We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel and conference, excellent ambience, facilities, location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We booked in for a company breakaway session.
Only eight of us.
The location is excellent.
Facilities all out the top drawer.
Would recommend this venue.
We arrived early in pouring rain, however the venue was well prepared and the hospitality was excellent.
We were able to have a very productive day and a most memorable evening.

The menu is very good and the chef produced really good food.
I will return if only to enjoy the cuisine once again.
Well done!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

I wasn't paying for this visit, my wife was... Glad it wasn't me! We were staying for a weekend.

Staying in the main villa we were expecting views of the mountains and dam... we got the main driveway with a view out the other window of the scrubland outside the gates.

The room was spacious as was the bathroom... what does Franschoek have against bathroom doors?!! (A different venue up the pass has the same thing) I understand the concept of closeness and togetherness but no bathroom door means noises and basically way way too much information for any civilised relationship to endure.

The tedium of drunken revellers interrupted our sleep on Saturday night... not the establishment's fault but worth a mention. Sound proofing of the rooms was poor.

The pool is like a fountain right on the main driveway between the chalet units... was thinking of a swim but found the position to be off-putting.

The endless muzak was doing my head in, at least the staff were obliging to turn it off - does no one bother listening to the wind or birdsong any more?

The staff were very nice and attentive but.... I am very low maintenance and really dislike people hovering over removing place settings one by one. Particularly annoying is the trend of taking my plate away when my dining partner is still eating. Even more annoying is taking my plate away when my dining partner is still eating AND I have just put the last mouthful in my mouth and haven't even put my cutlery down.

To summarise - glad I wasn't paying!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanJL61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed two nights in April in villas 10,12 and 21.We booked direct with the Hotel and not the privately owned villas.Amazing views of the lake and mountains.Villas are large and spacious,well furnished and self catering with fully equipped kitchen. Breakfast was inclusive with room rate consisting of a cold buffet and hot meal on request. No activities available at hotel.Pool is a dipping pool..Staff were friendly especially the cleaning staff and restaurant staff.The rooms are cleaned daily.Location was good. A long walk or short drive away from the town. its a nice hotel to relax and use as a base to tour Franschoek and surrounding areas.
important to note:
Villa 21 is on 3rd floor with only stairway access.Good mountain views but not suitable for the elderly or those not keen on stairs. The best views are from villas with water views.
No activities on site for children or those seeking on site activities.Dipping pool only-not for swimming.

Room Tip: Must request rooms with lake view as some villas do not have good views and may overlook the car par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmBand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

You cannot match the beauty of this hotel. Positioning, gardens, service, proximity to Franschhoek, serviced self catering villas if required - simply beautiful and elegant. A sanctuary to return to as soon as possible.

Room Tip: They all are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PreciousMetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This place is not cheap so our expectations were matched accordingly. On checking in for two nights we were told there were no rooms with views over the water but that ours had a mountain view. Unfortunately our room was over the entrance and did not have much of a view. We have more of a mountain view from our house in Cape Town! The room and bathroom was clean and spacious. However there was no door between the bedroom and bathroom. As the latter was very echoey any bathroom noise was correspondingly amplified. Endless muzak in the restaurant, bar and patio area successfully eradicated any rural sounds. The staff were friendly, polite and attentive. The fountain by the villa reception turned out to be the pool! Considering the price we know that there is much better value to be had elsewhere in Franschhoek.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catbesom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

If you are looking for an experience that will get your blood boiling and keep it boiling with rage, then this Chateau/Villa is just for you!

Having booked and prepaid in full for a specific room in early Dec 2013 for Feb 2014, I arrived on Saturday afternoon to find that not only the room I had asked for had been given to someone else, but that the person responsible for room management and allocation (linda@distinctivechoicems.com, +27 71439 9134) was no longer available and would only be back on the Monday.

Having specifically asked for a room that had a view of the water and the mountains, and nothing near the main road due to noise, the room allocated had the bed room backed up onto the car park and the main road right behind it. The view from the front of the room was of the other villas with the mountains peaking over their roof tops, no water in sight.

What become clear after hours of trying to sort out this mess was that the person doing the bookings (Andy Scivener, d.design@mweb.co.za, +27 83 227 1298) actually had no tie in with the person that did room allocations. His resolve was, if you don’t like it we can give you your money back and you can find somewhere else to stay. Clearly this was not an alternative solution so late on a Saturday afternoon and in peak season. Client service at its best!

With no alternative I stayed and so took a walk up to the villa reception (as there is no phone in the room even though it has sophisticated digital lighting control panels – just a little something they overlooked perhaps, yes a phone!) to find out what the wifi password was. Being told this was nothing to do with them and that the password would need to be obtained from the main hotel I decided to leave it, go and get some food and wine to try and relax. Sadly my partner who had flown all the way from China with this pending disaster supposed to be for his birthday was not en joying the experience much either.

On the way back from dinner (The Grill Room which is great by the way) I popped into the hotel reception and asked for the wifi password, only to be told that this was nothing to do with them and I would need to speak to the villa reception, which was now in total darkness and no one was anywhere to be seen.

Upon waking in the morning we went to the main building for breakfast and stopped at reception to ask if this was where we were to be eating as we had paid for 2 x breakfasts. The receptionist, much in the clouded look as everyone else there, told us yes, so we had breakfast which was quite enjoyable. Sadly upon leaving we were presented with a bill and then went back and forth with people coming to the villa to advise we had to pay and that the villas had nothing to do with the hotel.

From what could be gathered after a long and tedious discussion was that the some of the villas are privately run, others owned by the hotel and others managed by a separate company. I have not bothered to waste time further trying to find more about Linda at the URL given, as it does not work, but if Linda from Distinctive Choice Management Services who touts Integrity, Efficiency and Elegance on her card pops up elsewhere when making a booking, I will be very careful as to how I proceed.

There are lots of other wonderful options in Franschoek and I would strongly advise looking around before booking into L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lloyd N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMediaSA, Public Relations Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Lloyd, thank you for the feed-back. We are truly disappointed and upset that you had this experience at L’Ermitage. We pride ourselves as being one of the best locations available and strive to offer total relaxation, customer service and comfort. Unfortunately your experience was the worst case scenario on what can go wrong when an independent booking agent does a booking, makes promises and the hotel had no control over the process. This in turn affects the brand and name of the facility which is unacceptable. Kindly send us your contact information to: gm@lermitage.co.za. Our apologies and we await your email. Kind regards, Cynthia Barnard (GM) L’Ermitage 021 876 9200

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed two nights at the L’ermitage Franschhoek Villas. They offer rooms in the Chateau and also two- and three bedroom villas.

Even though the villas is self-catering, we were able to enjoy breakfast at the hotel and they also serviced the villas each morning. Staff were extremely friendly and attended to all our needs.

You will be able to walk to town, but a car may be nicer. L’ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas is what you’d expect from an upper-class five star establishment. It is neat, beautifully decorated and expensive.

One will be able to curl up with a book or just sit for hours, looking at the surrounding mountains. L’ermitage is set in a most beautiful Fynbos location. It is very close to surrounding wine farms and you will never be bored.

Breakfast was also basic, but the staff were extremely friendly and it is worth having breakfast here as it is not that expensive and the surroundings is out of this world.

Restaurants are very crowded, but we had a lovely meal at Kalfi’s Restaurant Huguenot Street.
The Bobotie and other local dishes were fantastic and were impressed by the new owners.

Franschhoek may be a bit overrated, but (like Clarens) is a town full of surprises and it will be a cultural and artistic as well as gastronomic adventure. The town is expensive and ideal for romantic weddings and getaways.

Hint: Rather book through the L’ermitage Franschhoek establishment itself, as some private owners also rent out their Villas.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlommetjieBlommetjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.1 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
685 reviews
0.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
181 reviews
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.7 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas

Address: Lambrechts Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: £148 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lavish and luxurious accommodation in Franschhoek is ideal for both winter and summer visits as it is 100% equipped to offer the comfort that is required. Ideal for engagements, weekend getaways, special events as well as business trips, the beauty that the area beholds, and the luxury that the accommodation offers, makes it one of the very best experiences in the valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
l`Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau And Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing