We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It doesn't look like much” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Des Arts

Cafe Des Arts
Ranked #7 of 75 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Based in the small village of Franschhoek in the Western Cape. Franschhoek is renowned world wide for Haut Cuisine and Fine Dining. Cafe des Arts is neither Haute Cuisine nor Fine Dining! Cafe des Arts is a simple, rustic, relaxed restaurant where all that matters is the food. There are no table cloths, no silver service and the food is from the pan to the plate. If you're lucky, you may even get some cutlery! -
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It doesn't look like much”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

This is a very casual restaurant and it was obvious that it was frequented by locals. Always a good sign. The food was outstanding and the wine we had with dinner (South African, of course!) was so good that we made a special trip from Cape Town to find out the name of it, Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed and we never did find out. Also, it was very reasonably priced.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank islandwaySt_Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    170
    49
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Does what it says 'on the box'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

If you want an extensive menu with lots of innovative dishes - this is not for you.
If you want a relaxed meal, good food, cooked well and simply presented - you will love this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Coral V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Hearty Winter Food & Amazing Dessert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We had a wonderfully warm and wholesome dinner at Cafe des Arts last night. Both our dishes were delicious -- I had the sirloin with mustard mash and my fiancé had the roast duck. The service was great and the chef even came over to check on us and have a little chat. The highlight of the night was the malva pudding. I'm generally not the biggest fan, but this one blew me away. So yummy! We will definitely be back for more. :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank djameela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal we had in Franschhoek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Really good, hearty winter food (we went to the restaurant in July). Found that it was better value-for-money and better flavours than some of the more fine dining options in Franschhoek. We had the Lamb's liver and the duo of Lamb for mains - both were very good. They serve large portions, so go hungry.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Central location in Franschhoek for fine dining!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Recommended by the host where I stayed in Franschhoek...very good meal, good service, good value, too. Broad range of culinary options, good wine list and a warm fire, especially welcomed on a cold winter evening (yes, it's winter in the southern hemisphere in June!).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobtoBarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Des Arts also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Cafe Des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing