We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food and Service”
Review of La Petite Ferme

La Petite Ferme
Ranked #7 of 78 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: La Petite Ferme boasts unrivaled views and delicious cuisine. Our Vineyard and Manor House suites are amongst the best that Franschhoek Accommodation has to offer. A Franschhoek Restaurant that is situated high up on the mountain overlooking the Franschhoek Valley is world renowned for its approach to rustic contemporary cuisine. The award winning La Petite Ferme Winery takes its place amongst Franschhoek's finest cellars
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Service”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The food at this restaurant is fabulous. Don't miss an opportunity to dine there. Great service and ambience. We had lamb stew and Chicken with couscous,it was full of flavors. Everything we tried was fantastic.
Also, the place is beautiful over looking the vineyard and the valley.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank it211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,021
    362
    149
    73
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food in a large party”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were here on Saturday 2nd August for lunch with a party of 11. Service was good - food was excellent - starter of camembert wrapped in prosciutto was outstanding. It is not easy to serve 11 simultaneously but they did an excellent job and I would recommend this restaurant any time.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sjharrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“WoOnderful annivesary meal”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Thank you for the wonderful meal we had on Sunday afternoon. Trout was amazing and the Creme Brulee was truly good, not the best I have ever had, but up there. The atmosphere and venue views are stunning. We will definitely be back. Lorraine looked after our every need and is a wonderful ambassador to your establishment. One drawback was that I requested for an anniversary lunch and there was no effort put in by the management via email or contact in this regard. But that was all.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Such amazing flavors!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Le petit ferme's lunch is incredible. They take reservations up until 1:30pm, and after that is first come-first served. I had the fish cakes followed by the Moroccan chicken. It was absolutely divine. My dining companions had the slow roasted lamb and the filet, both of which were also amazing. I highly recommend lunching at Le petit ferme. The waitstaff is lovely, attentive, and very helpful with questions. You have to dine here when in the franschhoek valley!

Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Perfection....”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Do not miss this place when staying in or passing by Franschhoek. The scenery is breathtaking, the service very good ( could be a bit more personal) and the food absolutly heavenly. It is may be not as "fine" as Le Bon Vivant for example, but truly creative, tasty, worth a detour !

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank roy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Petite Ferme also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to La Petite Ferme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing