We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Centre-Ville Guest House
Ranked #27 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great location, great hosts”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Centre-Ville is in a great location in Franschhoek - literally a stone's throw away from the main road and easy to walk to good restaurants and shops nearby. The hosts made the stay very pleasant, and were very helpful with tips on which sights to see, driving routes, restaurants and wine farms. The breakfast each morning was always good, with plenty on offer, and nice to have a fireplace going each morning as well. We stayed in the upstairs 'honeymoon' suite with its own balcony, and I can definitely recommend this room as the balcony offers some nice views of the surrounding mountains. That being said, the other rooms that we saw looked perfectly good as well. Can definitely recommend Centre-Ville.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite with balcony has good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdviceTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    71
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
218
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Some years ago I wrote a very positive review of this Guest House. We have been back several times with family members and friends from South Africa and overseas and we have had only excellent experiences. This is a very well run guest house and the owners cannot do enough for you. It is in the best possible position in Franschhoek and it is very comfortable, with delicious breakfasts - far more than we could eat! We have already booked our return stay - this will always be our first choice!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. The upstairs rooms are smaller but with remarkably beautiful views - the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We spent 2 nights in this delightful B&B and have absolutely nothing bad to say about it. The rooms were comfortable and immaculate, the location is very close to the town centre (but still quiet) and the hosts were extraordinarily friendly and helpful. They made dinner reservations for us, did laundry and were also very happy to just sit on the porch and chat.

The breakfasts were ample with lovely, intricate table decorations.

I highly recommend it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KelGun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at Centre-Ville. Our hosts were wonderful, organising drivers and looking after our washing. the room was lovely (the bed was a bit hard) and it was very handy to the centre of Franschhoek. Breakfast was great with plenty to eat. a great place to stay

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

From the minute we arrived at this amazing guest house we were made to feel "at home". We arrived early so our rooms were not ready, but that was no problem to Elsa and Jaco, they took care of our massive trailer and luggage. We had guests with us from Scotland. We rushed off to the Wine Tram, which was outstanding, all in the the heat. We returned to the guest house and jumped into the pool. The rooms are magnificent with attention to detail. The breakfast is something to behold.......simply a beautiful setting.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Good location in the city center. We liked the "Abundant" Room on 1st floor, but it can get a little noisy at times. Nice breakfast. Some attention to details. Nice hosts. Free Wifi. Be there before 1pm and catch the wine tram only 5 minutes down the main street. Nothing fantastic, but we enjoyed staying here for 1 night and can recommend staying at this place as it offers good value for the money.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Denneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

From the moment you ring the front door bell at Centre Ville Guest House you feel completely welcome and at ease. Elsa and Jaco take great pride in showing you to your room and ensuring you have everything that you need.
Their knowledge of the local area and restaurants mean that whatever you ask, you know they'll be able to help with and certainly recommended an absolute gem for dinner for us on our first night.
The rooms all have their very own style but have one thing in common and that is they are very comfortable and have those special extras that make all the difference to your stay such as a full size fridge, air-con, fluffy white bathrobes and a hospitality tray that doesn't just include hot beverages but a decanter of sherry too!
The guest house is a stones throw away from the main road through town making it quiet but close enough to walk wherever you want, be it the many local restaurants and shops or the Monument.
Breakfast is delicious, cooked to order and served in the lovely setting of the garden where you can chat to your hosts and other guests.
A visit to Centre Ville really is the epitome of the saying "arrive as strangers and leave as friends!"

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KTravers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Ballon Rouge
Le Ballon Rouge
#20 of 63 in Franschhoek
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 63 in Franschhoek
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Petit Paris Guest House
Le Petit Paris Guest House
#12 of 63 in Franschhoek
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#8 of 63 in Franschhoek
565 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Corner House
The Corner House
#15 of 63 in Franschhoek
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Calais Guest House
Calais Guest House
#23 of 63 in Franschhoek
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centre-Ville Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centre-Ville Guest House

Property: Centre-Ville Guest House
Address: 9 Reservoir Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Centre-Ville Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centre-Ville is a 4-Star Guest House in the center of the village within 3min walking distance to all the shops, galleries and village restaurants.This gracious Victorian Beauty was build in 1905 and has been fully renovated without losing the old world charm with origin floors and high ceilings.We have eight tastefully decorated en-suite rooms each with its own theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Centre-Ville Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centre-Ville Hotel Franschhoek
Centre-Ville Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing