We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly excellent guest house...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Centre-Ville Guest House
Ranked #26 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Perfectly excellent guest house...”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Can't add much more to what's already been said. We stayed 3 nights and were given a very warm welcome.
Breakfast was fine and the room was good. We stayed in Splendour which has a deck outside so if you pay the extra you get a very nice amenity.
The place is very fully decorated and you can spend interesting time thinking what you'd keep and what you'd change if it were yours.
Internet was free and OK and the room had a few channels of DSTV...but to be picky could have done with a few more. Room had a good fridge so we could buy some milk and some cool drinks.
It's centrally located and we walked to The Quartier Francais for dinner...which is a story all in itself.
Easy to like and easy to recommend.

Room Tip: All the rooms have names. Check the website and see pictures of each one before you book. We had t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    72
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
220
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We absolutely lucked out in find the Centre-Ville Guest House on our recent trip. We didn't know where to stay while in Franschhoek and took the recommendation of a travel book that we had with us to look at another guest house. Well, they were closed and Centre-Ville was just across the street. Elsa answered the door, showed us the BEAUTIFUL accommodation and we were hooked!
Elsa and Jaco put so much time, care and thought into every detail of this beautiful guest house. They are kind, professional and care very genuinely about every guest that they have. The common space was warm and comfortable and we met wonderful people from all over the world there. The breakfast was fresh, delicious and never ending - and Elsa makes it all!
If you go to Franschhoek, the Centre-Ville Guest House is a must!

Room Tip: Each room is different - there is something for everyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StarshipCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Attention to detail. Warm welcome. Home away from home!!!! We stayed for one night wish it was longer. Breakfast was great. The owners made us feel like family but not intrusive. Close to most amenities in town. Very affordable compared to other options in town. We will be back!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Thank you Elsa and Jaco, we had an amazing moment with you. Your place is beautiful, we felt good there with you. Room was perfectly clean and beautiful as well as the dining room!! Your staff is lovely. Enormous thank from Louis and Marilene. Wish you the best!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank levesquelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The guest house is located in a great location for wandering around Franschhoek on foot. The rooms are lovely, and the staff are very helpful. We very much enjoyed the wonderful breakfast prepared each morning as well as the small touches which make the stay enjoyable, such as wine glasses in your room for that bottle of wine you bought while out visiting wineries earlier in the day.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband & I planned a romantic 1 night stay (without our son) on the last night of our vacation at Centre-Ville. Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by the hostess who showed us to our room & ensured that we were comfortable. Before going out to dinner we headed to the cozy lounge area and enjoyed some sherry. The restaurant we went to was a mere 200 metres from the guest house so we walked there & back. That is a big plus when you want to enjoy a glass or two of wine with your meal. The location is definitely spot on & you can walk to some of the best restaurants in town. We had an amazing spa bath in our bedroom (Passion Room) and this was an extra treat after a long day & great dinner date! The room was very comfortable & had everything we needed...with extra sherry in our room :-) We slept really well as the bed was extremely comfortable. In the morning we packed up and went downstairs for breakfast. The breakfast room was very cozy & warm with a fire already going. Breakfast was delicious with cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts & a delicious English breakfast. Tea & coffee with juice is also served. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast which was very filling. All in all this is a lovely place to stay over & we will visit again when we have the chance.

Room Tip: Passion room is the 1st room as you come up the stairs, very quiet & great spa bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatalieP1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelion
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Elsa and Jakob welcomed us to their 'home' during a frosty weather. A glass or two of cherry ...and the weather felt less cold. Cozy feel -like home- with great bathtub and home made breakfast (home made marmalades too) next to the fireplace. Try to get the sensational room (!!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markelloudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#5 of 63 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Petit Paris Guest House
Le Petit Paris Guest House
#11 of 63 in Franschhoek
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Corner House
The Corner House
#15 of 63 in Franschhoek
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#8 of 63 in Franschhoek
572 reviews
8.6 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#14 of 63 in Franschhoek
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Calais Guest House
Calais Guest House
#25 of 63 in Franschhoek
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centre-Ville Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centre-Ville Guest House

Property: Centre-Ville Guest House
Address: 9 Reservoir Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Centre-Ville Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centre-Ville is a 4-Star Guest House in the center of the village within 3min walking distance to all the shops, galleries and village restaurants.This gracious Victorian Beauty was build in 1905 and has been fully renovated without losing the old world charm with origin floors and high ceilings.We have eight tastefully decorated en-suite rooms each with its own theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Centre-Ville Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centre-Ville Hotel Franschhoek
Centre-Ville Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing