We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vrede en Lust Estate
Nearby Hotels
Leeu House(Franschhoek)
US$542
US$454
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leeu Estates(Franschhoek)
US$667
US$559
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$662
US$554
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$288
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Last Word Franschhoek(Franschhoek)
US$372
US$334
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$220
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Residence(Franschhoek)
US$893
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$854
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mont Rochelle(Franschhoek)
US$455
US$275
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
143
21
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
21
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanor housewedding venuewine tastingharvest festivalpool housegreat winerydaughter's weddingbeautiful venuevineyard suiteshis teamincredible viewsbeautiful mountainscape winelandsexcellent winewestern capeworld classattention to detail
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have been fortunate enough to have just celebrated our wedding at VnL with family and friends and it was simply amazing. Of course there are all those anxieties before the big day but in hindsight we were being ridiculous. This however can only have been made possible by Willem and his team who couldn't have been more helpful and professional. There were inevitably hitches on the day but these were handled efficiently and without us even knowing about it at the time. We had hired the Manor House and the Cottages and our guests have nothing but praise for the quality and comfort of their stay. The braai option the night before the wedding is something not to be missed as the food is top quality. Simply put, Vrede En Lust is the most incredible venue to have a wedding where phenomenal long lasting memories are created not just for the new Mr and Mrs but also for family and friends. Thank you Willem!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FranandAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

... this place is absolutely perfect. We had the chance to stay in the main house which made it the stay really special. The venue is brilliant for a wedding and the backdrop of the vines and the moutons make it very photogenic. Breakfast is served each day at the restaurant next to the main gate and the food is a perfect combination of taste and nutrition. In fact the restaurant was so good that we ended up eating lunch there as well. Despite the sweltering summer heat the outside terrace is regularly cooled by wafts of micro-mist. Make sure you try the Rosé from the farm - everyone was raving about it.

On another note the restaurant is also responsible for the wedding catering which was equally fantastic. The waiting staff at the wedding managed just the right balance of attentiveness and invisibility. Not an easy task.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We held our wedding at VnL in December and the venue, the service and the care with which they dealt with us was phenomenal. We both live in Australia which could have made things more difficult but they made our planning so easy and were great to deal with. I cannot recommend them highly enough. They were thoughtful, knew exactly what needed to be done and liaised with our wedding coordinator. They dealt with everything during the day which meant we could focus on enjoying our special day. All of our guests loved it and I'd hate to be the next of our friends that get married ... VnL raised the bar to an impossible level. Thanks so much

Room Tip: They're all amazing
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

It breaks my heart to share this with the world. You know that feeling when you find something so amazing that you only want to keep it to yourself! This is what happened when we visited Vrede en Lust!

Wow- everything was excellent- from the view to the hospitality and especially the wine.

This a definite must when traveling to the Western Cape, and even when traveling to South Africa

Toy Barnard

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Toy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This wine tasting was clearly a step above the ordinary. Everything about it was grand. The scenary, the historical setting and, of course, the wines. We were there to attend a wedding and this was the first event on the program. The wedding could not have come off to a better start! Many of the guests met for the first time, so this became a great "ice breaker".

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews