We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bo La Motte Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We spent five nights at Bo La Motte but could have spent months there. The view from our window of the vines and the mountains was special. The place was very friendly and our 13 month old baby had such fun stroking the the dogs and watching the chickens be fed. The furnishings were immaculate and stylish and it felt very luxurious. We were 2 minutes from Franschhock, which has to be one of the most beautiful towns in the world. We will be visiting again and recommending to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CormacQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

We spent three nights at Goose Cottage and could've stayed a month. It was beautifully decorated and thoughtfully equipped for self-catering, and for winter (electric blankets, fireplace, wall heaters). The staff were friendly and helpful (and spot on with restaurant recommendations). We loved the well-behaved dogs (not at all a nuisance), the cat that joined us for a walk, and the Cape eagle owl that roosted in the oaks outside our cottage. The setting is truly extraordinary with a vineyard on your doorstep and mountains looming in the background. It is a convenient 10 minute walk into town, but when you're on the farm it seems miles away from the noise and bustle of the main street. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobynK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We arrived at Goose Cottage at 1pm on Thursday the 5th April with our grandaughters age three and eighteen months to find that there was no power to heat milk or food for them .The power was eventually restored at about 6pm five hours later.
The next day the rest of the family from the UK arrived from Ricketty Bridge where my daughter in law had been a bridesmaid at a friend's wedding function. Almost immediately we were besieged by hordes of flies the place was literally infested - and on pointing this out to the management the cottage was cleanedand flystrips were suspended from the light fittings.We had booked for four days and as it was Easterand we had paid a 50% deposit we decided to bear it out with the flies.We discovered on the last daya stable on an adjoining property approx 50 metres away which probably accounted for all the flies
The security for the cottage consists of lockable shutters which makes everything very claustrophobic
with the windows having to be closed to close the shutters.
On the positive side the cottage was very nicely furnished and comprehensively equipped.
The response of the management to all our complaints was "Well what do you expect on a working
farm" So if you don't like the muck and manure I would give this one a miss.
One other thing the directions to the farm on their web site are very misleading. All the road is tarred
to the entrance and you have to look very carefully for a miniscule sign stating "Bo La Motte" which
is concealed by a hedge.

Room Tip: Avoid Goose Cottage MAYBE be the others cottages dont have the above problems so badly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidOnrusRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoLa M, Owner at Bo La Motte Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. The sporadic Eskom outages and surges affecting all the farms in our area have been and will continue to be outside of our control, and with this in mind we have equipped all the cottages with gas facilities enough to allow our guests to make food and hot drinks, plus alternative lighting equipment for when such outages occur. We always endeavour to keep our guests informed of any progress and/or delays in the situation whilst trying to get everything rectified as quickly as possible.

The cottage that you were in is close to an unused horse paddock, which is therefore unlikely to have caused the fly problem. It may be that it was something outside of our control that attracted the flies at the time you were visiting, but we feel that we responded to our full ability to counter the problem, as we try to ensure that our guests enjoyment is to the maximum.

The shutters in the cottages are a part of the historic decor and we have only ever received compliments on them; they are very easy to open, as are the windows, and we have found that they allow guests to have airflow whilst avoiding the early morning light if they want to sleep in. We apologise if you weren't aware of their functionality.

Thank you for your comments about the directions on the website. The road leading to the farm has recently been tarred and we have now changed the website accordingly. As the drive up the tar road is now a lot quicker than the gravel before it, it could mean that future guests may miss the sign and so we will therefore position a larger one in a more advantageous position. We rely on such comments to make the whole experience more enjoyable for future guests, so thank you for your time in letting us know your thoughts.

Yours,
The Bo La Motte team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We were so sorry we only had a night here - my partner voted it his favourite in out three weeks of travelling. On arriving had a lovely welcome by people and dogs, cottage was private, beautifully decorated, splotlessly clean - as I say we just wish we had stayed longer but we plan to go back. Excellent value for money as well, walking distance of town, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Milkwood was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saraj12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We recently stayed at Bo La Motte - 4 couples sharing Milkwood and Goose. Having read the previous reviews, I had high expectations for the cottages, and am happy to say they lived up to my expectations. The cottages are well equipped, and work well for 2 couples, or for a family.

The location was perfect - literally in the vineyards, which gave it a truly authentic winelands experience (especially since it was harvest time while we were there).

Having stayed in Franschhoek before, I would rate this as my number one choice

Room Tip: Milkwood's patio has more shade, but Goose has a lovely seating area in the garden under an oak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoyDrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Bo La Motte is a lovely place, nestled amid vineyards. Run by friendly and very helpful folk - just like home, if only home had a climate & views as amenable as this. Goose is probably the nicest of the cottages, and it works well for two couples. We've also stayed with another couple at Milkwood, and by ourselves at Oak - they're all lovely. It's an easy walk into town. We went for a run each morning through the surrounding farms, just to facilitate more of all the good food there is to eat in Franschhoek. It's all comfortable and easy. By the way, a number of restaurants offer a free taxi service, so that's worth asking about. And don't miss having a meal at Le Bon Vivant!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David and Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Bo La Motte quickly can feel like home, and is a great spot from which to explore the surrounding wine country.

The cottages are located within walking distance of town, just past the Huguenot memorial, nestled among several active vineyards. The five cottages available are scattered across their property and are available to accommodate between 2 and 6 people. On our visit, we stayed in the Oak Cottage, which is located adjacent to the main office and the family's home.

As the cottages are self-catering, the only thing you need to bring with you is any of the food supplies you may need if you plan on cooking. The cottages provide for cooking inside on the stove, outside on the grill (they sell wood for the grill or the fireplace) or simply have spots you can eat things you have brought from town.

The staff is not large, unless you include the five dogs that freely roam the property, but they are very attentive (dogs included). We received a very warm welcome and were given access to whatever resources we needed to figure out where to eat or what to do. The rooms are clean, well decorated and well maintained.

Overall, if you are looking for a place that is quiet and which will allow you to settle in to a small slice of Franschhoek life, I would definitely recommend giving Bo La Motte a try.

Room Tip: If you are a dog lover like we are, then the Oak cottage is great as they hang out right around the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwoOhTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.4 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 12 in Franschhoek
729 reviews
0.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 12 in Franschhoek
201 reviews
0.8 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 12 in Franschhoek
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 12 in Franschhoek
527 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fransvliet Guest House
Fransvliet Guest House
#1 of 49 in Franschhoek
386 reviews
9.6 mi away
Boschendal Cottages
Boschendal Cottages
#6 of 49 in Franschhoek
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bo La Motte Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bo La Motte Farm Cottages

Address: Bo La Motte Farm | Middagkrans Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: £76 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bo La Motte Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Middagkrans mountain and only a ten-minute walk from the beautiful village of Franschhoek, lies the historic Bo La Motte Farm, which has been returned to its 'Wine Farm' origins with the harvest being processed in the restored wine cellar. Only ten minutes walk from Franschhoek village, the gourmet centre of South Africa, Bo La Motte Wine Farm has five beautifully furnished self-catering cottages, all in their own unique settings around the farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bo La Motte Farm Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bo La Motte Farm Cottages Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing