We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic views, perfect venue to relax...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas
South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, perfect venue to relax...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed two nights at the L’ermitage Franschhoek Villas. They offer rooms in the Chateau and also two- and three bedroom villas.

Even though the villas is self-catering, we were able to enjoy breakfast at the hotel and they also serviced the villas each morning. Staff were extremely friendly and attended to all our needs.

You will be able to walk to town, but a car may be nicer. L’ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas is what you’d expect from an upper-class five star establishment. It is neat, beautifully decorated and expensive.

One will be able to curl up with a book or just sit for hours, looking at the surrounding mountains. L’ermitage is set in a most beautiful Fynbos location. It is very close to surrounding wine farms and you will never be bored.

Breakfast was also basic, but the staff were extremely friendly and it is worth having breakfast here as it is not that expensive and the surroundings is out of this world.

Restaurants are very crowded, but we had a lovely meal at Kalfi’s Restaurant Huguenot Street.
The Bobotie and other local dishes were fantastic and were impressed by the new owners.

Franschhoek may be a bit overrated, but (like Clarens) is a town full of surprises and it will be a cultural and artistic as well as gastronomic adventure. The town is expensive and ideal for romantic weddings and getaways.

Hint: Rather book through the L’ermitage Franschhoek establishment itself, as some private owners also rent out their Villas.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlommetjieBlommetjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    70
    38
    13
    11
See reviews for
53
102
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed there over the February half term - a family apartment, two large bedrooms both with en suite, a kitchen area and lounge.

It was very pretty, clean, comfortable, very obliging staff and a warm welcome. Its just outside the town but less than a five minute drive. We would definitely stay there again so the criticisms which follow are mostly minor and should not be seen as too serious.

1) The room was beginning to look a little in need or redecoration. Nothing serious but a bit of damp in one ceiling corner - looked like leak damage. As I said not a big deal but suggests room could use a makeover in the winter season.

2) the en suites are not separate from bedroom so if you want to use the bathroom in the middle of the night you can't turn on the light for risk of waking up your partner.

3) the pool is pretty but small and is more of a dipping than an swimming pool

5) breakfast - my one serious criticism - omelette was pretty tasteless and the buffet was left out uncovered s0 there were flies hovering all over it. - this really isn't good enough for hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert64London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

This venue was used for our global business marketing conference and unfortunately was used as an.example of how not to do things. It is absolutely stunning but the service is so appalling that it is a shocking advertisement of our beautiful country. Unless management make some drastic changes it will not be a public venue for much longer....

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D4_200F2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

It is a beautiful location as this was a wedding occasion. Sadly though it looks in need of a complete makeover. Huge damp patches in the 4 rooms we booked. No phone in the rooms and after repeatedly asking for one we gave up. It's lacking supervision as well. I will give it a miss in future and check it out again after, hopefully, the makeover....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We have just spent two nights here and have to give it top marks. The area is stunning and the views are amazing. We ate here the first night and the food was very good. The staff are friendly but not over bearing.
The only downside is the pool which is very small.
The receptionist was exceptionally helpful and did our bookings and made all our enquires for us.
Most comfortable bed ever.
Would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have breath taking views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryTralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humansdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
137 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

The Villas seems to be separate from the hotel and run independently as the Franschoek Villas,though there is no such signposting from the mainroad.We booked through BOOKING.COM and they advertised both the "Franschoek Valley Villas" and "L'Ermitage".The Villas are self catering and quite nicely presented and spacious,though they suffer from dampness and have been neglected so needs a lot of work(they are currently busy working on the problems).Our Villa looked out on the dam and had a big balcony where we enjoyed sitting and having a glass of wine.There is a pool on the premises and some of the Villas have small pools too.We found that there was nothing on the premises to do and that the walk to town was a bit to far.I do believe the hotel has a restaurant but we could not find out if it was in operation despite emails,so booked at another eatery in town.In Franschoek the good eateries fill up fast and it is recommended that one book as long beforehand as one can.We liked the quiet surroundings but thought the location a bit far out of town.Would book here again,though.

Room Tip: ask for the units that have been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tokkelosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Every moment of our stay here was wonderful and I wish we could have stayed longer. It is a fairly modern development just outside of Franschhoek, involving both the hotel and a number of private villas, all of which are beautifully designed and landscaped, surrounded by lavender, roses and wisteria and with stunning views of the mountains. It may not be the most historic of sites, but it was stunning, with great character and attention to detail - and I appreciated the discreet solar panels and turbines in the parking area. I also appreciated how peaceful it was, a lovely respite from the shops and bustle of the town, and much less of a blatant tourism machine than many of the well known places in town.
We arrived early and were greeted by a very friendly and efficient receptionist who offered us complementary juice or champagne, and arranged towels for us so we could wait by the pool. The pool itself is small, but very attractive (a bit like swimming in a fountain in Versailles), surrounded by flowers, and was quiet on both days we were there - in peak holiday season. We stayed in the honeymoon suite, which was huge, comfortable and luxurious with a lovely balcony with views of the mountains. However, the food was the highlight for us. We ate lunch here twice and loved it. A stunningly beautiful and peaceful terrace, with attractive gardens leading down to a lake, with swifts and wagtails to entertain us. The service was impeccable and the menu was great. We enjoyed the most amazing wine, duck salad, veal tongue, and steaks, and when we had finished, relaxed and enjoyed coffee on the shady sofas. It felt like a few hours of paradise. I should also complement the staff, who were all incredibly helpful and professional. We had a late check out and they arranged a room for us to freshen up after lunch at no extra cost.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cambersberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
2.1 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
0.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas

Property: L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas
Address: Lambrechts Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lavish and luxurious accommodation in Franschhoek is ideal for both winter and summer visits as it is 100% equipped to offer the comfort that is required. Ideal for engagements, weekend getaways, special events as well as business trips, the beauty that the area beholds, and the luxury that the accommodation offers, makes it one of the very best experiences in the valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
l`Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau And Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing