We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vrede en Lust Estate
Ranked #36 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning location”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We chose Vrede en Lust for our wedding and it was absolutely stunning. Beautiful setting and the food we had during our stay was exceptional. Our party took over the whole venue and the staff could not do enough for you, extremely friendly. Accommodation was 5 star and very very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    17
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
47
54
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Great spot for a wine tasting, our tasting lounge lady was very friendly and professional. Really good value wines as well.

The history and location of the estate is so romantic! We will definitely tell all our friends and be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dayton, ohio
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We had a great suite with two bedrooms and a huge living room with fireplace and big screen TV. Set in the vineyards in a 1600’s Cape Dutch building. The room itself was first class. Unfortunately when we stayed there was no food service on the location but there are many great restaurants in the area. The outside vineyard views are stunning. The location is also very close to many other great wineries and makes an easy time for tasting and enjoying the scenery. We also had a great breakfast in the manor house. Very nice staff and we were treated well. We plan on returning on our next trip to South Africa!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Barbare suite. Excellent
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank buckeye-dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We spent an afternoon at this amazing wine estate. We enjoyed the "Mothers Day" lunch at the resturant which was paired with the estate wines. The food and service was world class. Thereafter we were treated by Caren to a very informative wine tasting experience. The wines are truley amazing and very affordable. Thank you Caren and Vrede en Lust. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Webman67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We were fortunate to stay in the Barbere Cottage at Vrede En Lust in January. Our stay was outstanding. The cottage had all the amenities that you would need. The two bedrooms and living room were very inviting. We enjoyed the beautiful views and the peace and quiet.

We appreciated the complementary wine tasting, as well as, the two bottles of Merlot which were a welcome gift in our cottage.

Vrede En Lust is ideally located close to Franschoek, Stellenbosch and Paarl.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJDAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the main house as part of a wedding party. The house was stunning, the garden and pool idyllic and the efforts the team at VDL put into the wedding was spectacular.

If you want to get married in SA you can't beat VDL.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

at an amazing place this winery etate in S Africa is... Not only is the accomodation amazing, but the service from all the staff was exceptional.
We were fortunate enough to hire the Manor House and four cottages for three days for my daughter's wedding.... Words just cannot do justice to this amazing place...
The food in Duncan's restaurant was first class, the service just right (without being OTT). And the staff that took care of the accomodation just couldn't do enough for us, even ironing 5 of my shirts!!!

Room Tip: Thank you to all at Vrede En Lust - and thank you for restoring my faith in humanity where really NI...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheoMantoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
9.7 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.4 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
6.7 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#17 of 63 in Franschhoek
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#12 of 63 in Franschhoek
357 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#14 of 63 in Franschhoek
274 reviews
6.9 mi away
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
#28 of 63 in Franschhoek
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vrede en Lust Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vrede en Lust Estate

Property: Vrede en Lust Estate
Address: Intersection R45 & Klapmuts Rd, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vrede en Lust Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vrede en Lust offers award-winning wines, historic Cape Dutch architecture, undulating vineyards, breathtaking scenery and world-class leisure facilities. Our cellar door is open daily, with free wine tasting or special wine enthusiast food and wine pairings. Luxurious accommodation for up to 42 people plus one of the most sought-after wedding and event venues in the country. On-site is the beautiful LUST Bistro & Bakery that offers all-day breakfasts, blackboard lunch specials and freshly baked artisan breads and treats from their wood-fired oven. LUST is also available for private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vrede en Lust Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing