises.
I would highly recommend Rickety bridge if you are looking for a relaxed country life stay. It is not far from Franschoek so you are still close to all the restaurants if you are planning to go dining.

A very big thank you to Shani and Martha who helped with everything and made our stay extra special.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lize-Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicketyB, Manager at Rickety Bridge Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

It is always great to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay with us, so thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

I have a wonderful complement of staff who support me and Martha is no exception. She was thrilled to hear your comments.

(You didn’t say what your answer was to “the big question”…. But perhaps we can be of assistance for the Big Day!?)

We hope to see you here with us again in the near future.
Warm regards, Shani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.0 mi away
Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek
Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek
#35 of 64 in Franschhoek
239 reviews
1.6 mi away
21 Roux Street
21 Roux Street
#4 of 64 in Franschhoek
129 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Petite Ferme
La Petite Ferme
#17 of 64 in Franschhoek
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#5 of 64 in Franschhoek
612 reviews
4.4 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#12 of 64 in Franschhoek
373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Basse Provence
Basse Provence
#42 of 64 in Franschhoek
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rickety Bridge Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rickety Bridge Country House

Address: R45 | Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £175 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rickety Bridge Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rickety Bridge Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rickety Bridge Country House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing