We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bo La Motte Farm Cottages
Nearby Hotels
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$317
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ivy Apartments(Franschhoek)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$282
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mont Rochelle(Franschhoek)
US$430
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$556
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Residence(Franschhoek)
US$861
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
129
15
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
15
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgoose cottagepump housethe cottagesself cateringjungle gymfriendly dogsserviced dailybedrooms and two bathroomssuperb settingcleaned every daywalking distance from townperfect base for exploringcharming cottagecap classiquelike coming homebedroom cottagemountain backdrop
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We arrived at Goose Cottage at 1pm on Thursday the 5th April with our grandaughters age three and eighteen months to find that there was no power to heat milk or food for them .The power was eventually restored at about 6pm five hours later.
The next day the rest of the family from the UK arrived from Ricketty Bridge where my daughter in law had been a bridesmaid at a friend's wedding function. Almost immediately we were besieged by hordes of flies the place was literally infested - and on pointing this out to the management the cottage was cleanedand flystrips were suspended from the light fittings.We had booked for four days and as it was Easterand we had paid a 50% deposit we decided to bear it out with the flies.We discovered on the last daya stable on an adjoining property approx 50 metres away which probably accounted for all the flies
The security for the cottage consists of lockable shutters which makes everything very claustrophobic
with the windows having to be closed to close the shutters.
On the positive side the cottage was very nicely furnished and comprehensively equipped.
The response of the management to all our complaints was "Well what do you expect on a working
farm" So if you don't like the muck and manure I would give this one a miss.
One other thing the directions to the farm on their web site are very misleading. All the road is tarred
to the entrance and you have to look very carefully for a miniscule sign stating "Bo La Motte" which
is concealed by a hedge.

Room Tip: Avoid Goose Cottage MAYBE be the others cottages dont have the above problems so badly
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidOnrusRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoLa M, Owner at Bo La Motte Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. The sporadic Eskom outages and surges affecting all the farms in our area have been and will continue to be outside of our control, and with this in mind we have equipped all the cottages with gas facilities enough to allow our guests to make food and hot drinks, plus alternative lighting equipment for when such outages occur. We always endeavour to keep our guests informed of any progress and/or delays in the situation whilst trying to get everything rectified as quickly as possible.

The cottage that you were in is close to an unused horse paddock, which is therefore unlikely to have caused the fly problem. It may be that it was something outside of our control that attracted the flies at the time you were visiting, but we feel that we responded to our full ability to counter the problem, as we try to ensure that our guests enjoyment is to the maximum.

The shutters in the cottages are a part of the historic decor and we have only ever received compliments on them; they are very easy to open, as are the windows, and we have found that they allow guests to have airflow whilst avoiding the early morning light if they want to sleep in. We apologise if you weren't aware of their functionality.

Thank you for your comments about the directions on the website. The road leading to the farm has recently been tarred and we have now changed the website accordingly. As the drive up the tar road is now a lot quicker than the gravel before it, it could mean that future guests may miss the sign and so we will therefore position a larger one in a more advantageous position. We rely on such comments to make the whole experience more enjoyable for future guests, so thank you for your time in letting us know your thoughts.

Yours,
The Bo La Motte team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We were so sorry we only had a night here - my partner voted it his favourite in out three weeks of travelling. On arriving had a lovely welcome by people and dogs, cottage was private, beautifully decorated, splotlessly clean - as I say we just wish we had stayed longer but we plan to go back. Excellent value for money as well, walking distance of town, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Milkwood was lovely
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saraj12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We recently stayed at Bo La Motte - 4 couples sharing Milkwood and Goose. Having read the previous reviews, I had high expectations for the cottages, and am happy to say they lived up to my expectations. The cottages are well equipped, and work well for 2 couples, or for a family.

The location was perfect - literally in the vineyards, which gave it a truly authentic winelands experience (especially since it was harvest time while we were there).

Having stayed in Franschhoek before, I would rate this as my number one choice

Room Tip: Milkwood's patio has more shade, but Goose has a lovely seating area in the garden under an oak tree
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoyDrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Bo La Motte is a lovely place, nestled amid vineyards. Run by friendly and very helpful folk - just like home, if only home had a climate & views as amenable as this. Goose is probably the nicest of the cottages, and it works well for two couples. We've also stayed with another couple at Milkwood, and by ourselves at Oak - they're all lovely. It's an easy walk into town. We went for a run each morning through the surrounding farms, just to facilitate more of all the good food there is to eat in Franschhoek. It's all comfortable and easy. By the way, a number of restaurants offer a free taxi service, so that's worth asking about. And don't miss having a meal at Le Bon Vivant!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David and Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Bo La Motte quickly can feel like home, and is a great spot from which to explore the surrounding wine country.

The cottages are located within walking distance of town, just past the Huguenot memorial, nestled among several active vineyards. The five cottages available are scattered across their property and are available to accommodate between 2 and 6 people. On our visit, we stayed in the Oak Cottage, which is located adjacent to the main office and the family's home.

As the cottages are self-catering, the only thing you need to bring with you is any of the food supplies you may need if you plan on cooking. The cottages provide for cooking inside on the stove, outside on the grill (they sell wood for the grill or the fireplace) or simply have spots you can eat things you have brought from town.

The staff is not large, unless you include the five dogs that freely roam the property, but they are very attentive (dogs included). We received a very warm welcome and were given access to whatever resources we needed to figure out where to eat or what to do. The rooms are clean, well decorated and well maintained.

Overall, if you are looking for a place that is quiet and which will allow you to settle in to a small slice of Franschhoek life, I would definitely recommend giving Bo La Motte a try.

Room Tip: If you are a dog lover like we are, then the Oak cottage is great as they hang out right around the offices located adjacent to this spot.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwoOhTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews