We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vrede en Lust Estate
Ranked #36 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We held our wedding at VnL in December and the venue, the service and the care with which they dealt with us was phenomenal. We both live in Australia which could have made things more difficult but they made our planning so easy and were great to deal with. I cannot recommend them highly enough. They were thoughtful, knew exactly what needed to be done and liaised with our wedding coordinator. They dealt with everything during the day which meant we could focus on enjoying our special day. All of our guests loved it and I'd hate to be the next of our friends that get married ... VnL raised the bar to an impossible level. Thanks so much

Room Tip: They're all amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

It breaks my heart to share this with the world. You know that feeling when you find something so amazing that you only want to keep it to yourself! This is what happened when we visited Vrede en Lust!

Wow- everything was excellent- from the view to the hospitality and especially the wine.

This a definite must when traveling to the Western Cape, and even when traveling to South Africa

Toy Barnard

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Toy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This wine tasting was clearly a step above the ordinary. Everything about it was grand. The scenary, the historical setting and, of course, the wines. We were there to attend a wedding and this was the first event on the program. The wedding could not have come off to a better start! Many of the guests met for the first time, so this became a great "ice breaker".

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Pros
- beautifully located in the vineyards of Simondium
- wonderful old estate with a lot of charme
- nice plunge pool in the romantic backyard
- spacious and nicely decorated cottages
- very attentive and helpful service crew and management
- welcome bottle of vine from the own vineyard
- historic and typical Cape Dutch architecture of the Manor House
- Fabulous breakfast in the "Lust"-Bistro (own bakery with delicious bread!!!)

Cons
- right in the middle between Franschhoek, Stellenbosch and Paarl, so you need a car, but it's worth the drive!!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kinski T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We got married at VnL in November 2013 and we could not have imagined a more beautiful setting or a more professional team to work with. The staff made us feel like family and made sure every detail on the day was coordinated so we didn't have to worry about a thing. The venue is spectacular with every space from the manor house to the reception area designed with views of the vineyards and mountains- I've been to many vineyards in the area and VnL is by far the most magnificent. As for the food... well... it was absolutely delicious! We made a few tweaks from the menu to meet dietary requirements and the restaurant team were only too happy and accommodating. Since the wedding we have had nothing but rave reviews from our guests about the whole experience. Thank you Willem, Lynne and the team for being so wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traubs23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Words cannot describe how amazing and perfect Vrede en lust estate is. My husband and I were lucky to have a renewal of our vowels wedding at VnL with our family and friends from all over the world. From the minute we stepped into the doors Vrede en Lust welcomed us like we were family and as if we had known each other for years.
As we live abroad, planning a wedding from abroad is incredibly difficult but they made it so simple. I had the pleasure of working with originally Yolanda and now Elzahn and no matter how difficult or complicated something was, the managed it without any questions and such ease. They had every detail covered down to a fine art and it is truly the most special time we have ever had.
The rooms were magnificent, the views and the vineyards were mind blowing, the food was spectacular and the service equally as amazing. Lynn runs that house with such ease and I just loved it!
As we had our wedding party we arranged for a wine tasting for the group and through the talking and chatting the lovely ladies at the tasting were so relaxed, just carried on and just made sure we were enjoying ourselves.

This truly is a special place and we cannot wait to go back for our anniversary!

Thank you to everyone again for everything.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

A good place out of franschhoek, not too far from Paarl and stellenbosch. The rooms are full of confort. We had nearly an appartment: 2 bedrooms and bathrooms, a large lounge. The decoration is a delicious mix of modernity and history. The estate is gigantic and the surroundings superb. The breakfast is in a nice place. The staff is really friendly. One " bad point " , only one if I have to find: the menu for the breakfast is large but....there s not a. " simple " one: Danish pastries with preserve...simple, and easy...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HDLBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
11.3 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
696 reviews
11 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
184 reviews
10.9 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
4.8 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#12 of 64 in Franschhoek
381 reviews
2.7 mi away
Boschendal Cottages
Boschendal Cottages
#5 of 42 in Franschhoek
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vrede en Lust Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vrede en Lust Estate

Address: Intersection R45 & Klapmuts Rd, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £154 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vrede en Lust Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vrede en Lust offers award-winning wines, historic Cape Dutch architecture, undulating vineyards, breathtaking scenery and world-class leisure facilities. Our cellar door is open daily, with free wine tasting or special wine enthusiast food and wine pairings. Luxurious accommodation for up to 42 people plus one of the most sought-after wedding and event venues in the country. On-site is the beautiful LUST Bistro & Bakery that offers all-day breakfasts, blackboard lunch specials and freshly baked artisan breads and treats from their wood-fired oven. LUST is also available for private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Vrede en Lust Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing