We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Centre-Ville Guest House
Ranked #26 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The guest house is located in a great location for wandering around Franschhoek on foot. The rooms are lovely, and the staff are very helpful. We very much enjoyed the wonderful breakfast prepared each morning as well as the small touches which make the stay enjoyable, such as wine glasses in your room for that bottle of wine you bought while out visiting wineries earlier in the day.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband & I planned a romantic 1 night stay (without our son) on the last night of our vacation at Centre-Ville. Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by the hostess who showed us to our room & ensured that we were comfortable. Before going out to dinner we headed to the cozy lounge area and enjoyed some sherry. The restaurant we went to was a mere 200 metres from the guest house so we walked there & back. That is a big plus when you want to enjoy a glass or two of wine with your meal. The location is definitely spot on & you can walk to some of the best restaurants in town. We had an amazing spa bath in our bedroom (Passion Room) and this was an extra treat after a long day & great dinner date! The room was very comfortable & had everything we needed...with extra sherry in our room :-) We slept really well as the bed was extremely comfortable. In the morning we packed up and went downstairs for breakfast. The breakfast room was very cozy & warm with a fire already going. Breakfast was delicious with cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts & a delicious English breakfast. Tea & coffee with juice is also served. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast which was very filling. All in all this is a lovely place to stay over & we will visit again when we have the chance.

Room Tip: Passion room is the 1st room as you come up the stairs, very quiet & great spa bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Elsa and Jakob welcomed us to their 'home' during a frosty weather. A glass or two of cherry ...and the weather felt less cold. Cozy feel -like home- with great bathtub and home made breakfast (home made marmalades too) next to the fireplace. Try to get the sensational room (!!)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markelloudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay so much we will definitely be back. Warm hosts, Elsa and Jaco made us feel right at home. We recommend the "Splendour" room as the views are amazing from the deck! Perfectly located right in the heart of town. Rooms were impeccable. Very romantic setting for those weekend getaways with that someone special.

Room Tip: The ones with the spa bath truly are worth that little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John75CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Centre-Ville. Note only is the Guest House centrally located and within easy walking distance to everything in Franschhoek but the service is amazing. When our wine tour guide "forgot" to pick us up they managed to find another one at the last minute for that same day - and the one they found was probably better than the one we had booked. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We were a little worried that it might be noisy due to its central location but the rooms were quiet. And to top it all off - the breakfast was very good as well. Definitely a place would go back to. A side note one of our favourite winery's our "new" tour guide took us to was Camberly - a small winery with very very good wine.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDNTRAVELLERS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Centre-Ville is in a great location in Franschhoek - literally a stone's throw away from the main road and easy to walk to good restaurants and shops nearby. The hosts made the stay very pleasant, and were very helpful with tips on which sights to see, driving routes, restaurants and wine farms. The breakfast each morning was always good, with plenty on offer, and nice to have a fireplace going each morning as well. We stayed in the upstairs 'honeymoon' suite with its own balcony, and I can definitely recommend this room as the balcony offers some nice views of the surrounding mountains. That being said, the other rooms that we saw looked perfectly good as well. Can definitely recommend Centre-Ville.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite with balcony has good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdviceTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Some years ago I wrote a very positive review of this Guest House. We have been back several times with family members and friends from South Africa and overseas and we have had only excellent experiences. This is a very well run guest house and the owners cannot do enough for you. It is in the best possible position in Franschhoek and it is very comfortable, with delicious breakfasts - far more than we could eat! We have already booked our return stay - this will always be our first choice!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. The upstairs rooms are smaller but with remarkably beautiful views - the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
8.6 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#15 of 64 in Franschhoek
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Petit Paris Guest House
Le Petit Paris Guest House
#7 of 64 in Franschhoek
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Calais Guest House
Calais Guest House
#21 of 64 in Franschhoek
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Corner House
The Corner House
#14 of 64 in Franschhoek
375 reviews
6.3 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#12 of 64 in Franschhoek
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centre-Ville Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centre-Ville Guest House

Address: 9 Reservoir Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £50 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Centre-Ville Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centre-Ville is a 4-Star Guest House in the center of the village within 3min walking distance to all the shops, galleries and village restaurants.This gracious Victorian Beauty was build in 1905 and has been fully renovated without losing the old world charm with origin floors and high ceilings.We have eight tastefully decorated en-suite rooms each with its own theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Centre-Ville Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centre-Ville Hotel Franschhoek
Centre-Ville Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing