We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hip, casual and, yes, quirky. And the food is quite good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Des Arts

Cafe Des Arts
Ranked #8 of 75 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Based in the small village of Franschhoek in the Western Cape. Franschhoek is renowned world wide for Haut Cuisine and Fine Dining. Cafe des Arts is neither Haute Cuisine nor Fine Dining! Cafe des Arts is a simple, rustic, relaxed restaurant where all that matters is the food. There are no table cloths, no silver service and the food is from the pan to the plate. If you're lucky, you may even get some cutlery! -
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hip, casual and, yes, quirky. And the food is quite good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Don't want a stuffy atmosphere in this upscale town? Yearning for something casual, laid back, hip, and artsy? Want a meal into which someone put great thought and tremendous creativity? This is the place for you. We started with a rabbit salad (yep). Best rabbit I've ever had. Cut thin and fried, it tasted almost like bacon. Greens were served over it. We also had the tuna cakes (to which I'd give a 3 out of 5) and the Kabeljou (to which I'd give a 5 out of 5 to). The desert was a delight. The waitress learned it was our anniversary, so the chef prepared a plate of with three things and wrote in chocolate Happy Anniversary on the side. Friendly place. Terrific staff. Very good food. But be warned. If you want standoffish service, elegance, pretentiousness, and the like, this ain't the place for you.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank whaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    167
    49
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
248 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Quirky?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I read the reviews so we were prepared for the venue and decor . I appreciate quirky but I think this spot fell short. It just felt thrown together and untidy. Rather then warm and cosy it felt dark and dingy. The food wasn't cheap so I expect more from the food and the decor. We had there line fish , tuna fish cakes, pasta with fillet and pork. The line fish was fine, good size helping but not wow. My fish cakes were two tiny patties on a handful of salad/noodles . It was more like a starter portion . The same could be said about the fillet pasta ... a very ungenerous portion. The only dish that got a thumbs up was the pork.
We didn't do starters or stay for dessert because of the atmosphere and decor and rather took to the street for some coffee and cake.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“yummy.......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

A wonderful peaceful setting....food was stunning....calamari and chorizo salad, pork belly, roast duck and the deserts....wow....service was quick and attentive but never I your face....

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank w9628983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Change of Pace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

If you opt for a night at one of the excellent 8 course with wine pairings, 4 hour extravagances available at several Franschoek eateries, perhaps the next night you may seek the relaxed, elbows on table ok fine dining experience offered by C des A. Wonderful raw materials presented, without blurring marinates, glazes, etc. We had one beef and one pasta dish and the bill was insignificant. Magnificent dining in casual rustic milieu. Bon appetit!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DAandPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

What a delight. Soup to start. Then an array of dishes that every-one genuinely enjoyed.
The beer and wine list may be a bit limited.
For an authentic wholesome meal, this was it.
A team of interested people took care of our evening with all that we could ask for.

Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Des Arts also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Cafe Des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing