We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay at Centre-Ville guest house was very pleasant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Centre-Ville Guest House
Ranked #26 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our stay at Centre-Ville guest house was very pleasant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Excellent and centrally located guesthouse. Elsa and Jaco are wonderful and attentive hosts. They also provided good tips on Franschhoek area.Their recommendation for restaurant was fantastic. Would highly recommend this guest house when visiting Franschhoek.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    69
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
216
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
158 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Our stay at Centre-Ville guest house was very pleasant. Elsa and Jaco were very friendly hosts with many good recommendations for things to do. The style of this hotel is sort of french country, so there is a lot of flowery feminine touches and antique styling. The breakfast was great and nicely presented in the courtyard. Franschhoek is a very idillic and special place. Hotel Centre-Ville was a refreshing surprise and fit perfectly with the ambiance of the town. I would definitely stay here if I was in Franschhoek again, the location is the best, you can walk almost anywhere!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mopps4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

A place to relax - the room we had was extremely luxurious and with large windows on two sides. Ouside space on the stoep and a pool to dip into. The central location is useful too - easy to sample the delights of Franschoek in a day. It was a treat to ourselves to stay in such a place for a night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HertfordshireEleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Excellent and centrally located guesthouse. Elsa and Jaco are wonderful and attentive hosts. They also provided good tips on Franschhoek area.Best breakfasts of all B&Bs where we have recently stayed. Would highly recommend this guest house when visiting Franschhoek.

Room Tip: While large bedroom was comfortable, needed to be careful not to bump head on sloping ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mah69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

My family and I stayed here in December and it was our first visit to Franschoek. Elsa and Jaco were fantastic and knowledgable hosts. The location was ideal and you couldn't ask for more in your rooms, everything you could think of was there. One of the highlights were the magnificent homemade breakfasts and friendly service. Nothing was too much trouble, everything catered for. Arrived as guests and felt we left as friends. Definitely recommend to anyone staying in Franschoek.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Firstly, it is important to say that the position of this guest house is very close to the high street, which is great. The breakfast, as others have noted, is presented beautifully. The hosts were very helpful on the area. Please note, our comments are mostly based on the room 'sensational'.
We booked two nights here and on arrival were quite disappointed with our room. On entry we saw that the photo was a misrepresentation. If is not clear how low the ceiling is! There was a floor air conditioning unit that was very loud and interfering. The TV was very bulky (old style set) and barely had reception or any channels (note the air con meant you couldn't hear it anyway!) The mountain views described were hidden due to then being behind a loft window which had curtains which don't stay open, the furniture in the picture DO NOT match what is currently there. The picture obviously looks nicer! At night insects came out of the toilet (and the toilet doesn't flush very well - we even entered the new room seeing some toilet paper remaining in there from someone else) which ultimately led to us asking to move.

The actual house is tired and of need of a refresh. The pool area is claustrophobic and the pool and pool area seemed dirty and not well looked after.
When telling the owners of the toilet issue and insects all over, she was very fair and offered to move us. Her husband however did question the matter of there being ants in front of other guests, and understandably (since we had photos of the scene) I was insulted to be questioned and felt very awkward and demeaned. However it must be said we received a refund and help in finding a new guest house. If you do stay there, I would just be aware that sensational room is misrepresented on the website and you may want to consider paying more for a different room.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ll8555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaels, Owner at Centre-Ville Guest House, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
The guests were from the start when they arrived at the guest house not happy with their room and wanted another room and it was not possible because we were fully booked. The furniture in the room is exactly the same as shown on the website. Before them we had guests that stayed for 5 nights in the same room and they were very happy and had not complainants at all. Our guest house is definitely not run down and we would not deserve 4-stars if that is the case. It is very hard and almost impossible to please everybody BUT we really try our best and luckily most of our guest are returning and are very happy to stay with us. When guests book we tell them to view our website and to make sure that they are happy with their choice of room. The area at the pool is also the area that we serve our breakfast in the morning and is clean and very tidy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this cozy guest house for 2 nights in january 2014. The room was beautiful with charming details. The breakfast had everything you could wish for and a little bit more. The owners were really helpful and booked restaurant for us and gave us tips on where to go and what to do. The location of the guest house was perfect. I would highly recommend this guest house! //Martina

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinafina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Ballon Rouge
Le Ballon Rouge
#18 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Petit Paris Guest House
Le Petit Paris Guest House
#13 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Bella Casa
#52 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Corner House
The Corner House
#15 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
8.6 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#14 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centre-Ville Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centre-Ville Guest House

Property: Centre-Ville Guest House
Address: 9 Reservoir Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Centre-Ville Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centre-Ville is a 4-Star Guest House in the center of the village within 3min walking distance to all the shops, galleries and village restaurants.This gracious Victorian Beauty was build in 1905 and has been fully renovated without losing the old world charm with origin floors and high ceilings.We have eight tastefully decorated en-suite rooms each with its own theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Centre-Ville Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centre-Ville Hotel Franschhoek
Centre-Ville Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing