We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday experiences at VNL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vrede en Lust Estate
Ranked #34 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday experiences at VNL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

On behalf of our whole extended family, we would like to express our loads of thanks to the operations staff of VREDE EN LUST Wine Estate for having made the wedding festivities amazing! VNL is a massive and beautiful property; and it made our family event held in a faraway and exotic city of Cape Town _ exceptionally remarkable! We were backed up by a team of professionals with their expertise in technical arrangements, venue setting and lighting, musicians, photography/videography, catering, etc. Indeed, we cannot thank everyone enough for their involvement and efficient service.

Room Tip: The Manor House in Vrede en Lust Estate is indeed a home away from one's country of residence. V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    16
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
47
54
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Having visited 45 wineries over a matter of a few weeks you would think I'd be worn out and wined and dined out. Not the case. Every winery visited was a unique experience, especially this one because of some of their outstanding wines and accomidations. They made it a very pleasurable experience. South Africa is such a grand place to visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryQuill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We attended the Harvest Festival - highly recommended! This was our second time at VNL. Our cottage "Jacques" was everything we could hope for. Both bedrooms are very spacious and beautifully decorated. I had a hard time choosing a room for the night! Can honestly say that it was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Service was very attentive and friendly and the complementary wine a bonus! Breakfast at Lust was great, so much so that we stayed for lunch. We'll definitely be back! Thank you VNL

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lizelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We had several unfortunate experiences in our stay at vrede en lust. Firstly arriving on Sunday we were unable to find anyone to show us to our room. The wine tasting said it was nothing to do with them. Took over three quarters of an hour to get sorted. The shower and kitchen were grubby and there were spider webs in bedroom. The pool was also a bit murky on the Sunday. On the plus side it was a lovely comfortable bed and the complimentary wine helped to soothe frazzled feelings on arrival. If we hadn't had some other stand out stays perhaps it would not have been so disappointing. Eikendahl for example is superb service! Main annoyance was the rather dismissive response to constructive criticism which was to refer to the tripadvisor excellent ratings - not really the best customer service!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Evertwhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hereford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed in the cottage 'Marguerite ',and what a treat it turned out to be ; a fabulously comfortable bed of very generous proportions within a well appointed en suite bed room full of period furniture ..not to mention the enormous lounge and unexpected second bedroom.Outside the manicured grounds have a lovely swimming pool for residents only with far reaching mountain views. Fab breakfast served in the on site restaurant and complementary wine tasting with the legendary ladies in red !We will return !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phantom53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have been fortunate enough to have just celebrated our wedding at VnL with family and friends and it was simply amazing. Of course there are all those anxieties before the big day but in hindsight we were being ridiculous. This however can only have been made possible by Willem and his team who couldn't have been more helpful and professional. There were inevitably hitches on the day but these were handled efficiently and without us even knowing about it at the time. We had hired the Manor House and the Cottages and our guests have nothing but praise for the quality and comfort of their stay. The braai option the night before the wedding is something not to be missed as the food is top quality. Simply put, Vrede En Lust is the most incredible venue to have a wedding where phenomenal long lasting memories are created not just for the new Mr and Mrs but also for family and friends. Thank you Willem!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranandAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

... this place is absolutely perfect. We had the chance to stay in the main house which made it the stay really special. The venue is brilliant for a wedding and the backdrop of the vines and the moutons make it very photogenic. Breakfast is served each day at the restaurant next to the main gate and the food is a perfect combination of taste and nutrition. In fact the restaurant was so good that we ended up eating lunch there as well. Despite the sweltering summer heat the outside terrace is regularly cooled by wafts of micro-mist. Make sure you try the Rosé from the farm - everyone was raving about it.

On another note the restaurant is also responsible for the wedding catering which was equally fantastic. The waiting staff at the wedding managed just the right balance of attentiveness and invisibility. Not an easy task.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franschhoek
11.3 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
9.7 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
10.5 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
3.0 mi away
Boschendal Cottages
Boschendal Cottages
#8 of 40 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paddabult Self-Catering Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vrede en Lust Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vrede en Lust Estate

Property: Vrede en Lust Estate
Address: Intersection R45 & Klapmuts Rd, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vrede en Lust Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vrede en Lust offers award-winning wines, historic Cape Dutch architecture, undulating vineyards, breathtaking scenery and world-class leisure facilities. Our cellar door is open daily, with free wine tasting or special wine enthusiast food and wine pairings. Luxurious accommodation for up to 42 people plus one of the most sought-after wedding and event venues in the country. On-site is the beautiful LUST Bistro & Bakery that offers all-day breakfasts, blackboard lunch specials and freshly baked artisan breads and treats from their wood-fired oven. LUST is also available for private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Vrede en Lust Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing